We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well worth the price!! Only problem was one elevator was down so a bit of a wait but everything else was great! Pool nice, beach across street, plenty of towels, nice room lay out and great parking. Wifi fast too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jleonard421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    754
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
457
1,092
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family and I decided to take a vacation to Maui and heard about the hotel. I've never written a review on Trip Advisor but I had to write one for my stay in this hotel. Not only are the staff very warm and welcoming, but they are all very professional. We had an overall good experience at the hotel and in Maui. It's right across the street from the beach and I loved that the hotel guests could rent out bikes! Biking became a daily workout for me. Everyone was so sweet. The rooms were clean and a good size. We were definitely satisfied with everything, great for those on a budget. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel especially if your on a budget. its located smack dab in the middle of kehei the best part of maui in my opinion. Its very clean and well maintained. The Pool area is gorgeous and its right beside the cafe restaurant patio. Rooms are nice and clean and the staff is friendly. the beach is right across the street and the sunsets are amazing. There is all kinds of cool restaurants, bars and stores on the main strip, and big beach is a 5 minute drive away! Bonus!!

Hint: DONT MISS the awsome sunset beach party every sunday at around 5pm at little beach. Its amazing, so many people! there's a huge drum circle and fire dancers its crazy a must see!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jetlife_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were warmly welcomed to the hotel. The staff is very helpful and always nice. Edwin in particular provided excellent service during our entire stay. Very well located in South kihey. The pool and (very) hot jacuzzi are great. My husband really enjoyed the gym. The room was clean and decent with excellent shampoo products. The beds were very comfy. The pricing is just incredible. We felt that we got so much for our money. The prices are better on Expedia than with the hotel itself. Excellent quality for the price we paid. They however charge an extra $17,50 / day resort fee, which we did not expect prior to checking in. The restaurant ami ami was a bit pricy for the food served. I never understood the $6 half papaya...also, the cocktails were not good and very disappointing. We preferred going to the Shops at Wailea or in Lahaina for good dining. The beach just across the street is great and super clean. We would go back for sure!

Room Tip: The junior suite was great. Beware if your balcony is up the ventilation systems (very noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myriane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia and was very disappointed with the room, located on ground level beside the outdoor A/C units. They were so loud that it was impossible to sit out on the patio, or even have the patio door open. Also had very loud thumping noises starting at about 5:00AM which may have been coming from a stockroom in the basement?

When I asked to move rooms, we were moved up a couple of floors, still overlooking the A/C units - so it was a little quieter, but not much.

When I asked for a late checkout, a receptionist at the front desk told me it would be an extra $20/per hour. This seemed high, so I declined but later decided to fork over the extra money for a few hours, since our flight didn't leave util midnight. To my surprise, when I went back to the front desk the manager was there, and didn't ask for the extra payment! Not sure why staff and management are doing totally different things, but they need to get their story straight!

On the plus side: The hotel is in a good location within a 5 minute walk to beaches and a convenience store, and about a 5 minute drive to shops in central Kihei. It also has a very nice little, pool area with drink service, and also a nice poolside restaurant. The poke was delicious. I love staying in Kihei and would come back to this area, just not sure if I'd give this hotel another chance or not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Escape-Is-At-Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a totally fantastic time staying here! Everyone is so nice. Location is PERFECT! Shuttle is very handy when you do not have a car. Will return!The gift shop has everything anyone would want, and the prices are easy on the pocketbook. The house cleaners were especially great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderwoman337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Enjoyed the hotel very much. Thought it was a good value for the money. Across the street from a great beach. close to everything you need. We enjoyed the hotel and its services. We would go back there again.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MSHamburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing