We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We just returned from a week at the Maui Schooner and having read the reviews I felt I knew what to expect. The resort lived up to our expectations and even exceeded them in many ways. The condos are in need of a major update (decor is at least 20 years in the past), but we found ours to be very clean, and most importantly - everything worked! The kitchen was well-stocked and linens were plentiful. My only complaint is in regards to the bed, it was way too hard! I think hard mattresses are bought because the owners feel they will last longer...do us a favor and go for a little softer mattress. I do not find sleeping on a board to be restful at all. The 1/1 condo was the right size for two people who spent most of their time out enjoying the island, it was nice to come back to a comfortable air-conditioned space. The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculate, while this is a beach front resort it does not have a swimming beach. The staff was friendly and helpful and the resort was very quiet and well-located. We would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    79
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
79
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at this resort and were so dissatisfied! After our first night, we discovered while making the bed a HUGE glob of dried bodily fluid!!!! The front desk and the manager, Nancy had several lame excuses i.e. bleach, masking tape. It was clearly bodily fluid!! To add insult to injury, the manager, Nancy, told us there was nothing she would do for us. Don't waste your money. An hourly motel would be clearer!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nichol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We traded our 2 bedroom timeshare from Lake Tahoe--a 5 star resort, for the Maui Schooner. Our 2 bedroom we received was a 1 bedroom downsrairs and a loft with king size bed upstairs. If you were sitting on the couch down stairs you could see the person upstaires lying in bed. There was NO privacy. It was also very small compared to our Lake Tahoe resort. We were also evicted for one of the days we spent there because the pest control had to spray for bugs. I think they could have done their spraying the day of check out/ in. Everyone is required to check out by 10:00am and check in is not before 4:00pm. And we still had the bugs after the pest control came. We did have a good time in Hawaii--who wouldn't but I would not recommed the Maui SchoonerResort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed 11 nites here and even though it was abit off the beaten path it was well setup for barbequing with 3 new Weber units beside the pool. The unit we had was listed as a 2 bedroom 2 bath (unit 306) but the upstairs bedroom was a open loft. Not the greatest setup for early to bed or early to rise sleepers as the downstairs noise carried easily, upstairs. The unit itself was well equipped even with beachtowels and beachchairs. The beach out front was not very suitable for swimming and rarely did we see anyone doing so. It did have a lovely open lawn with attached tenniscourts out back which were part of a city/state park. You also have a choice of horseshoes, putting green ,shuffleboard or hotub/pool to amuse you. Be warned..Wed. and Thurs. are slated for lawn/yard maintenance from 9am to 3pm and believe me you can forget about snoozing by the pool on those days..the gas powered equipment is non stop then. Even with these annoyances the price is hard to beat at $200. per nite for 4 quests on the ocean. The front staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LQQK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We had a great vacation even with the delays caused by the saturday tsunami warning. We got in really late and the weather was horrible...after a long day of traveling I wasn't expecting to be impressed because of some reviews I read. We were in a 2 bedroom 2 bath, one bedroom was an open loft to the livingroom but with only 3 of us there were no problems with that. It was very spacious and the lanai was huge with a table and chairs.

We were on the 3rd floor in the farthest building from the beach but still had a great ocean view and view of the pool area. In short, the rooms are dated, they are planning a renovation but overall there was really nothing to complain about. The kitchen and bathrooms need the most work but the furniture was nice, beds comfortable, very clean, air conditioning worked perfectly, washer and dryer, nice pool towels and everything you wouldn't think of for your comfort....such as a cooler to take to the pool or beach and beach chairs. We used the cooler everyday in our travels around the island and saved a ton of money on drinks and snacks.

The pool is small but we never had an instance where we couldn't find chairs or felt crowded. They have made the whole pool area very user friendly with an ice machine, vending machines for snacks and drinks, BBQ's, and tables and chairs. We don't play tennis but the courts looked nice. There is a ton of lawn inbetween the resort and beach, so that could be a fun area for kids. The beach is small and not swimmable but great for sitting around watching sunsets.

There is a lot of shopping nearby. After our initial travels out and about we really didn't go too far. Down the road we had great meals at Stella Blues Cafe, Fat Daddys BBQ and my husband thought the authentic Japanese restaurant Izakaya Matsu was the best food ever. I ordered some kind of fish gill and almost vomited at the table, its very authentic. There are 4 or 5 bars not too far away, karaoke at Lifes a Beach was fun, definately a locals hangout, the Dog and Duck Irish Pub had decent food, Tiki Bar was talked up but we never saw very many people there. The Diamond Bar had great music but was a very young crowd and had a weird vibe to it. A ride you need to take is out past the big expensive hotels and million dollar houses. We found a secluded beach with the nicest sand and great views, its definately a place to visit and play for the day.

Traffic to Lahaina and Kaanapali is crazy!! It took us over an hour to get there but if you can stand making the trip we love Whalers Village and always eat at Leilani's on the Beach. They have a bar down by the beach and the restaurant upstairs....we have never had a bad meal there and would suggest it to everyone. Our only activity was whale watching and we had a mom and baby circle our boat the whole time we were out there. Very fun activity during the season. Overall we had a very fun vacation and would stay at the Maui Schooner again....post refurbishment would be even better. Oh, on a side note....the average age of people there is 60ish.....not the place to go to meet young couples and definately not for singles!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddy, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Timeshare exchange. Older facilities but wonderful. Clean as a whistle. No maintenance problems. Very friendly, hospitable. Close to non-touristy shopping, restaurants. Spectacular view in every direction. Within an easy drive of everywhere but Hana.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmonomoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We booked this through Vacation Networks and we were very pleased. The location was perfect for us. The condo unit was spacious and comfortable. Our ground floor, ocean side unit was quiet in a setting that looked like a country club. Although there was no swimming from the beach here, on Maui you are never far from a free public beach. The resort provided all you needed for going to the beach - towels, chairs and a cooler! We loved it and will ask for it the next time we travel to Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagertraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Property: Maui Schooner Resort
Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing