We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Kihei Kai Nani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kihei Kai Nani
Ranked #41 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The room was nicely decerated, it was clean and had everything we needed. Everything you would need in the kitchen, and there was coolers, boogie boards, and beach matts. Nice pool on location. Great location across from the beach, shopping and resturants close by. Great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

Unit 256 is a great condo in a great location, directly across from Kamaole II beach park - far enough from the road to be very quiet but with a nice mountain and slight ocean view. It was also situated to take advantage of the afternoon breezes, making the A/C largely unnecessary. The unit is nicely updated (not all KKN units are) with tile floors and large cabinets. Furniture, including the king sized bed, is very comfortable and all appliances and amenities (blender, coolers, boogie board, snorkel gear etc) were available. Scads of restaurants are within a 5 minute walk though we cooked in nearly the entire time. The happy hour sushi (10pm) at Sanse is HIGHLY recommended, though. You can buy groceries from the nearby Safeway relatively inexpensively if you work the sales. I would also suggest taking advantage of the small farmers market in Kihei for fruit and the Costco in Kahului for staples and excellent fish. There is a gas grill behind each building which, I have to say, was scrupulously clean and which we used nearly every night.

Both the owners and the complex were great to deal with. A minor miscommunication had resulted in our condo not getting cleaned the day we arrived (complex's fault, hey stuff happens) the manager moved us to another unit swiftly and efficiently and the owner immediately refunded that night's cost. Despite the initial disappointment and inconvenience I was very happy with the way all parties handled the situation.

Excellent value for the money and for the location. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tchristenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August of 2011. It was absolutely perfect, and we would be very happy to stay here again!

I've stayed in some condos where you arrive late at night after a long flight, only to find a quarter of a roll of toilet paper and no soap. I've actually taken to bringing tp and soap with me on the plane, just in case. Well this condo had everything we needed and more, including beach supplies, and lots of very homey touches, like coasters made with snaphots of Hawaii, guidebooks, travel CDs, and more. It really felt like staying in someone's home, not a rental unit. The a/c worked well (though we only used it once), and the location across from Kamaole II was perfect! Two minute walk to the beach, lots of restaurants and stores within walking distance, and a great home base for exploring the entire island. The Kihei Kai Nani complex is quiet and well-maintained with a nice swimming pool.

The owners, Carol and Bob, were extremely helpful and friendly. Carol always answered my emails immediately, and she really bent over backward to help accomodate our check-in schedule. She also sent us lots of great insider tips about places to visit, eat, and see on Maui.

I can't recommend this unit and these owners enough! Mahalo Carol and Bob!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank SofiaTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We wanted a to take a reasonable priced vacation to Maui and after reading the reviews of Kihei Kai Nani we decided we would try there this year. We were a bit concerned about the noise comments, but decided it would probably be similar to other complexes we had stayed inand called the rental office to book a stay. Overall the complex was great and the unit we stayed in was also great.
First the complex comments,
It is centrally located and has an excellent beach right across the street. Right next door is a couple complexes that have many different stores and restaurants. The grounds are well kept and while there is noise during the day, it was no different than we have experienced at other Hawaii complexes. There is also a large pool at the complex that was very enjoyable to use, especially in the evenings as there were not many people there at that time.
For the unit itself (#368), it had all all amenities we needed during our stay. It was well stocked with boogie boards, chairs, an ice chest, and masks/snorkels. Every time we thought about doing something, the hallway closet had what we needed. From the Lanai we had a slight view of the Ocean as well an excellent view of the West Maui Mts and enjoyed the view while having breakfast and lunch. For those interested there was a big screen TV, DVDs, and high speed wi fi in the unit, but this was a vacation so we did not use them much.
Overall the place was great and we would definitely stay in 368 again. We chose our unit because we wanted to be at the back of the complex away from potential road noise. There are other units that have direct Ocean Views, but most of those are next to the main road and we thought they might have been a bit noisier than we wanted. If you are going to Kihei Kai Nani, check the complex maps and decide where you want to stay as different units have different views and amenities. For us, the office staff was very helpful when we were booking and helped us decide what the best match was for our needs.

Room Tip: Match the unit to your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maplestrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed in unit 343 in June 2011 along with our 3 year old daughter. This unit, and the complex in general, perfectly met our expectations. We would definitely stay in the same unit, or another unit in the same complex, again.

Unit-specific pros:

- The condo was very clean
- The Lanai (patio) was sheltered from the sun and was perfect for eating meals
- There were beach mats, beach umbrellas, beach towels, sand toys, coolers, and some boogie boards available
- There was a nice library of Maui books and travel guides
- Free cable internet (but no wi-fi; bring a router if so desired)
- Unit keys were kept in a combination lock box. This was nice, since it meant you didn't have to worry about losing the keys at the beach.

Kihei Kai Nani pros:

- A great beach (Kamaole II) is just across the street
- Free parking
- Clean and pleasant pool
- Well-maintained and lush grounds

(Minor) Unit-specific cons:

- The bedroom (and only) air conditioner was noisy and ineffective. At night, though, there was sufficient airflow through the condo that air conditioning wasn't required.
- The pool has a minimum depth of 3 feet, and is consequently not well suited for small children (although, that being said, our daughter spent hours paddling around the pool in her life-jacket).

Kihei Kai Nani cons:

- If you are at all a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The birds are screaming at about 4:00AM and there is seemingly continual grass trimming and cutting during the day. Take these things away, however, and the complex is very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Elpoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed at the Kihei Kai Nani for my birthday, had never been to Hawaii before and we had a great experience. Kihei was an awesome spot right across from some of the best beaches and great snorkling. The condos were comfortable and fully stocked with everything, we saved a lot of money by grocery shopping and eating all of our breakfasts/lunches at the condo. It was an easy and fast drive up to Lahaina, Wilea and more. Each condo is different so it was nice to be able to go on the website to choose the one you like best. I have had bad experiences in hotels with bed bug issues so I always check the matresses....I did find a few spots that indicated to me that there were bed bugs so we chose to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room for the trip but it did not ruin our time at all. We stayed in room #102. MUST GO TO SEE THE HALEAKALA SUNRISE!!! No words for the experience, absolutely beautiful, a long windy road but worth it, bring lots of layers it gets cold up there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLCsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We looked for accomodation less than $150/night but without molds and bedbugs. We were lucky, we found Kihei Kai Nani! Complex conviniently situated in Kihei right across Kamaole Beach Park Two. Close to different shops and restaurants and cafes which could be reached by foot in couple of minutes. There were anything you might need in our unit (361). Fully equiped kitchen. Beach and home towels. Quality boogie boards to surf the waves. Beach chairs, umbrella and etc. Convinient and free parking. Nice landskape. BBQ facilities outside. Personell is friendly and helpfull. It was quiet, we didn't hear any noise for a week. We would defenetly come here again!

Room Tip: Take room without carpet - no smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RudeboyMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Vista Resort
Maui Vista Resort
#21 of 60 in Kihei
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Kai Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Kai Nani

Address: 2495 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8625
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £130 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kihei Kai Nani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive to Maui you deserve the best and pay the least for the best deal.........Kihei Kai Nani is just that, Best location, best deal out there for this gem in South Kihei Join our stimulus plan from $89 a night The famous book Maui Revealed has given us a gold bar value......that tells you something right there! Call us anytime, we are open 7 days a week 1 877 628 4482 Maui Hawaii Vacations or Maui Coast Condo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kihei Kai Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Kai Nani Hotel Kihei
Kihei Kai Nani Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing