We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from a quiet beach. ”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel employees and concierge were friendly and helpful. Free wifi in room. Great pool with 2 hot tubs one secluded. Pool bar, nightly entertainment. Drinks good and happy hour reasonable. Food at bar a let down, corned beef sandwich bread was soggy and meat chewy and overly fatty, Cobb salad made with mixed greens, not very good. Suggest to eat elsewhere and come back for drinks. Room clean, nice large soaker tub. Hotel offers beach/pool towel, bikes, tennis court, free news paper all for mandatory $17.50 per day charge. Overall very happy with price and hotel quality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great place to stay, really close to wonderful beach. The hotel offers great service and its employees are very helpfull. Rooms are clean all the time as well as poolside. We rent bikes at the hotel and had a great time sightseeing Kihei. There are amazing places for biking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the Maui Coast. It was the perfect location for our first trip to Maui.

We travelled as a family of three with our 3 year old daughter.

The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The poolside bar and cafe were also spot on - great service and yummy food!

The rooms were on the small side but very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was tiny which was a little awkward but otherwise happy with the rooms.

The staff at the front desk, restaurant, pool and house keeping were all super friendly and helpful. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is my 2nd time staying at the Maui Coast Hotel. I am writing this review while sitting on the comfy couch of my suite in the hotel b/c I love it so much, I can't wait to write about it. I like parking my own car and coming and going as I please, instead of waiting for a valet. I like that there's a grocery store and delicious restaurants just a few blocks away. I like that the beach is quiet, except for the sound of the ocean crashing on the shore or the rustle of the palm trees when the tradewinds arrive. I like the view from the elevator, overlooking the ocean and the sun rising between the palm trees. I like hearing the live music from the ami ami cafe from my balcony and I like the little funny coconut soap dish in my bathroom. The sheets are soft, the bed is comfortable (and I am VERY particular about beds b/c of a back injury) and I couldn't ask for more. When I checked in 2 days ago, Lance, at the front desk was so nice & accommodating, I could have cried. (I'm badly in need of a vacation & just came off an 11hr flight) I never want to stay anywhere else in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade to a suite...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel location can't be beat. You're walking distance to some restaurants and "nightlife" (I use this term loosely because there is little night life in Maui readily available for tourists). The rooms were clean and a nice size. We had lots of excursions planned and really enjoyed the central location to Makena, Paia, the Road to Hana, and Lahaina (a bit more of a drive but accessible and the drive is scenic). The staff was friendly and the restaurant/bar was pretty decent and not too overpriced. You're just across the road from the beach that is easily crossed by a crosswalk. There is a close ABC store to get all of the items you may have forgotten. Though not inexpensive it will have everything you need and a whole lot more you don't.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms are more scenic though the only rooms with ocean view are the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsOneill426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at the Maui Coast and have had guests stay there as well. Good, clean place. has a pool and a great restaurant (Ami Ami). Easy to get to. Not on the beach - but a short walk to Charlie Young beach. Recommended.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Restaurant is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked into this resort on April 30th 2014. From the start it was amazing. We arrived in the middle of the night airline problems. Madeline was so very helpful. We were so tired it was hard to talk to her but she was so helpful. We stayed ten days and not one bad experience did we have. Beautiful room, we had a junior suite quite and so very relaxed. The resort fee was worth every penny. We had a lovely pool, free parking wi fi beach towels whenever we wanted and the restaurant at the end of the hotel was just lovely. We did not have dinner there but we did have drinks and a couple of breakfasts there. Some people gave it bad reviews I do not know why it is great. The banana pancakes are just wonderful and the staff make every effort to be welcoming. I would say why stay anywhere else. I am a world traveler and I would go a long way to bet this wonderful resort. It is a gem. I went though a rough few months before this trip and this trip was what I needed. Thank you to all of you for making our stay amazing.

The people of Maui are without a doubt some of the nicest people ever. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL TIME. MY HUSBAND AND PLAN ON SPENDING MORE TIME IN MAUI. JOSEPHINE AND DON

Room Tip: Junior suite was very large and if you get a room facing the ocean it is just lovely to sit out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: £200 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing