We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third week on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Third week on Maui”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had stayed the first two weeks at the Kaanapal Beach Club, then moved down to the Maui Schooner in Kihei to take advantage of the wonderful snorkeling spots, saw numerous turtles, fish and corals, etc. We arrived early and we able to check in early, which was very much appreciated due to all the frozen and refrigerated foods we had with us. Our unit had been (B204) recently redone from top to bottom. It was nice to have a full kitchen with lots of utensils and equipment a person might need or want to use. Even though the units are smaller compared to the KBC, it did include a full sized washer and dryer. Air conditioning in living room with ceiling fan and ceiling fan in bedroom, nice grounds,small, but nice pool and hot tub, cleaned daily as well as the BBQs. Putting greens, shuffleboard, tennis courts free wifi and parking, as well as, very nice and helpful staff who answered our questions.
Enjoyed our stay and definitely would return.
Great location, close to Long's Drugstore, Safeway was closely and about 15-20 minutes away from Costco, where they even sell gas 30 cents less a gallon than the rest of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snorkelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    78
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
75
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Maui Schooner for a week in September. Even though the check in time was 4pm we stoped by early. Nancy at the front desk was very friendly and allowed us to "pre-check in". I visited with Jan-the attractions guru. She gave us a great suggestion for lunch and some places to check out since it was our first trip to Maui. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a nice clean 2 building timeshare with a small pool and spa. They also have 3 gas BBQ's on the pool deck. With a Safeway nearby we took avantage of the grill on a couple of nights. Plus it's a great way to meet other people while they are cooking dinner too! Our unit was a two bedroom two bath with a full kitchen. Our patio looked out over the ocan. there is a large grassy area between the buildings and the ocean. the beach there is small. But there are a number of larger beaches located nearby-a short (5 minute) drive away. They even had a cooler and 4 folding beach chairs in the unit for us to use. Kihei is centrally located on the west coast of the island so it is a great place to launch your exploring. The Maui Schooner isn't a Marriott or a Hilton but that is what makes it so good. There's just about every kind and level of dining nearby. We never had trouble finding a place at the pool. We enjoyed our time there very much. There is some daytime remodeling going on so there is some construction noise, but it was kept to a minimum. We only had one day where they were working on the unit below ours. It was loud at times but if we wanted to escape the noise all we had to do was go to the pool or walk out to the ocean. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view-timeshare owners get first shot-ask for the "A" building. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This place is gorgeous. Very quiet too. We got the room B304 which was a huge 2 bedroom 2 bath loft style condo. Wow. Views of the ocean along with views of their pool and beautiful grounds. They had everything, towels, chairs, an ice chest, washer/dryer all kitchen utilities. Everything was clean and sparkling. A few little tiny hicups but nothing worth mentioning. I stayed at another one down the road before and it was a dump. You will not regret staying here with the sunset views off the property or your balcony. Not a bunch of screaming kids running around either which is what I was looking for.

You are close to everything including a nice little flea market. I read on another review that the back bedroom was hot, well we placed the provided fan pointing into that room and no issue with it being hot. I would highly recommend this place to adults looking for quiet time with pristine grounds to relax and enjoy your vacation. Everyone we met was nice and pleasant. Seldom do you come across timeshares like this one. We did not own it but was a gift to use.

Room Tip: These are timeshares (2 bed 2 ba condo) and not rooms but B304 offered the best views, huge in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cricket0049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had such a wonderful time in Maui! We traded our timeshare in California for the Maui schooner! I was a little worried, but it was perfect. We celebrated our 30th Anniversery with our 3 kids(in there 20's an future son in law! We stayed in B305. It was perfect. Took walks on the beach, loved the grounds. The pool is nice. We did a lot of hiking on the road to Hana and kept very busy. So nice to end the day at the schooner and bbq or cook! I would defiantly come back! Such a beautiful vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Love2craftjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We've now stayed here on three different occasions over 20 years (on a timeshare exchange), and we've enjoyed ourselves each visit. This is not a huge property, and it's definitely showing its age, but it is perfectly fine for our needs.

We got unit B305, which is one of the loft floor plans, overlooking the pool. As luck would have it, it was one of only a few units that have been refurbished, so we enjoyed new appliances and the updated color scheme rather than the '80s tropical pastel thing that is still running rampant in many Hawaiian timeshares. We shared the place with my sister and her boyfriend, and aside from some minor privacy issues (you can hear everything that's happening upstairs in the loft, so beware!), we felt like we had enough room to stretch out and be comfortable.

We didn't really spend a lot of time on the beach this visit, so not having that close by was not an issue for us. I can, however, understand that if someone is planning on doing that, it would make sense to fork out the extra $$ to stay in Wailea or up in Kaanapali/Napili -- somewhere with more welcoming beaches and less wind than Kihei (there's a reason it's the windsurfing capital of the world!) We did spend a lot of time exploring the island, and we've always found Kihei to be a good home base for that.

The one, teensy thing that I found kind of disappointing (and, obviously, not the Schooner's fault) is that our little strip of ocean view from our room included the very brown and dry West Maui mountain with the unsightly metal windmills dotting it. Bummer. In fact, I was shocked at how brown the dry side was -- the drought has definitely taken its toll, and I found most of the drive up to Kaanapali pretty depressing in that regard. If you are counting on lush, green landscapes, my recommendation would be to visit Kauai . . .

Room Tip: I chose a loft layout because there is an extra air conditioner in the upstairs bedroom, and I was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SDAim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Goign into our stay, we had read a bit about how the condos here were a bit older, and needed updating, etc. Our 1 besdroom, 1 bath unit had recently been updated, and was exactly what we needed. 1 bedroom 1 bath, Hi-Def TV's int he den and bedroom, and a fully quipped kitchen. We parked right outside our unit, and never had trouble with anything.

In a place like Maui, you're not spending a ton of time in the codno anyway. However, the Maui Schooner had perfect rooms to relax in after a long day on the beach, and had every amenity we needed. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank clwilson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Fabulous week on Maui topped off by a great room with an unbeleivable nightly sunset view. We had an oceanfront end unit with a view of the beach, sunset, and swimming pool. The unit had everything we needed and more, including free WiFi! Word of advice... It pays to attend their Wednesday afternoon potluck at the pool. No sales pitch, just residents sitting around getting to know each other and the island, and they have a drawing for a free week stay, which my wife and I won and can't wait to use.

Room Tip: Building A, Rooms 201, 205, 301, 305, 401, 405! Oceanfront end units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,113 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Property: Maui Schooner Resort
Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing