We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous spot”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, Ca.
13
Reviewed 24 May 2004

Hale Pau Hana is a great spot for a vacation. First off, it is a small complex right on the beach. Ocean view, ocean front, beachside, are all the same at this place. We have stayed other places in Maui, and ocean view or ocean front can easily mean you are several hundred yards from the water. This is a great swimming beach, easy access, great for kids, calm waves. We have stayed at other hotels in Hawaii where you pay for ocean front only to find out that access to the beach requires climbing over coral or the surf is too strong.
Recommend this spot highly, if you want fine dining, Wailea is 5 minutes down the road.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2004

A 10 night stay (Jan/04) without a fault or hassle...thanks HPH!
Finally, an adult oriented facility (few little kids or rambunctious teens). Yes, its quiet but very friendly (staff, guests and on-site owners) without pretensions. The condo units in the rental pool are well displayed on the HPH website and if our rented unit (#8) was indicative of others, they are well maintained and show care & interest by the owners. The immaculate grounds and pool with immediate access to a great beach just a few steps away (no roads to cross!) rate highly with us. When you do cross the street, there's a good variety of shops and eateries within walking distance. For us, a rental car really wasn't necessary, except for initial (chain store/big box)provisioning and a couple of days of touring. "Our" beach and the next one over (a 5 minute walk) provided the sand and sea enviornment we came to Hawai'i for. Gotta luv the onsite BBQ's available to guests, "Da Kitchen" across the street, Thursday social hour(s) with local entertainment and our hostess with the mostest...Cindy. Cheers, Richard & Liz.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2004

Just returned from 9 nites at the Hale Pau Hana. Our accomodations were nice, and we even had a washer/dryer in the bathroom. The bathroom could stand to be updated, though. Location on the beach is great, but the bedroom faces busy Kihei Street, so it was a little noisy at night.
We did not need to use the air conditioner in the bedroom, but in the hotter summer months, the condo might get a little hot. If you want a great ocean view and be located close to shopping and eateries, this is fine. If you want something a little quieter and completely air conditioned, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank golf261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Plano, Texas
14
Reviewed 16 January 2004

This is my 4th stay in the last 5 years. I would not stay anywhere else when in Maui. Condo's are great-view is spectacular and the staff is wonderful. Also, it's location is top notch and the best beach around-Everyone is friendly and warm

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
O'Fallon, IL
15
Reviewed 9 December 2003

We just returned from spending 3 nights at the Hana Pau Hale. What a wonderful surprise! We discovered it by simply driving past.
Breathtaking sunsets all from the comfort of your own lanai. The beach was extremely user friendly - good waves for playing, soft-sandy bottom and good snorkeling in the coves near the beach. The condo was colorfully decorated and had all the comforts of home. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced ocean-front room in south Maui. The location is central to the major highways around Maui. If you are looking for some quiet and private time, this is the place for you. As an added bonus, the concierge service is great for helping suggest and arrange excursions and restaurants. We'll definitely return to the HPH!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
15
Reviewed 4 October 2003

We just returned from 5 nights staying at the Hale Pau Hana, and the beach condo atmosphere was great. This place is not a resort or a hotel. Their rates for their condo's generally run about $100 less than a room at the Renaissance per night, and about $200 less than the G.
Wailea, so you are definately not paying resort prices. So what you don't get is daily maid service (they do have it every other day though), modern or fancy furnishings, or a bar and restaurant on site.
What you do get is a condo with a killer sunset view of Kamaole II beach, Lanai and Molikini, a great concierge service (that booked us everything from dinner reservations to surf lessons), a good central location for trips to Lahaina, Wailea and central Maui, and a real taste of the local Maui experience. If you want to be waited on don't stay here, pay the extra dinero and go South to Wailea, but if you want to relax and enjoy the Maui lifestyle this is the place, spend the money you save on dinners at Roy's, Nick's. and Mama's, and a day at the G. Wailea spa.

P.S. For the "authentic" local dining experience, try a plate lunch from "Da Kitchen" in the little mall across the street. Definately not heart healthy, but a true taste of Hawaii.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pleasanton, CA
113
Reviewed 30 September 2003

We went to Maui for our wedding and honeymoon. After purchasing the "Maui Revealed" guidebook and doing massive amounts of research on condos/hotels, we settled on the Hale Pau Hana. Upon arrival I was suffering from a major migraine and when we walked through the door (after having to drive completely out of the way to pick up keys..can't check in at the place) I was slapped by a huge gust of HUMID AIR. The patio door was open wide but there was nothing but a crappy ceiling fan that didn't go faster than "slow" to help alleviate the heat. The only A/C available was in the bedroom which happens to be right next to the front door where you get to listen to birds and people all night long on the street. The only good thing about this place was the view. The beach was average, nothing special...no room service or amenities worth talking about. The pool never had anyone there but then again that might be because everyone who appeared to be staying at this place was a Senior Citizen. I suppose this place is fine for those who just want to be left alone and feel like they're living there and not really on vacation (read: no restaurants or perks to enjoy...unless Denny's across the street does it for you during vacation time). We decided to move out of this place after the first night there and after visiting family who were staying at the Renaissance in Wailea. Now THAT is a place to honeymoon and/or vacation at! Who wants to feel like they're at home when on vacation!? Not for us. They told me over the phone before leaving Pleasanton that the room should have a hair dryer, if not to call them and they'd deliver one. Upon arrival there was no dryer and when I called and expected to hear "we'll bring it right up" instead I got "we'll have one to you in a few days"...ummm no, I'm getting married on Saturday, I can't wait that long. The kitchen was filled with bugs all over the counters so food had to be completely sealed or put up in the fridge which didn't cool things properly (let's not even talk about the freezer). The carpet was dirty, the entrance was dirty and the king-size bed was made up of two twin beds....so no cuddling up for honeymooners allowed! What a joke...Take it from me, spend the extra $30 a night and stay in Wailea at any of the resorts.
It's worth it. You're on vacation.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.7 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#5 of 62 in Kihei
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £139 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... You’re not just meant to visit — make it your home while you’re here. Cook eggs and bacon in the morning, BBQ fresh fish and mix drinks in the evening, dine on the lawn, blow the conch at sunset. Best Beach on Maui We’re uniquely situated on Kamaole II, the best beach on all of Maui (ask around). Don’t haul everything across the street or pack up and drive — just walk over the lawn to get there. A Family Experience For many, Hale Pau Hana is a family experience. Grandparents watch grandkids swim for the first time, couples get married on the beach, then bring the kids, have family reunions. We have guests and owners who have literally been returning to Hale Pau Hana for five generations. We’re honored to be more than a place to vacation — to be a part of their family and the memories they make together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing