We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
201
86
13
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
86
13
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice lawnacross the streetthe kitchenamazing fishlawn chairsbedroom doorliving roomnever stay anywhere elsekam iicondo resortslidersfirst floorsound of the wavesgrassy areakihei areasandy beachproperty management
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2003

We just returned from spending 3 nights at the Hana Pau Hale. What a wonderful surprise! We discovered it by simply driving past.
Breathtaking sunsets all from the comfort of your own lanai. The beach was extremely user friendly - good waves for playing, soft-sandy bottom and good snorkeling in the coves near the beach. The condo was colorfully decorated and had all the comforts of home. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced ocean-front room in south Maui. The location is central to the major highways around Maui. If you are looking for some quiet and private time, this is the place for you. As an added bonus, the concierge service is great for helping suggest and arrange excursions and restaurants. We'll definitely return to the HPH!

5  Thank TrailBlazer9721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalePauHana, Guest Relations Manager at The Hale Pau Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Mahalo for the wonderful review of your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2003

We just returned from 5 nights staying at the Hale Pau Hana, and the beach condo atmosphere was great. This place is not a resort or a hotel. Their rates for their condo's generally run about $100 less than a room at the Renaissance per night, and about $200 less than the G.
Wailea, so you are definately not paying resort prices. So what you don't get is daily maid service (they do have it every other day though), modern or fancy furnishings, or a bar and restaurant on site.
What you do get is a condo with a killer sunset view of Kamaole II beach, Lanai and Molikini, a great concierge service (that booked us everything from dinner reservations to surf lessons), a good central location for trips to Lahaina, Wailea and central Maui, and a real taste of the local Maui experience. If you want to be waited on don't stay here, pay the extra dinero and go South to Wailea, but if you want to relax and enjoy the Maui lifestyle this is the place, spend the money you save on dinners at Roy's, Nick's. and Mama's, and a day at the G. Wailea spa.

P.S. For the "authentic" local dining experience, try a plate lunch from "Da Kitchen" in the little mall across the street. Definately not heart healthy, but a true taste of Hawaii.

5  Thank Voyage20218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalePauHana, Guest Relations Manager at The Hale Pau Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Mahalo for the wonderful review of your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2003

We went to Maui for our wedding and honeymoon. After purchasing the "Maui Revealed" guidebook and doing massive amounts of research on condos/hotels, we settled on the Hale Pau Hana. Upon arrival I was suffering from a major migraine and when we walked through the door (after having to drive completely out of the way to pick up keys..can't check in at the place) I was slapped by a huge gust of HUMID AIR. The patio door was open wide but there was nothing but a crappy ceiling fan that didn't go faster than "slow" to help alleviate the heat. The only A/C available was in the bedroom which happens to be right next to the front door where you get to listen to birds and people all night long on the street. The only good thing about this place was the view. The beach was average, nothing special...no room service or amenities worth talking about. The pool never had anyone there but then again that might be because everyone who appeared to be staying at this place was a Senior Citizen. I suppose this place is fine for those who just want to be left alone and feel like they're living there and not really on vacation (read: no restaurants or perks to enjoy...unless Denny's across the street does it for you during vacation time). We decided to move out of this place after the first night there and after visiting family who were staying at the Renaissance in Wailea. Now THAT is a place to honeymoon and/or vacation at! Who wants to feel like they're at home when on vacation!? Not for us. They told me over the phone before leaving Pleasanton that the room should have a hair dryer, if not to call them and they'd deliver one. Upon arrival there was no dryer and when I called and expected to hear "we'll bring it right up" instead I got "we'll have one to you in a few days"...ummm no, I'm getting married on Saturday, I can't wait that long. The kitchen was filled with bugs all over the counters so food had to be completely sealed or put up in the fridge which didn't cool things properly (let's not even talk about the freezer). The carpet was dirty, the entrance was dirty and the king-size bed was made up of two twin beds....so no cuddling up for honeymooners allowed! What a joke...Take it from me, spend the extra $30 a night and stay in Wailea at any of the resorts.
It's worth it. You're on vacation.

14  Thank Footprints17343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalePauHana, Manager at The Hale Pau Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalePauHana, Manager at The Hale Pau Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews