We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAUI Vacation”
Review of Menehune Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Menehune Shores
Ranked #19 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We are staying in unit 510 and it is wonderful, well appointed and beautiful view. The only complaint would be the beds are VERY firm. The condo property has a rooftop area for cooking and eating or sunbathing. The view goes on forever. It is conveniently located to the airport and shopping. There is a Indian restaurant downstairs I don't know about it, i have not eaten there but it does smell really good. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Yuck. Unit itself was ok, views were great. Property is located in a very sketchy area of town on unusable ocean front and can be terribly windy. Low end feel. Parking spaces are undersized. The pool is a joke for such a big building. Strong smell of curry from ground floor restaurant. Resist the cheaper price and book in South Maui instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent 10 days in unit #107...the property is well equipped a located in a quiet part of town. Plenty to see and explore the sunset we so amazing and a short trip to Lahina and Hana road.
However....
this unit was not the best example, Upon arriving we were so excited, and the longer we stayed the more we found wrong. The floor was so dirty that our feet were black everyday "MAHALO FOR TAKING OFF YOUR SHOES" The beds are well used, the colorful bedspreads just hid the soiling on the back. felt grungy and dirty. The dining table all the chairs were wobbly. The well stocked equipment....the beach chairs that were backpacks..oops no bakpak Boogie Boards, you guessed it broken. but hey THE ICE CHEST WORKED....
the kitchen not really a cooks kitchen super small open the fridge and it takes up the entire kitchen.
We did have lovely time on maui inspite of our accommodations.

Room Tip: ocean views for sure amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in unit 409. It had all the amenities including pantry basics and laundry and dish detergent for the in suite washer/dryer and dishwasher. The building is a little dated but our suite was updated very nicely and it faces the ocean so we get to see the sunset/sunrise daily. The price was reasonable. The building and grass was kept in excellent shape and it had a pool as well as a beach area with volcano rocks to shelter some of the waves on the beach. One of the building manager Jeff was very kind to let me use his phone as I needed to contact the owner for the password for internet. Overall, we would love to come back and stay in the same suite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Campbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is our 6th trip to Maui and have stayed in the Kaanapali and Kihie areas. We shared a Condo with friends and found the Menehune Shores very pleasant. This is an older but well maintained property. Units are average sized and not air conditioned. But the breezes are all that is required to keep the unit cool. We were in unit 505 and it is well provisioned with everything you need for your stay. The location is very central and parking is usually no problem. We found the both renters owners to be very friendly which is not always the case with condos. Views of sunsets are great and the grounds are well maintained. The prices are reasonable for an older building. Will definitley stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms will provide a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retired200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent our first Christmas away and stayed in #423, a 2 bdr/2bath unit on the 4th floor at this complex in N. Kihei. Our booking was made through Menehune Reservations and K.H. was fantastic to deal with. Rates for the peak season were reasonable and full payment wasn't due until 30 days before, unlike many of the other rentals offered through VRBO.
Although our unit was very dated, the building is immaculate and the staff and service was great. The rooftop grills were kept spotless and the pool area and grounds were lovely. We had west views of the sunsets and listened to the crashing surf each night. This Kihei beach area is not the greatest but we had a car and visited different beaches each day.
There is no A/C in most of the units but there was a wonderful cross breeze when the windows were open and each room had a ceiling fan. My complaints about this unit is that almost everything is 20 years old. The mattresses sag, draperies are on their last leg, the sheets and towels are ancient and shredding and the kitchen supplies were the bare minimum, most seemed like garage sale items but all appliances worked.
This area is very quiet and away from the shops and busy parts of south Kihei. The pool is in the shade for part of the day at this time of year. The Indian restaurant on site has delicious food but is very pricey for what you get. We would definitely stay here again but I would make sure to book a newly renovated unit.

Room Tip: Choose a newly renovated unit. West (sunset) side has the higher numbers but there are great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachbum2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked our condo about 9 months in advance. I had been corresponding with management about paying on 2 condos (coming in on different days), and they were exceptional ! We had access to the roof for bbqing and watching the sunsets. There is a pool, shuffleboard, and bbq's on the ground as well. It is beachfront and if you have young kids there is a "fishpond" out front kind of separated from the ocean which is perfect for young ones. The one thing we didn't have was air conditioning, which I was a bit worried about, but there were plenty of ceiling fans, lanai and kitchen windows to circulate the air. You can check out the actual rooms at menehunereservations.com. Also, if you are wanting to rent a vehicle reserve it EARLY. We were in Kihei on the busiest weekend of the year and people were waiting on vehicles. I will absolutely book with Menehune again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
4.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
3.4 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
3.9 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 60 in Kihei
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menehune Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menehune Shores

Address: 760 S Kihei Rd, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7515
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £157 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Menehune Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Menehune Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menehune Shores Hotel Kihei
Menehune Shores Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing