We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kihei Garden Estates
Ranked #36 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at unit D203 of Kihei Garden Estates and loved it - quiet, spacious, very central, beautifully renovated/decorated and stocked with everything we could need. The large deck was perfect for breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. The pool area was lovely and we used the barbecue area several times. The beach just half a block away is a great place to watch the sun set.

We would often head to the beach or explore the island earlier in the day - and then come back to cool down and relax at the condo and pool for the rest of the afternoon/evening. Grocery and other stores are only half a block away. Kihei Gardens is a very friendly, central complex with beautiful grounds (including a huge mango tree - great for morning smoothies!) - and Cathy and Jeff are very thoughtful hosts.

We would definitely recommend this condo. Didn't want to leave...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Kihei Garden Estates
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We are a family of four that was looking forward to our stay at Garden Kihei Estates after making arrangements with the new friendly condo owner. He was very easy to deal with and seemed eager to make our stay a pleasant one. We arrived late at night after our flight got in and seeing how it was 1am back home, registered the next morning by filling out our registration card and dropping it in the drop box. We were completely caught off guard, when our first encounter with the Resident Manager was a very aggressive lecture on no glass and no smoking blurted out to my son and husband as they were entering the pool area (with their towels) to join my daughter and I in the hot tub. The aggressive behaviour continued every day we used the pavilion area where the bbq's, pool and hot tub were located. The Resident Manager was continually mumbling the fact that we were breaking the rules, My husband could not figure out which rules we were breaking. We were a family of four eating in the pavilion, the rule states if their are more than 6 people you must make arrangements for the pavilion. Another family of 4 staying at a different unit sat down beside us to enjoy their dinner and the manager came in stating we were breaking the rules. The rules were no glass, no groups larger than 6 without permission, no splashing in the pool, no cannon balls, no cell phones, & no boisterous behaviour. We tried to follow the rules but it was extremely difficult to do so when quite time was posted as 10pm and our kids were being chastised for using the pool between 4-6pm (he told them it was not their place and they needed to be quiet). We brought our plastic dishes while others in the pavilion brought glass and then we were harassed again by the manager for breaking the rules (he neglected again to state which ones). We were constantly disrupted by the Resident Manager when using the pavilion. Families are not welcome here! There are seniors that live here full time. They want quiet, and seem to be more interested in terrorizing the guests if they step foot in the pavilion other than determining whether they are abiding by the rules or not. The condo owner contacted us when we got back and we filled him in on our stay and how displeased we were. He then told us he received many violations from our stay starting with no registration card filled out at all to glass in the actual pool. Tavita Fiu the manager is a dishonest person of no character. I would not stay here again. We paid $125 a night and were made to feel unwelcome in this complex. There are more family friendly places to stay that don't mind kids giggling and having a good time.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank VeryDisappointed265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We rented a second floor unit for a good price. The unit was well equipped with beach chairs, boogie boards and sand toys. Less equiped kitchen with minimal dishes. Bugs a bit of a problem....ants especially. The dresser drawers were full of sand and scraps of paper.

The owner knew we were coming with 3 children and said it was a "great family condo". What a farce! There are signs all over the unit and pool warning that noise would not be tolerated. My kids were playing in the pool at 7:00 and we were told they were too loud. Seriously? No one else was in the pool at the time. If the owners want a quiet complex, don't allow kids!

If you're bringing kids, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phtsiliamnpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This two bedroom, two bath condo is extremely old, tired and in my estimation unclean. It is unfortunate that the owners have not kept up with modern maintenance and cleanliness as this reflects on the rest of the owners at the site.
Bedroom carpets are old and stained, when this was mentioned to the Property Management of Paradise vacations the excuse was that there had not been time to clean between the last guest and our stay, this is not recent staining, it has been there some time along with the water marks in both rooms. Needless to say I wore sandals at all times.
There is a washer and dryer in this unit, but it vents into the 2nd bedroom which is illegal, this is very unhealthy, the dryer vent was covered in lint and also top of dryer, I gathered this all together and left it were hopefully the cleaning staff will see it.
The Ensuite had a plunger wrapped in a dirty looking plastic bag sitting next to the toilet.
The hallway bathroom had mold in one corner and up on the wall a patch was showing through a paint job trying to disguise it.
The shower doors inside tracks were dirty and mold growing in them and it took two hands to move the doors sideways because of the dirt in the tracks.
The towels on our arrival in that bathroom had stains on them, that looked liked blood, which did not come out on washing.
Also in this bathroom is a toilet brush in a ceramic/plastic holder, this had not been cleaned in ages as there was a bug and dust/sand inside. Also another plunger sitting the other side of the toilet but not wrapped up!
Top of Kitchen sink tap was missing.
No instructions for anything in the condo.
No screen on main door.
We found the property manager for this condo extremely aggressive and she had the nerve to say it was how I perceived things.
The actual grounds of the estate are lovely and well cared for with pleasant garden/pool staff.
Minutes from the beach, Times market behind the complex and Azeka Market place next door with an excellent Vietnamese restaurant, the more popular beaches are just up the road.
Also recommend the Monsoon Indian at the Meniuhunee Shores and Coconut Fish Café in the Azeka market Place on the other side of the road.
On the bright side, there were three boogie boards, one swimming noodle, small cooler but no beach chairs.
One floor brush, no mop or bucket, the vacuum cleaner was half full of waste.
Lanai furniture rusting.
We have a complete set of photo’s to prove what we say.
On the bright side, there were three boogie boards, one swimming noodle, small cooler but no beach chairs.
One floor brush, no mop or bucket, the vacuum cleaner was half full of waste.
Lanai furniture rusting.
We have a complete set of photo’s to prove what we say.

Room Tip: Check with other people who have stayed there in other units
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desandbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My family rented a condo here and we loved it! It was a two bedroom and two bathroom. It had everything we needed including towels, beach chairs and mats, an umbrella, boogie boards, goggles and snorkel and a cooler. It was really clean and well maintained inside and out. The condo grounds were kept clean and the pool area is very nice. The location was perfect for us as we were away from all of the busy roads but close to the action! It is within walking distance to the grocery and drug store as well as several shopping complexes and the beach. It's only about a 5 minute drive to the best beaches for swimming and snorkelling as well! I would return to Kihei Garden Estates in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 11MeLo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have stayed in 4 different units at Kihei Garden Estates and have enjoyed all of them! Each unit had everything we needed for cooking some meals and beach equipment to enjoy all the beautiful beaches. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The pool and hot tub are delightful any time of the day, but especially after sunset. The grills are great for cooking in occasionally. The natural cross breezes along with the ceiling fans kept us comfortable in every room. The complex is within walking distance of a supermarket, good restaurants, Long's Drugs and the post office. A quiet beach is right across the street with beautiful sunsets. We love this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mauilover2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We rented C-207, which was a 2 bed/2 bath, recently renovated condo. It was wonderful and clean and very stylish. We didn't use the A/C all week as the two doors had screens and the breeze was better. We had a partial ocean view from the balcony :)
The pool and BBQ area was great! It was nice to be able to cook and swim and hang out there while preparing dinner. There weren't too many people at the property, everyone was very friendly - it seems like it's a little bit of an older crowd... no parties going on there.
It was great to have Times supermarket directly behind the complex, so convenient. I didn't find it to be overpriced at all, and a great selection of alcohol. We had a car to get around to the beaches, and this is a must.
I would return to this condo (found on Tripadvisor) anyday! Thank you Kelli!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank christine_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#28 of 62 in Kihei
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hale Kai O'kihei
Hale Kai O'kihei
#35 of 62 in Kihei
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Leinaala
Leinaala
#50 of 62 in Kihei
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#15 of 62 in Kihei
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Garden Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Garden Estates

Address: 1299 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8212
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £175 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kihei Garden Estates 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful one bedroom, one bath condo is like home away from home. The warm tropical decor immediately puts you in the 'Maui Mood'. It is located in the heart of Kihei, just across the street from the beach. It overlooks a very quiet, tropical courtyard that leads to a great pool, jacuzzi and covered barbecue area. There is a King size bed in the bedroom and a queen-size hide-a-bed in the living room and easily sleeps four with lots of comfortable seating. A 39 inch flat screen television, DVD and radio with compact disc player are there for your entertainment. The newly renovated kitchen is fully equipped with cooking utensils, pots and pans, coffee pot, blender, and toaster. If you need to do laundry while you're visiting, it's located conveniently just outside your front door. You can walk a short distance to the grocery store, post office, restaurants, church, and of course, the beach. Enjoy a morning swim in the ocean or take in Maui's spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Garden Estates Hotel Kihei
Kihei Garden Estates Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing