We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Vacation Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

A group of us spent the week after Thanksgiving at the Hale Pau Hana resort--we loved it! It is a very quiet, safe resort with a real down-home feel. It is well maintained, and the staff is wonderful. ( I always got extra towel whenever I asked.) Within a few hours, we were all feeling the relaxation set in. The views were fabulous (we were in unit #26). Although the condo was just fine, I might request a different one next time (and there will be a next time!) just because the bedroom windows allowed some of the street noise to filter in. We played golf often and found it to be very reasonably priced. Not a real fancy place, but just so very comfortable, and very clean! There are many restaurants very close by from which to get excellent meals--we always just walked!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    77
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at unit #7 in summer of 2011. We rented the unit through VRBO and paid more than the going rate directly through the resort and we did not receive cleaning/towel service (resort room receive this service). The condo was so hot we could not spend time inside at all, cooking was not an option. The air conditioner in the bedroom was set so that if the bedroom door was open, the A/C would not turn on. The unit is located in the corner of the low rise building and is right next to a utility room that contains approximately 12 water heaters. This made the temp in the condo unbearable. The owners clearly spend much time in the unit as they have many built in cupboards that are locked. This left very little space for any food that we bought, clothing, or even our suitcases. The closet in the bedroom had a large locked plastic bin that took up the entire bottom of the closet and left virtually no hanging room for any of our clothes. The top of the closet was lined with locked cupboards. Unit 7 is advertised as having a bed in the main living area, which we assumed was a pull out sofa bed. This is not the case. It is a blow up mattress that is battery operated and did not work when we tried to use it. We bought new batteries thinking that that was the problem, but no such luck. There is hardly any space for anything that you may bring into this unit. We saw several other units in the low rise building which were much cooler, nicer and spacious. We would never stay in Unit 7 again.

Room Tip: This unit is so hot because of the location next to water heaters and the A/C is only in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anonymous39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senigallia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We loved our stay at Hale Pau Hana. We were in 507 and 701. Both apartments were quite nice. We had a little issue with towels -- not nearly enough for us and our two kids. Just get a little laundry detergent when you go for your food run. What I loved: the people (both the staff and the people we met), the beach, the pool, the grass and grounds, the location (close to everything), the luau (organized by HPH for all guests on New Year's Eve), the VIEW, the parking, the discount card for Foodland, the closet full of beach chairs and beach gear, and much more. We did it all while on Maui, from snorkeling, to whale watching, to the Road to Hana drive (if you decide to do the drive, stop at the Botanical garden and go all the way to the 7 sacred pools -- we loved it), to the Haleakala crater, to beach days, to shopping, etc. The only disappointment on Maui was the food -- I was expecting fresh fish at every restaurant but I wasn't very impressed. I live on the coast in Italy, and I know my fish. But Foodland had a pretty good fresh fish so we had some great meals on the lanai while listening to the waves. Heavenly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

we rented 4 rooms in the low rise for a family vacation over Thanksgiving. Beautiful views of the ocean and sunsets. Just steps from the beach. Grounds are wonderfuly kept. There is no better place on Maui as far as beach and ocean. The sell is location. So close to everything.
Condos are very small and some are in need of updating. Pictures posted make the units look nicer.
#22 is extremely nice. The other units were fine but could use some TLC. What we did notice was a few roaches in 22 and 13. And yes, 26 needs serious updating. Be sure to put suitcases up and keep things in plastic bags. #13 also had a few other problems.

Room Tip: look the rooms over carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This location is amazing in every way! We have watched whales and sunsets from our balcony every day except today. We stayed in 21 and 26. Room 21 was a little dated but the bed was new and comfy. 26 on the other hand needs some serious updating. Room has carpet in the living room and bedroom and it feels like it's been here since the building went up. Location is a 10 but scrutinize the pictures online when you're choosing for yourself. The property is also smoke free.

Room Tip: Of course the best pictures are taken, scrutinize every picture because there are some units that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed in the low rise, 2nd floor, unit number 21 and found it very comfortable. Had picked it from the website and lucky for us it was available the first week in December. The kitchen was small, but who goes to Maui to cook? Because it was an outside unit, there was an additional window over the snack bar that made it extra bright and spacious. There was a very comfortable murphy bed in the living room, which was so cool, that I had to use it and listen to the waves at night.

I hesitated at the thought of going up and down steps many times a day, since I don't do them well, but it wasn't too bad, they had good handrails, and we had guys to drag the bags up and down. Next time I will opt for a ground floor unit, it looked like fun being able to walk out on the lawn and have coffee in the morning and pretend this is mine, all mine, as far as the eye can see! Beautiful.

Every thing was nice and clean, the housekeeping ladies work hard and have some long days. Grounds are kept up nicely and there's a little guy who lines up the lounge chairs every day just so. The small pool was nice and clean and had a handicap chair lift for entrance and exit which I thought was a great thing for those that need it.

I was able to see a few other units, wow, some are remodeled and decorated beautifully. A few were pretty tired and needed some flooring and fixing. The back windows facing the street were pretty much all in need of replacing I noticed.

Used the laundry facilities down by the office and visited with Melissa one day, Nice to meet somebody you had only talked to by phone. She said we could make a reservation a year out, and we'll be ready to go back .

It was easy to go out the keyed gate and cross the street to Denny's, Moose McGillacuddy's or Fred's Mexican Restaurant. They have lots of coupons in the brochures, so pick them up at the airport, There are some down by the office and across the street too. whaler's general store is good for anything you forgot to bring and ABC store is just down the street. The bus stops across the street, take it up to the big mall at Kahalui .it's only 2 bucks for a day pass, lots of stops, but fun.

We were with a group of 4 couples, 3 couples had never been to Maui, we were able to show them places and get them doing some of the fun things that are so accessible from the Kihei area. Only missed the sunset from the lawn or lanai one evening, this place has THE best view of the sun setting and you have to hear the conch, you know you are in Paradise for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montana-Gma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at Hale Pau Hana for two nights in December 2011 and had a very enjoyable stay. First off, the hotel was probably built in the early 70's and the look of our room certainly reflected that, as it appeared the room hadn't been updated much since, in fact the bathroom was small and very basic. However, what makes up for the older decor is the view. Amazing ocean views.

My other negative is that there was no washer and dryer in the unit, although there is paid wash room near the management office. Also, the walkway goes right by the window of the bedroom so you can't open the window, or you'll hear people walking by all night. In fact, our window had been rusted shut. The only way to get fresh air into the room is to keep the door open. The unit also did not have a screen door, so we had to keep the front door fully open sometimes, which was annoying at times.

The location of this property can't be beat. Very easy access to the beach, and you can walk across the street to some great restaurants and bars. There is also plenty of parking in the parking lot, and we even had some guests visit and they had no problem finding parking.

The property seems to be very well managed and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job making sure our room was in tip top shape every day.

Finally, the pool is tiny and the water seemed like it was salt water, although I'm guessing that it was because so many people would go into the pool after swimming in the ocean. There are also a ton of chairs and chaise lounges on the lawn and pool available for guests.

Finally, it was nice to see that the unit had free Wi-Fi available, which worked very reliably.

Overall, we had a very pleasurable stay at Hale Pau Hana and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volkswankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing