We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay in D313”
Review of Kihei Akahi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Ranked #29 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Our Stay in D313”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Complex: It is nicely located at Kam2 beach with 2 restaurants & 1 deli just steps from the door.
Grounds are well maintained including 2 pools, 4 BBQ's & a tennis court.

Units are individually owned with a varying level of updates/upgrades for each unit.
We have been visiting Hawaii every couple of years since 1995 with some condo's reviewed here.
The condo unit we rented rates as one of our least desirable stays over the years.

The Unit: We booked D313. I would describe our unit as a "by the numbers" revenue property where the owner probably never visits to see its deficiencies. While none of these deficiencies are what I would call vacation ruining, I know from personal experience that there are many better units to choose from on the Islands for similar dollars.

Some of the things substandard in this unit would include:
1. Multiple 'tired/loose' electric outlets that can't support the weight of an iPhone charger/adapter.
The fridge became disconnected when we plugged the coffee maker into the same outlet by the counter. Lucky for us, nothing had spoiled as we hadn't done our grocery shop yet.

2. There's an eclectic collection of dishes clearly acquired from garage sales as almost nothing matches.
The kitchen was well equipped for preparing bowls of cereal. MacGyver skills were needed for other food prep with a pie slice server used for flipping at the BBQ until the local rep kindly dropped off a set of BBQ tongs.

3. The oven wasn't working.

4. For the first time ever, we had to empty a drip tray/tub (about 6 gal) located under the AC unit every couple of days. (see pix)

(hint: Hale Kamaole condo window AC boxes have a PVC tube drain system that couldn't be that expensive for the complex to install). This was not convenient.

5. There was no room safe in the unit.

6. We wondered if the door to the unit was secure. It looked like the door had been repaired, not replaced after obvoiusly being kicked in at some point in the past. (comforting, eh?). The door had cracks in the wood around the door knob/lock and was not tight when closed.

7. Most units in this complex have Jalousie windows.You get the pro's of high airflow when they're opened & the cons of whistling wind and noise when they're shut during a storm.
Since these windows were frosted, we were unable to see the beautiful view of the water when they were closed.
Depends on what you like....

8. A bathroom reno had been recently done. The original taps, light fixture & outlet plug were not replaced and this in my opinion shows that it was done by an owner who does only what's minimally needed to maintain the revenue.

Upon passing along suggestions to the local support rep for this unit, we learned that more updates are planned for D313 in May, 2014.

So I'd say book elsewhere until next fall.

Next year it might be worth staying in this condo, but for now, stay at another unit in this complex (good location), or choose one of many other nice units which can be had just to the south of this complex towards Kam3 which will currently give you a much better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank your for your review of Kihei Akahi. It sounds like you enjoyed the grounds, location, and amenities (pools, BBQs, etc.), but had some issues with your exact condo. Unfortunately our condo management company does not manage that particular condo so we cannot speak to the matter, but we encourage you to return to the Kihei Akahi again for a future vacation. There are many ways to view specific condos at the Kihei Akahi and put in requests to stay in those units, so you know exactly what to expect when you arrive. We hope you give the Kihei Akahi another try!
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    95
    50
    27
    26
See reviews for
82
126
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perdue
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

When we first arrived late on Jan.9th ( like after midnite) we had trouble with the security code to let us in to the condo after numerous phone calls and going through 2 different codes we were finally allowed access to our unit. The condo was nice...newly upgraded living area and kitchen. The bedroom was okay ...needs an update and the bathroom does need some work.....clean up the corners and clean the baseboards....needs a serious update. No safe, no free wifi and no a/c. We continued to have trouble with the security code until they explained to us the first one we got was just temporary,but we were never told that, also every week it changes. When we booked through our travel agent in June/13 we requested...ocean view,safe,king size bed....not one request was met. But, all in all it was a wonderful holiday and we hope to return some day.

Room Tip: check on EVERYTHING before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Mahalo for your review of Kihei Akahi. Our condo rental agency does not manage unit C-207, but it sounds like besides some communication issues (key code and requested features), you enjoyed the property and plan to return. We hope to see you at the Kihei Akahi again in the future!

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia, canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Kihei Akahi is always an excellent location. Individual units can vary and we have stayed in four to date. C-607 had some earlier poor reviews but is now excellent. We rented via Maui Condo and Car. The unit has been renovated and it does a a good view etc. Maui Condo and Car were very helpful - immediately bringing a new beach chair to replace a broken one (and we later found two other chairs at back of closet). Can recommend this location and C 607.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful family vacation. This is a very nice, well kept, close to everything rental condo. Everyone was so nice, and they had everything we could possibly need. This was our second stay and will definitely return.
The balcony had an ocean view to the right to watch the sunset and a view of Haleakala to the left to watch the sun rise. Just across the street from a beautiful beach. So much to do or nothing if you would prefer.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAndRichandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of Kihei Akahi. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental company manages there but glad you had a great stay! One piece of advice if you do plan to return for a future Christmas is to book early as this time period fills up pretty quickly!
Happy travel,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Location trumps all the pluses of this delicious condo. Perched on the 3rd floor at the shaded quiet end of the secluded 'D' building is the ocean view sanctuary. This studio waits to embrace the solo traveler or couple. It is tropics savvy with its tile floors, silent ceiling fan, and cross ventilation. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the lanai greeting Haleakala, the visually spectacular dormant volcano whose name means "House of the Sun". It is rare to find accommodations that give you an ocean view and a view of Haleakala plus those sweet West Maui Mountains. Everything offered at this condo was top notch and functioned admirably. The condo's cleanliness was superb. All photos and descriptions were accurate if a bit understated. The AC is rarely needed but the low fan setting makes a lovely white noise for sleeping in since this condo has excellent polarized double pane windows allowing the hushing of the tropical bird morning serenade. The stairs are easy and close to the condo...I prefer them for getting to and from the reserved parking space, pool and bar b q...plus the exercise is good for us. The elevators are convenient, quick, and clean. I have used VRBO for over a decade and seek out these vacation rentals that have that vital quality of hosts who genuinely care about their visitors experience. Becky and Mark embody the clarity, professionalism and kindness that make them a joy to work with. Buy your fresh fish at Eskimo Candy to Bar B Q on the poolside gas grills. Also, save money by buying your grass fed steaks at Whole Foods and searing them poolside and take them back to your private lanai for a treat of a dinner. Local farmers markets are the freshest way to experience Maui foods! When you go out to eat go straight to 808 Bistro tucked in behind Fred's next door to the Kihei Akahi...their pork tenderloin and all their Ahi and Mahi Mahi recipes are spectacular. Their soups (yes, soup In the warm tropics!) are so luscious I want to lick the bowl ;-). Oh, their breakfasts are wonderful, too. Use Pacific Whale Foundation for all your snorkel, whale watch and dinner cruises. They are convenient, well priced and truly care about these oceans and their inhabitants. The snorkeling off Kam II, the beach across the street, was fun. I also like Makenna Landing for its diverse underwater reef system, sea turtles and scenery. Maluaka Beach is great for snorkeling with sea turtles...neat fish, too.

Room Tip: Each condo owned individually...up keep varies...M & B Thorman, D-301, are superb owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueHawaii-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We rented unit D-412 in this complex and loved it. The condo was clean, spacious and had a decent view of the ocean.

You couldn't ask for a better location as it's a 3 minute walk to Kamaole Beach 2 from the condo and it's close to restaurants and anything else you need. The unit was well stocked with beach chairs, mats and towels. The kitchen also had everything you might need.

One of the best things about staying in a condo rather than a hotel is having a washer and dryer. I dislike doing laundry at home but it's nice being able to wash beach towels every couple days. On this trip we also washed all of our clothes while there so we didn't have to when we got home.

This is not a complaint but just a reminder that when you book a condo there are often extra charges such as damage protection, reservation fees, housekeeping/cleaning charges and taxes so 3 nights at $99 per becomes $491. This was how ours broke down: Rental - $297, Damage Protection - $30, Reservation Fee - $25, Housekeeping Fee - $100, Taxes - $39.

This was our first trip to Maui and we want to go back and I would definitely look into staying in this unit again. We booked unit D-412 through Rentals Maui at kathy@maui.net .

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit D412.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My Wife & I spent the 1st week in September, Unit C-208. The coffeemaker quit the first morning, a minor inconvenience to us, when I reported it a new coffeemaker showed up almost immediately. We loved the location, right across the street from one of the nicest beaches you'll ever visit. Walking distance to a couple of restaurants, and stores. Beach towels, mats & chairs, just about everything one could need. The condition of the unit was fantastic, a big Mahalo to housekeeping. If you don't already know, Maui is totally different than Oahu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
934 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#24 of 62 in Kihei
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.5 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#7 of 62 in Kihei
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Property: Kihei Akahi
Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8637
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Akahi 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Kamaole Beach Park II, this condominium complex is 1 mile from Wailea Golf Club's Blue Course, 2 miles from the Shops at Wailea, and 10 miles from the Maui Ocean Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing