We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of a kind hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Pilot Point, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of a kind hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is a splendid hotel! As an Airline Captain for a large international airline, I have spent many nights at this hotel before my retirement. After staying at many fine hotels around the world during my career, I can still say the Maui Coast Hotel is one of the best and one of my favorite hotels overall. Quietly unassuming, the Maui Coast is one of those "one of a kind" hotels that make you feel comfortably at home. Kathi, the director of housekeeping, has made sure that the rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and comfortable. The front desk staff like Manny and Terry always greet you with a smile and are always willing to help. I continue to come back to this hotel on vacation because it is and has been consistently excellent over the years. Hard to find a hotel like this these days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    729
    134
    38
    25
See reviews for
442
1,054
77
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I got this room at the last minute at a fantastic price. Rooms are large, updated, and clean and include a mini-fridge and coffee maker. Free (with $17 per day resort fee) Wi-Fi, parking, beach towels, use of bicycles/helmets, and daily newspaper. Unless you're on the upper 2 floors, there's no view to speak of. Located diagonally across the street from Kamaole Park that has a nice beach for swimming and bodysurfing (no enough wave action at this loaction for surfing or paddleboarding). Very clean hotel with nice bathrooms. The parking lot is striped for cars to be very close together, so if you rent an SYV or full sized car, you'll have difficulty parking. Great location and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and near the front for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshambo1-2-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel employees and concierge were friendly and helpful. Free wifi in room. Great pool with 2 hot tubs one secluded. Pool bar, nightly entertainment. Drinks good and happy hour reasonable. Food at bar a let down, corned beef sandwich bread was soggy and meat chewy and overly fatty, Cobb salad made with mixed greens, not very good. Suggest to eat elsewhere and come back for drinks. Room clean, nice large soaker tub. Hotel offers beach/pool towel, bikes, tennis court, free news paper all for mandatory $17.50 per day charge. Overall very happy with price and hotel quality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great place to stay, really close to wonderful beach. The hotel offers great service and its employees are very helpfull. Rooms are clean all the time as well as poolside. We rent bikes at the hotel and had a great time sightseeing Kihei. There are amazing places for biking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the Maui Coast. It was the perfect location for our first trip to Maui.

We travelled as a family of three with our 3 year old daughter.

The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The poolside bar and cafe were also spot on - great service and yummy food!

The rooms were on the small side but very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was tiny which was a little awkward but otherwise happy with the rooms.

The staff at the front desk, restaurant, pool and house keeping were all super friendly and helpful. Would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is my 2nd time staying at the Maui Coast Hotel. I am writing this review while sitting on the comfy couch of my suite in the hotel b/c I love it so much, I can't wait to write about it. I like parking my own car and coming and going as I please, instead of waiting for a valet. I like that there's a grocery store and delicious restaurants just a few blocks away. I like that the beach is quiet, except for the sound of the ocean crashing on the shore or the rustle of the palm trees when the tradewinds arrive. I like the view from the elevator, overlooking the ocean and the sun rising between the palm trees. I like hearing the live music from the ami ami cafe from my balcony and I like the little funny coconut soap dish in my bathroom. The sheets are soft, the bed is comfortable (and I am VERY particular about beds b/c of a back injury) and I couldn't ask for more. When I checked in 2 days ago, Lance, at the front desk was so nice & accommodating, I could have cried. (I'm badly in need of a vacation & just came off an 11hr flight) I never want to stay anywhere else in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade to a suite...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel location can't be beat. You're walking distance to some restaurants and "nightlife" (I use this term loosely because there is little night life in Maui readily available for tourists). The rooms were clean and a nice size. We had lots of excursions planned and really enjoyed the central location to Makena, Paia, the Road to Hana, and Lahaina (a bit more of a drive but accessible and the drive is scenic). The staff was friendly and the restaurant/bar was pretty decent and not too overpriced. You're just across the road from the beach that is easily crossed by a crosswalk. There is a close ABC store to get all of the items you may have forgotten. Though not inexpensive it will have everything you need and a whole lot more you don't.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms are more scenic though the only rooms with ocean view are the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsOneill426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
21.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing