We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This location is perfect - not as crowded or over touristy as other locations on Maui and central to everything. Walking distance to surf and much more. The property is very clean and well managed, easy in and out (really important when busy with excursions and seeing the island). Easy, unlimited beach towel pick up and drop off at front desk (never ever any lines). We highly recommend the poolside food service and bar as very good and an exceptional value in all of Maui. We worked with Michelle Moore, an Expedia / Hyatt concierge and she made our stay perfect! (call her at the Hyatt Regency Maui - the Maui Coast hotel is also under her purview) We got a fabulous room with view. The kids loved the pool area. The staff, without exception, was friendly and helpful. I feel we really lucked out finding this hotel and will make it our base for future visits. It is a full service resort without any or the larger resort hassles and waiting for service. Kihei is a wonderful place - 5 min to Wailea beach, 20 min to the airport, great rentals and water excursions all around. All the locals we spoke with also really seemed to like the Maui Coast Hotel as one of the best deals around - Just perfect!

Room Tip: Just ask early before your trip for best view / room possible and they will accommodate. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    765
    138
    39
    27
See reviews for
465
1,106
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The only disappointing part of this trip was the fact that some of the places were closed due to the hurricanes that might be coming in. The hotel took great care of us and kept us informed. The Maui Coast Hotel was in a great location, the beach was right across the street and restaruants were within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, loved the mango mojito at the restaruant on site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I had to stay here on a business trip to Maui. Now if you have to go to Maui on the company's dime - where you stay won't be as nice as where you might go on vacation. For Maui, this is a reasonably priced place in a very "local" area rather than a resort area. That makes this place more authentic, I suppose. Comfortable enough, a little bland. My only complaint is that I had a ground room floor and it had ants. If you need to save money or are going for work - this place will do. If you want the "resort" experience, this is not the right place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roadwarriorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Boyfriend and I enjoyed staying here very much. Staff was always nice and helpful. Free bikes is a wonderful plus. Just across the street is the beach and lots to do ! So glad we didn't book one of the big building hotels or timeshares that look like old apartments. It was a classy gem that I would be pleased to stay in again. Thanks maui coast !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Krysblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Aloha Krysblair!

Thank you for the nice review about our hotel and your overall experience with us! I'm glad you found our location and the complimentary use of bikes to your satisfaction. We sure you hope you can come stay with us again on your next Maui trip!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

we just checked in couple nights ago, but didn't feel safe on the location of our room. We asked the hotel Clerk to switch our room. We were being told to check back on Thursday which is the next morning. The morning clerk told us in that morning it shouldn't be a problem. So we left the hotel, thinking it will be taking care of that same day. But when came back that same night to check with the front desk a different clerk told us to check back again the next morning. It has been a two restless night for my wife and that wasn't something we were looking for vacationing here.

Room Tip: Guest need to feel safe n comfortable on where they stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sleepless678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Aloha Sleepless678,

I am very sorry for the mix up regarding your request to move to a different room during your stay. We strive to provide great service and great product for our guests and I am disappointed that we did not deliver that to you. I know this does not change your experience thus far, but I hope you can feel confident that I will be sharing your comment with the team. I hope you can give us another chance on your next trip to Maui. If you do, please contact me and I will personally assist you with your reservation. I would welcome the opportunity to talk to your more about this past stay. Feel free to e-mail at your earliest convenience. vmarave@mauicoasthotel.com.

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Maui Coast Hotel in July 2013 for 5 nights. We loved it so much that we booked again to stay here in August 2014 and we are coming from NZ so it was big factor in our decision to holiday in Hawaii for a second time, two years in a row. The lovely Edwin was still on Reception and we had good service from Terry and I think, Marie. There was a slight issue with check in. We wanted to be on a high floor but ended up on Level 7 (good) but on huge side with a noisy outside cooling fan. It makes a hell of a racket and as we were staying for 7 nights and like fresh air, we asked to be changed and moved to Level 5 on the south side/garden side. We had paid for. 1 bedroom suite this time, as last year we had only paid for a standard room and Edwin had upgraded us and we didn't want to be disappointed this year if we got the lesser room. At checkin, Marie said oh, we are upgrading you to a 1 bedroom suite but we had actually already paid for that so did find this comment a bit bizarre? This hotel is ideal for people who have a car and like to really get on an do their own thing. It is not too resorty, which we like and is very good value for money we feel given the comfort level and the resort charge includes free room bottled water, free washers/dryers, self-carparking, newspapers, bikes etc. a lot of airline crew stay here but that didn't worry us because on the plus side, you don't get many noisy kids! We are currently at Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu's north shore and are walking around this place, saying gosh, wish we were back at Maui Coast! Much better value for money and comfort level.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side/garden side if you like fresh air as the outside cooling fan is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParisNZchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Aloha ParisNZchick!

Thank you for your time in writing us a nice review! I am glad we were able find you a room to better suit your needs. We will definitely look into that 7th floor location and the noise you were experienced. It is so nice to welcome back a familiar face! Thank you for the shout outs to Marie, Edwin, and Terry! I will make sure this review gets shared with the the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you again on the next trip to Maui!

Mahalo,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First of all the hotel is in a great location, with easy access to the beach, local restaurants, and shops. There is a fairly busy street between the hotel and the beach, but there is a cross walk at the end of the block so its not too bad. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. The pool was really nice, but we never actually ate at the hotel so I can't say much about that. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is across the street from the beach you really need a higher floor room to get a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing