We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closer to 4 1/2 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #12 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very nice resort with recent upgrades. We were impressed with how clean our room, the office, and the pool area was. The staff is very friendly and very efficient. They were helpful and able to give accurate directions. Even though we were in the B building, we had a nice view of the ocean. We are timeshare owners and believe we got a good exchange into the Maui Schooner.

We had a room with a loft. There being only the two of us, we closed off the front bedroom and slept in the loft. It was quite pleasant and the bed quite comfortable.

The kitchen was fully equipped. We enjoyed being able to make coffee (locally purchased, of course) and breakfast in the morning. What evening meals we did eat in the room were basically microwaved. The oven was clean and ready to use.

We enjoyed our week in Maui. The location of this resort allowed us to take trips in all directions without spending an inordinate amount of time on the road.

We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OlderCodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with your timeshare exchange. We also really appreciate your compliments about the recent upgrades and friendly staff. Please come visit us again soon for more ocean views and a comfortable loft!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Maui Schooner Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated condos. Bedroom kind of stuffy but ceiling and floor fans available. Beach was nice for walking but coudn't swim. Dont know why if there werebad riptides ot what.Grounds were lovely. Small pool. Only have stayed in one other property onaui and that was the Maui Banyan. Would prefer that due to location.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watergirlnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and 4-star review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the recent renovations in our guest rooms and grounds of Maui Schooner. However, it’s too bad the beach wasn’t open for swimming during your stay due to bad riptides and we understand how that could inconvenience your plans on vacation. We hope you will join us again in the future and we thank you again for choosing to stay at Maui Schooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Recent room upgrades have made this resort a little gem. Open concept kitchen, dining area, living room and lanai, makes for a relaxing & spacious enviroment. Ground floor units have the space advantage of the lawn/garden, so that the condo seems to extend out further. The beach was very clean, with no seaweed, so there's no need to drive to other beaches. Sunsets are spectacular here and the location is convenient, without being in a really busy area. No high rises to be seen, adding to the beauty of the location. Pool area is adequate, but not my thing, as I have a perfectly clean pool at home and prefer the sand/surf. A great stay here!

Room Tip: ocean front 'A' building is the first choice
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed the new room upgrades! We look forward to welcoming you back to Maui again and thank you so much for taking the time to share your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We've been owners at the Maui Schooner for many years. We've been through several refurbishments, but the latest major renovation has totally updated the condos. The staff is excellent, the grounds are beautiful ... and you have to see the sunsets to believe all the spectacular colors! We're still recalling our 2013 visit, looking forward to our 2014 visit, and 2015 is already reserved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for the big compliment about the updated condos. Many of our owners are providing positive feedback about this major renovation and we are so pleased! We look forward to welcoming you back to Maui soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Beautiful grounds, and the units are nicely updated. Smallish side, not a b I g complex. Beautiful Maui sunsets over the ocean!! Beautiful views, either ocean view or pool/grounds view, truly paradise! I love this place.

Room Tip: A building has ocean views, B building pool views. Both are good, all units have a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful oceanfront location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been owners for over 7 years and are very happy with the renos that have recently been done to keep the resort in great condition. The grounds are always immaculate and beautiful. The staff is always friendly, helpful and prompt with their services. we really feel like the schooner is our home away from home. The location is great for families with restaurants like the Outback close at hand as well as Safeways. You are close to Wailea and the Oceanarium and can take a drive to Lahaina. We love it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Lindy,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Maui Schooner. We're so happy you like the new renovations and enjoy coming back each year. It really means a lot to our staff to have owners like you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Maui soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife, and two children have been staying at the Maui Schooner for seven years now and love the location of the resort, how quite it is and how accommodating the staff are. I've never seen grounds that are more finely manicured in my life! There are several bar B Ques available, the beach chairs and cooler in the room are a nice touch. I am impressed that they are continuously upgrading and maintaining the resort. I would recommend the Maui Schooner to ANYONE!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Lyle,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy you enjoy returning to the resort each year! Your compliments about the maintenance of the property are much appreciated as well. We can't wait for you to come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
419 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#7 of 62 in Kihei
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
3.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
4.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £198 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing