We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Camw with my wife two daughters son-in-law and grand daughters. They loved the time. Units large spacious well equipped. Will return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarryL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Wonderful, quiet resort. Cleanliness is very good and the grounds are impeccable. It's a dated condo but the upkeep is impressive - upgrades are underway. Staff are very "accommodating". Have stayed there a couple of times and would definitley return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RickLJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed here multiple times. Lots of repeat guets,so that should tell you something. Located at the North end of Kihei, this resort is a good central location from which to visit any attraction on Maui. Units have completely equipped kitchen, plus Bar B ques by pool. Mostly timeshare owners here, but rentals often available. Restaurants and grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We arrived Christmas day and left New Years day. These are older units but kept up and they are in the middle of a remodel project. Th e staff are very helpful and appreciated that the resort has a room where we could come back to shower and clean up after checking out as check out time was 10am and we did not fly out till 11pm. I had requested a third floor unit and we were able to get that and we also were ablt to see the beach from the side view of our lanai. Also had a great view of the pool. We were able to grill many of our meals as they had nice weber grills by the pool. It was also nice rto have washer and dryers in all the units. Hopefully we will be able to return here many timesin the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I recently stayed at the maui schooner (nov 2011) by doing an exchange thru Interval International. I traded my week Marriott week for this. It is conveniently located in Kihei. It is an older property and it kind of shows. The check in was quick. The staff was helpful. They provided a map of the area and pointed me to Safeway (which is a few miles away). There are 2 buildings each being 4 stories. Building B has pool side view. Building A has a nice ocean view.

I stayed in a one bed room unit overlooking the ocean. The furniture, kitchen and bathroom are dated. They are supposedly updating the kitchen and bathroom. This will greatly improve the place. The kitchen is fully stock with practically everything you will need (toaster, blender, pots, pan, cheese slicer, wine opener, etc). The bathtub (if that is what they want to call it) is tiny. You can bath toddlers and infants in it. Anyone else, no soaking in the suds. It is maybe 3 feet long. They also provide beach chairs and cooler in the unit for your use. I thought was a good bonus.

There is only an air conditioner in the living/dinner room. The bedroom only has a ceiling fan. It can get quite warm in the bedroom. The living room opens to the lanai. So in the evening you can get nice breezes. Thus, it would have made more sense to put the air conditioner in the bedroom.

The grounds are nice. The pool is a little small but ok. The beach is a nice area. It is small and you can not swim there. It is nice to take walks and play in the water. It is very nice to sit on the beach or hill watching the sun set with a glass of wine. The resort is convenient to other parts of the island. Big beach is probably 15 min away. There are a few other beaches in between to swim.

Overall, it is nice but not comparative to my marriott property. The good thing is that when you in such a beautiful place as Maui, how much time do you really spend inside?

Room Tip: Ask for building A for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank inthewind2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Maui Schooner in September 2011. We had 3 condos. Our stay was very nice. The resort is older, but very well kept. The staff was wonderful. They were friendly and took good care of our needs. The beach is a non swimming beach, but a really nice walking beach. Excellent swimming beaches are nearby. The resort was quiet and peaceful. It was a layed back atmosphere. Be careful of the front desk steering you to Safeway for groceries. She told us it was the cheapest place to shop......lol.......it was 3 times as expensive as the other stores. There is a grocery store nearby that was a lot less expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The resort is tucked in among several other condo/timeshare type units in a convenient and quite location. While the resort is on the beach side of the street, it is not an area recommended for swimming but it is a nice stretch of beach for a walk and pretty views. We are the type that typically set up base camp where ever we stay and venture out daily to explore the beauty of our vacation spot. We didn't spend much time just hanging out at the resort, as there are way too many things to see on Maui. The Maui Schooner was perfect for us, our favorite amenities were the washer and dryer, which were used daily for our beach towels, and such. The beach towels, cooler and chairs also went everywhere we went too. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Based on our needs we found the resort to be clean, comfy, and quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
3.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £201 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing