We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lovely Hotel.”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My son and I spent a week here and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is pretty, clean and the staff is very friendly. There isn't much of an ocean view or patio but, we were hardly ever in the room except to crash at night. It was nice to come back to a cool, clean room. The use of the bikes was a nice touch. We spent the day riding around and shopping. The location was perfect and close to everything. We actually walked too far one night and the hotel was more than happy to come get us, for FREE. We usually stay in Kaanapali but decided to try the quiet side of the island. It's about a 20-30 min drive to Lahina. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the upper floors. The views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZigiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Aloha and Thank you for posting your positive feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I was delighted to see that both you and your son enjoyed your time at the Maui Coast Hotel! I am glad to hear that the staff and amenities were to your satisfaction! Thank you for making great use of the Bicycles and Shuttle Services that were included in your Resort Fee.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Great sized room for our family of 4. Definitely get more room for your money than Waikiki! Relaxed, friendly hotel with everything you need. Resurants are close by and things seem a bit more layed back than other 'resort' areas of the island. Easy parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Use their website to look for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jjce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for your review! I am happy to hear that you and your family found great comfort at the Maui Coast Hotel.. We would be delighted to host you once again on your next visit to Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We loved the free hire of the bikes and rode around town every day. Its not the best location, but we don't know maui at all so were happy to hang out close to the hotel. The Pool was gorgeous, I think we must have been there out of holiday season as it was so quiet. The Pool Bar was great too with the staff bringing us our drinks. The Staff at the front desk helped us book a Luau and car hire. There was no free breakfast and the wifi was hard to get in our room but apart from that it was such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It was nice enough; but not flash by any means.

The rooms were clean, and relatively comfortable.

Beds were slightly soft, some buckling in the middle, and the bathrooms were that tiny you couldn't even swing a cat in there.

Screen doors don't have locks on them; which means you can't sleep with the door open on the balcony for fresh air. That was disappointing. Hawaii is lovely, and you want to sleep with the doors open for fresh air; but with no lock on the screen, it is not comforting to do so.

The AC is shoved up the side of the room, with the table sitting directly in front of it. Odd spot to put an AC.
Also, if you get a room with two beds, only one bed has a fan above it.

About a 45 min drive to Lahaina where all the action happens.

Staff at reception are very helpful. If you intend to drive "The Road to Hana", ask at reception about borrowing an esky either from reception, or renting it for $2 per day from the gift shop.

We did not eat brekfast at the hotel because it was far too expensive.

But I can't complain too much since I didn't pay for the accommodation.

Room Tip: If you go as a couple, one bed will be fine as the fan is above the bed. Laundry is on floors 2, 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your recent visit at the Maui Coast Hotel, and more importantly for taking the time to share your review.

I am delighted to hear that you found comfort in our rooms and that our staff was very helpful during your stay! At the Maui Coast Hotel, we value all of our guests and take pride in providing the best customer service levels possible.

We truly appreciate your feedback and please feel confident that I will certainly review your concerns with the appropriate individuals as they are very helpful suggestions.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for nine days in August and thought it was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was always friendly and happy to help. We also thought this was a great central location. As we explored the island from Hana to Kaanapali, nothing seemed to far away. However, if you don't feel like exploring there is a great beach right across the street and we had a lot of fun hanging by the pool in the evenings as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoogieChillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Aloha!! It brings me great pleasure to hear that you both enjoyed your recent stay! Thank you so much for your review as we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes!. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We just arrived here for our 2 weeks Honeymoon vacation... The staff is very freindly and a welcome present for our Honeymoon was also prepared in our room. We got an upgrade to a junior suite. Eveything we saw up to now is very clean und looks great. The pool area is kind of small for a large hotel as this is, but the ocean is walking distance and a lot nicer anyway! There are many restaurants in the area and pool side bar has good food and drinks as well. Let's enjoy Maui now... Aloha!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sorpheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Aloha and Congratulations on your Honeymoon!! I am glad to hear that we were able to share this special occasion with you! Our staff surely takes pride in the service we provide and I thank you for the acknowledgement.

Please stop by and visit!! Enjoy the rest of your vacation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 5 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. The grounds are beautiful and our room was spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great central location and walking distance from many shops, restaurants, and beaches. Plenty of parking is available and it was great not to worry about having to valet. There is a resort fee associated with staying here, which enables guests to use the complementary wifi, fitness center, and rent bikes. However, even with the resort fee, the hotel is really good value for your money. It's a great hotel for people who don't want to stay somewhere dingy, but don't necessarily need to stay in a luxurious resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank bjp006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for your generous review!! Thank you so much for taking advantage of all the amenities included in the resort fee. I am delighted to know that you found the resort fee great value!! We certainly hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: £187 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing