We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean front but location disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menehune Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Menehune Shores
Ranked #20 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ocean front but location disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Our desire was to have an oceanfront property so the kids could easily access the beach without loading up the car with beach gear. Eg chairs, towels. However, we read in Maui Revealed that the ocean in this area was not really suitable for swimming because the water is "nasty" as it drains from a discharge ditch. They also mention the presence of seaweed which we found not to be the case. However, walking along the shoreline we noticed that the water was brown in certain spots so we elected to not swim in this section in spite of the fact owners of condos in this area claim it is fine.

However, the view is lovely and our condo was renovated and well equipped with beach chairs, towels, and kitchen utensils. The elevators are very slow and to access the stairwell you needed a key so that was very inconvenient. We did not use the pool area because it was small and not too inviting for teenagers.

As for the location, next time I would have preferred to be more south by Wailea or Kamaole Beach where there was more action and shops for the kids.

In summary I would not return to the Menehune Shores. The building is "tired", the location is not ideal and the beach is not swimable.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank raincoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    53
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
78
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Just returned from a week at this complex. The 2 bdrm/2 bath unit we stayed in was on the fourth floor and was excellent. Had everything we could need for a comfortable stay. The only downside was that it is next to the busy S. Kihei Rd so there was a fair amount of traffic noise all night with windows open. This was our first trip to Maui and we would book at this complex again. Central to all the beaches around. Had a good view of the ocean from the balcony. You can barbeque on the roof where there are picnic tables, or on the water side of the property. Everyone was friendly that we met. One note: You are only allowed to park one vehicle per unit in the parking lot. If you have 2 cars, as we did, one has to be parked a block away on a side street. We found that out after arrival, tho we asked before we booked. A lot of people were doing just that so not too bad.
All in all, a great experience here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This unit is fully equipt with every thing you need. We were Grandpa and grandma, mom and dad, and teennage grandchildren. All of us had a good time. We, the grandpa and grandma have been to Maui several times and this is the best equipt unit we have had yet. We can make it back to 126 again next year.JNJIowa

Room Tip: This year we stayed in unit 126. Last year we stayed in 114. This unit was a 3 Bedroom unit and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JNJIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Steve and I have stayed at Menehune Shores on three occasions and will continue to return. Gale's condo (416) is beautifully appointed, very clean and the most spectacular view. We love the full width mirror on one end of the lanai - you can see the panoramic view no matter where you sit and it's a great place to do my hair etc. so you do not miss a minute of this amazing view. Gayle has contacted us after our visits to ensure all went well and ask for input on anything that needs attending to. This is excellent property management and several notches above other places we have stayed. Our Nov. meeting was at the Grand Wailea and as beautiful as it was, we were most anxious to go back to our paradise home-away-from-home and enjoy another week at Gayle's. The condo has a well stocked kitchen, great cds and also has boogie boards. There is excellent snorkeling (at and near the property) and shopping close by. We're looking forward to staying at some of her other properties on the islands in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank kodaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Rented a condo for a week from Menehune Shores. Our room was perfect 2 bed 2 bath. We were able to have hot meals and grill outdoors on the rooftop. Yes we will go back. 3rd floor right off the beach, nice snorkeling close by and the room even had snorkel gear and boogie boards, saving us from renting

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We first stayed at Menehuene Shores back in 2004 and have been back every year since.One year we stayed 2 times!
Sam was the guy we all ways rented from he did a great job in getting us the dates we wanted .
When Sam passed( we miss Sam) KH took over and now he is doing a good job.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wfallick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The room was awful, overpriced, and put a huge damper on our vacation. The refrigerator was rusty, ever screen and sliding door was broken, every sheet and towel was musty and moldy smelling, did not want my family eating or playing in this condo. Very disappointed for the over $1300 I paid. Will not stay here again. Once in a lifetime family trip was really brought down by condo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eprobst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#9 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#23 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menehune Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menehune Shores

Property: Menehune Shores
Address: 760 S Kihei Rd, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7515
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menehune Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Menehune Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menehune Shores Hotel Kihei
Menehune Shores Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing