We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40' from the water!”
Review of Kihei Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kihei Beach
Ranked #27 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“40' from the water!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent 2 weeks in 109 on ground floor away from the pool. We could walk in-and-out to make drinks or do what ever in the condo while enjoying the lawn which was like a putting green! Sunsets were great every nite. Nice condo, clean, well furnished with all we needed and the stereo had Hawaiian music. From our bed, we could look out at night and see the stars and ocean and listen to the waves from our bedroom by the beach! Fantastic! In fact we heard the waves all the time. A canoe club is next door and provided us with outrigger rides too! Walked for miles on the beach in front. Across the street there is a Farmers Market with fresh island veggies and snacks, and an ABC store for everything else we needed.... vodka, juice, food, and gifts! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jamico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best sunset on the island.

Resort is quieter than most but not touristy.

Would go back in a heart beat.

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just spent 10 days in unit # 609 , in Kihei Beach Resort and we are already planning a return for 2015. The condo is clean, comfortable & particularly well appointed with everything you could possibly need to simply enjoy a vacation in a relaxed environment. This particular suite has an amazing large deck that we used morning, noon and night.
Daniel, the manager, is efficient, organized and responsive. This may well become an annual destination. Sugar Beach is a walkers paradise and the location of the building is great for zipping anywhere and not having to deal with South Kihei traffic.
Kudos to the owners. They have thoughtfully created a home away from home.

Helpful?
3 Thank AnnMac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

When in Kihei, watch out for sunset beach weddings with that breath taking sunset as backdrop. Very romantic !

Helpful?
2 Thank Pai78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in room 401 for a week and were pleasantly surprised. The location is in North Kihei and is approx 20 min from the airport. The condo is located on the beach with access from the back and a pristine beach for miles in both directions.

As far as the condo itself, it is on the 4th floor with a spectacular view and it is a corner room so you have windows on two sides. Unfortunately the carpet in the family room is very dated and needs to be replaced. The furniture is comfortable and the TV's are large. The only TV that works of the 3 is in the family room and is hooked up to a DVD player and a multitude of channels and even has a DVR. I wish the screen doors didn't have so many tears in them so we could leave the balcony door open or the windows, but every time we opened a door, thousands of little fruit fly things came in. If the screens were better sealed this may not have been such a big problem. We left the A/C on to avoid this although the weather was beautiful and we would have preferred to leave the windows open.

The kitchen is well stocked with a multitude of pots and pans. They also have your basic spices and oils. There is also a oven, toaster oven, and dishwasher. The rooms are sizable and the bathrooms are nice. Again, the bathrooms probably need to be updated as well, but were well appointed.

The location is across the street form an ABC store which sells your basic groceries in addition to beer and wine. There is also a bakery that sells amazing pastries in the am, but you have to get there super early or they sell out. They are very pricey though. The farmers market is across the street too and sell fresh fruits, vegs, bread, bagels, and salsa on the weekdays. The ice cream (shaved Ice) place across the street is also to die for.

Overall, love the location and the access to the beach and small shops. I just wish we didn't have so many bugs, screens were fixed, and the carpet replaced with hard wood or tile.

Helpful?
3 Thank Desi_traveler_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fabulous condo - we had a main floor condo right on the ocean. Location could not have been more perfect. No packing up to take kids to the beach - just out the lanai door across the perfectly groomed lawn and there was the beautiful sugar beach. Highly recommend Kihei Beach Resort.

Helpful?
5 Thank BobandGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Birthday/Christmas trip December 2013
originally I had booked down by Kam 1 south Kihei family events changed that and I am so grateful they did. Having a condo right ON the beach with a beautiful ocean view was just perfect. SO many amazing sunsets. I stayed in #503 and every sunrise I could sit on the deck and watch the outrigger canoes come out which was really cool. The condo was clean and comfortable. The bed was super comfy and the shower was gorgeous. TV and DVR items were a little old but who goes to Maui to watch TV? Not me. I brought my ipod and used the MP3 stereo which was nice to play Christmas music on Christmas day. Nicely decorated and stocked with kitchenware and beach items. The door was a little hard to unlock so I just ended up using the key in the lock box on front of the door which worked out nicely as I didn't have to worry about losing keys. The ocean waves at night are so loud that you can even leave the sliding glass door shut and the A/C on and still hear the waves to sleep to. The beach was a nice walking beach. Being north of Kihei actually worked out nicely. Closer to Lahiana, closer to Paia for Mama's Fish House ( a must) and closer to the road to Hana. Going to South Kihei where the big resorts are and nicer beaches was only a 15 minute drive. I would highly recommend this location and condo. The owners even left me my own copy of Maui Revealed which was such a nice book and such a great help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PCSkibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#24 of 62 in Kihei
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#28 of 62 in Kihei
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Beach

Property: Kihei Beach
Address: 36 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8825
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kihei Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Beach Hotel Kihei
Kihei Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing