We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taqueria Cruz

Taqueria Cruz
Ranked #61 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2008. Taqueria Cruz is a fourth & fifth generation family-owned and operated business which was first established by our great-grandparents in the beautiful Wine Country of the Napa Valley. Our family got into the restaurant business in 1951, building a warm and successful eatery from the ground up, and we are willing to bet that they never imagined all of their hard work and love for cooking would one day reach beyond the vineyards and blossom on the beautiful island of Maui. We are very proud of our family history as well as our culture, and we know you will taste the love in our food. So please come and let us share with you what they have shared with us. From our family to yours, the love and aloha of Taqueria Cruz.
2 reviews
“Great tacos”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The place is hidden on the second floor we were looking for something to eat. I had the chicken tacos, and they are one of the best tacos a had in along time reminded me of my trip to Mexico.amazing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARC12188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    52
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

There are some good restaurants on Maui that serve Mexican food and we have tried several of them. Taqueria Cruz is the best we have found. Terrific tacos, and get a side of the pinto beans. They are awesome. Priced right and the friendly staff look after you with great recommendations. I need to go back and try a burrito! Tomorrow!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarJanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local Sounds and Great Food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What I love best is the open atmosphere, BYOB, live music, and great food. Every time we stopped by there was someone singing their heart out. I know they state only weekends have live music, but that is NOT true. Maybe they just 'plan' the music on the weekends and let others just show up the rest of the time ... whatever it is, I don't care. The local musicians were wonderful to listen to. AND the food was fresh and tasty AND we didn't have to cook!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sr-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maui's BEST Mexican Food hands down!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you really like true Mexican Food, Taqueria Cruz if by far Maui's Best Mexican Food and BEST Fish Tacos on the Island. It's located at Dolphin Plaza in Kihei, but worth the drive if you are staying or living on any side of the Island and the value is great. it's BYOB and Live Music nightly.
You can follow them on Facebook and here is their contact 808-875-2910 ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is one of our favorite places to eat at on Maui. Very good Mexican food and especially delicious fish tacos. It's BYOB if you want to have a beer. Hard to find it sits in the corner of a strip mall but worth looking for. Don't miss this place if you are on Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetspeed219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing