We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here our first of two weeks on Maui. It was an exchange through our timeshare so it was a good value. It is located on the ocean side of the road which is a plus, however, even though there is a beach here, it really isn't good for much more than nice sunset or morning walks. It definitely is not a swim beach and the water is not a pretty color here like it is elsewhere. The property is not right by the beach but set back like many other properties here which is OK. There are also tennis courts between the property and the beach. The property is well maintained and manicured for it's age. We had a nice 1 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor overlooking the
pool. We also had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean between buildings from the lanai, where we enjoyed having breakfast and dinners every day. The pool and hot tub area was well maintained, which we used a couple of times. However the pool got noisy with screaming kids and partying adults at various times during the day and evening, which we could hear inside the unit even
with the doors closed. This eventually lessened towards the end of our stay as those particular families must have already left. The unit was nice, nothing fancy, but met our needs. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The only drawback with the bedrooms throughout the complex is that they are all located right on the walkways that everyone uses to get to their units and you can hear them as they walk by. Luckily no one was noisy in the middle of the night. Because the beach isn't that great here we drove to all sorts of other beaches in the area. The best part about staying here is that they provide beach chairs and coolers for beach trips. They even have some boogie boards to borrow down in the luggage storage area which we
used. They say they don't keep them in the units anymore for liability reasons. The other good thing is that there is a full size washer/dryer in the unit and they
provide 1 wash load worth of
detergent. All in all a good value and a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Maui Schooner Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Ocean front! Amenities are good, but lack any luxury. Not run down, but lacks finesse. Then again why did we come to Maui? Not for the accommodations, although it does matter. Good value when all the amenities, including the full sized washer and dryer are considered.
No maid service, so try to be tidy, or you'll feel awkward.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Maui is exceptional... the Schooner is just OK. This was my first trip to Hawaii, & the other couple we went with booked the place since they got a deal. In general we had a good time but wish we would have had more time... didn't get to see all of Maui in the 8 days we were there and can't wait to go back!
Maui Schooner: Well worth it if cost is your #1 priority, but I'm a beach person first and foremost. If I were to do it again I'd stay in South Kihei, or Wailea near the spectacular beachs hands down. Polo beach in Wailea was my favorite, give it a try. They have lounge chairs there and everything. Maybe I'm spoiled on resorts but I want to wake up and walk down to the beach and have a lounge chair there and completely escape reality and everyday life when I'm on vacation. Packing up the car and driving to a decent beach everyday got old... real old, real quick! The pool was nice, clean & never crowded, and had a decent table and BBQ area. But the beach is too shallow to really swim it, paddleboarders get there useof it, hence the packing up to go to the beach everyday. If your a pool person and want to do maui on the cheap go for it. If you a beach person, buck up and spend the $$ to stay on the real maui beaches.
One thing we should have done more than once, we eat at Mama's fish house in Paia. AMAZING! YOU MUST GO! Pricey but really a special experience- well worth teh cost in service, atmosphere, and food!
Also don't believe the hype. Maui is not that expensive, if you do EVERYTHING at a resort, of course it is, but if your here your going to be eating at the Kihei local resatrants, and they aren't bad at all. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachgirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I traveled to Maui over the 4th. All I can say about Maui is that you must go.....it is an absolute must if you enjoy a laid back island life.

We stayed at the Maui Schooner as a timeshare exchange. Our unit had an ocean view and was very clean and spacious. The sunsets from our balcony were priceless. Maui truly is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudyruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

While the unit is dated, it was well maintained. There were 4 of us women; two had the bedroom and me and my friend had the sleeper sofa. The ladies in the bedroom woke up to the rooster and birds. The staff was gracious and Judy, the conceriege, was great. Parking in the lot was always a challenge. You could not ask for more perfect tropical foliage. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a water view, one bedroom and traveled with an owner.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The property is manicured, on the ocean, and the people are spectacular... It is not very touristry which we love, but was well equipped, close to everything, and great pool. whirlpool. and grills.... It is class A with less costs and great close parking... Nothing but love for the Maui Schooner... Clean and equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiilover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It was a bit of a walk to a beach that wasn't worth the walk so we drove to a better location. The grills were very nice as was the fact that we had free beach chairs and a cooler. A nice king size bed. We were in unit B111 and the first floor has zero privacy on the lanai. There was no air conditioning in the bed room so we cracked up the air conditioning and aimed the floor fan into the bedroom. The ceiling fan over the bed had one speed and it was hurricane force wind.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
419 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Kihei
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
3.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
4.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £199 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing