We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Hospitable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Used tripadvisor reviews when we booked and weren't disappointed. Very friendly staff, nice rooms, pool was a nice private layout. Short walk to nice large beach, would definitely stay here again if we go back. Lots of eateries within ten minute walk. Parking spaces are very tight but that seems the same on the whole Island.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    741
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
447
1,074
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I'm glad we followed the recommendation of a friend. The Maui Coast was a great deal. From top to bottom, they met all of my expectations. The restaraunt was great for late night dining and the pool was a nice reteat from the ocean that is right across the street. I received a nice upgrade when we checked in. Good people, great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cohen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

it was great! The price is a little high for my taste but you certainly get a lot. You do have to pay a daily resort fee but I didn't talk to a single person in Maui that didn't have to pay one their hotel, and it was usually more. Great location, helpful staff, great rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsettemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved the Maui Coast Hotel. While not a huge five-star resort as can be found in Weilea just to the south, it has many amenities at a much lower price point. It is very well maintained, our room was immaculately clean, as we're the rest of the hotel and grounds.

The pool isn't huge, but it's well kept and there are two hot tubs to use. The poolside bar really gets hopping on Friday and Saturday nights. They have good happy hour deals from 3-6 daily. Bikes are available as part of the resort fee, and there was never one unavailable during our six night stay. The beach right across the street is beautiful, and lots of the better restaurants in Kihei are within walking distance as well. Highly recommended, especially for first time Maui visitors like us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobleviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The only reason we stayed at the Maui Coast hotel was because there was a free night promotion.
In fact, I would have stayed away from the hotel because of the resort fee.
There's nothing more irritating than flying to Hawaii, having to pay for a 25$ fee to check your luggage at the counter, a fee for a pillow, a fee for a blanket, having to pay for your meal, then arriving at your hotel and having to pay for a resort fee.

It didn't start too well when we arrived late. The room we were given was awful. It was right by the entrance (with obviously lots of people going in and out, close to the elevators and the pop machines and there must have been more than a dozen condos that could see what was going on in our room.
So we asked to change and had another room. It was better, but frankly, you're not going to have any kind of view at the Maui Coast hotel: The hotel is perpendicular to the road away from the ocean.

The most irritating thing we went through was the room cleaning. It's not acceptable to come back at 3:30pm and realize that the room hasn't been done.
We told the cleaning lady not to bother the first time but the second time, we had to go and wait in the lobby until it was done.
Not cool when you are paying a resort fee.
I believe you can ask them to make the room earlier but you have to ask them every day.

The last major problem was with the safe. The safe is unusable. It's in the closet and getting it open will definitely make your blood pressure rise. But the unacceptable thing about it is that it's ridiculously small.
I travel a lot and I'm always able to place most of my camera gear in the safe. Not in this one. In fact, my digital camera could not fit in it.

On the positive side, the hotel is very well maintained with very nice rooms with great quality furniture and the staff is really, really friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

As soon as we opened the door to our room, we immediately felt relaxed. Very comfortable bed, larger then usual towels in the bathroom, and I liked the "in shower" shampoo, etc. My husband liked having a couch to watch tv on (when he watched it). Free bottled water was appreciated daily in our fridge. Air conditioner was not noisy. Pool area is lovely, and with two hot tubs, there was always space. Towels for pool area are huge. The staff is excellent and treats everyone like an honored guest. Close to the beach and some excellent restaurants and shopping. Parking can be a bit tight when parking lot is full, but do-able. Music every night at the pool side. Great cleaning staff as well. Take advantage of all the resort fee offers. We weren't able to. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If walking is hard for you, then ask for a room closer to the lobby. Also I wouldn't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC_Snowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I married my good lady wife on the 4th June 2011 - it was a great day!! And a couple of days later we boarded a plane at Heathrow and took to the skies, 11 hours later we touched down in Los Angeles - we waved at Arnie and immidiately boarded another plane headed for Maui...

Rewind 6 months to the planning of our honeymoon... We knew we wanted to go to Hawaii and we knew we wanted to go to Maui and have a relaxing, dream honeymoon.

We spent hours on Trip Advisor trying to find the perfect hotel and boy were we happy with our decision.

Our 12 nights in a junior suite (booked through Travel Republic) were an absolute bargain.

All of the staff were great, helpful and friendly.

There was a free shuttle service that took you anywhere in a 3 mile radius.

We were not charged any extra local fees.

Our suite was excellent, nothing to complain about at all.

We were given extra time in our room on the day of check out at no extra charge.

I cannot praise this hotel enough. One day we will be back! 10/10.

Room Tip: Our Juniour Suite was only a little more and I think it was well worth it - a huge comfy bed, as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
21.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
21.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing