We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed at Maui Coast at Kihei and found the hotel to be more than adequate. I think they just renovated the place, and the standard rooms were spacious, and comes with microwave and ref. Staff were friendly. I don't recommend eating at the cafe by the pool. For wireless internet inside the room you need to pay $9/day but there are 3 terminals outside by the lobby that you can surf the internet for free. However, if you need to print something you need to pay a minimal fee per page.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipoahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    758
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
459
1,097
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We had read the reviews before we booked our last minute trip and it seemed a good option for the price. We booked directly off the Coast hotels website and chose the hotel/car/breakfast combo (Escape to Maui pkg)- which was the same price as the hotel/car combo rate:($150.00 night) go figure? BTY is now $180 for 2010.
Our standard car was a AWD Subaru Impreza - not huge but comfortable and good on gas - had to pay $20+ in tax on pick-up. AWD nice as we did full circle Hana tour around Haleakula and also northwest circle route past blowhole. Note: Would not come to Maui and not rent a car - you need one to fully see/enjoy the area.
Breakfast good - nice open air restaurant Spices on site - however only meal we ate there. Choice of three entrees with meal pkg - they took our minor substitutions no problems.
Hotel excellent - newly refurbished w/ high quality; mini bar area with micro, fridge and coffee maker; nice bed and bedding; decent patio with garden/ocean view; beautiful open air lobby; very friendly and accomodating staff; nice pool and cafe/bar area.
Things to note: The hotel is across the street from the beach - which you really cannot see because of private homes on water side.
This is a smaller hotel so pool area is not huge but adequate. It was never crowded, had two seperate hot-tub areas and provided full drink/snack service delivered to loungers if so desired. Friendly TV/Sports bar ambiance if you chose to sit in bar area - Jazz type live music in evenings.
They had free laundry rooms available - with soap/softner dispensers.
The hotel was with-in easy walking of all 3 Kam beaches & Charley Young beach. Fairly close to a couple of smallish strip malls, ABC store and some good restaurants. You really need to try Cafe O Lei - good food.
We enjoyed our stay here a lot. It was relaxing - we spent a morning by the pool and a couple of evenings in the bar/pool area. Food delivered from Spices next door was good and hot - we noticed that people from other time-share condos close by came here in the evening to eat and enjoy the music. They had drink and beer specials that changed daily and a happy hour 2/1 special @ 4 - 5PM (or 3-4?)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaSunSeeker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Wonderful value - we have paid 2-3 times as much at higher-end resorts and walked away (drastically) less satisfied. Rooms were quiet, clean, and modern; our room was outside of the elevator, and we never heard a peep. We appreciated the fridge/microwave but never had the chance to use it; did not use restaurants/room service/fitness area either. Front desk was genuinely friendly and helpful. We stayed Christmas week, and even though they were booked, they permitted us to have a bit of a late check-out. Pool water was a bit cool/crisp, but it would be a waste to have a pool heater due to Maui's warm temperatures. Pool and hot tubs were very clean. Enjoyed the music in the pool areas in the evenings. Liked the hotel's proximity to the beaches and the rest of the island. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We found Maui Coast Hotel a very modern, spacious, clean and comfortable hotel. Our friends booked the deluxe room and we booked the suite (as we needed a big room for us and the kids). both the deluxe room and the suite were lovely. We booked them through Easy click web site and indeed it was easy and quick :)

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two short nights to meet with our wedding planner and check out wedding venues the year before our wedding. For any airline employees, they offer a fantastic airline discount! The rooms were very nice, and we had one with a large oceanview lanai. The pool was great, the restaurant in front of the hotel was very good with great prices. It's just a short walk to the beach and to restaurants and shopping in Kihei. We prefer to stay on the beach, but for a quick, last minute trip, it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauionmymind08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
610 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I had read the positive reviews about this property before we arrived but I was still plesantly surprised with how nice a facility this was for the price. In fairness I don't know the price because we won a Maui trip in a charity auction and this hotel was one of two hotels that were part of the package. But I am guessing that given the time of year the price would have been in the $150/night range. A great value at that price.
A great value because we had a fifth floor suite with partial ocean, partial mountain views, a deck overlooking those views, a nice pool area adjacent to a small restaurant and clean grounds. The only thing I could find fault with was the parking. The slots were too narrow and the spots available in short supply. We were anonymously dinged in the back fender and no one reported it. That was a little frustrating.
The location, however, was fantastic if you want to try a less expensive way to enjoy Maui. The Maui Coast sits across the street from the beach. Within walking distance is everything from an ABC store for basic supplies to a number of eateries (The Sports Page, Fred's Mexican, Moose McGillycuddys, Cafe O'Lei). On-site is Spices which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and nightly entertainment at the pool.
The staff was efficient and attentive. The housekeeping staff was exceptional. The rooms spacious with flat screen TV's. Overall a better experience than I could have expected.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. its a very nice hotel, great views, beach across the street, clean, great location, comfortable beds, recently updated rooms, friendly staff. All around nice place! there was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room when we came in. The pool bar was really nice for a drink too! Skip Spices restaurant if you can, its not owned by the hotel but sort of connected. the food is so-so and expensive for what you get. eat at cafe olei or cuatro for dinner. kihei cafe has an awesome, cheap breakfast too. this hotel has an expedia desk as well which is great for figuring out sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. what a great time!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim81682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing