We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for a short hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge

Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #15 of 56 things to do in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice for a short hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Refuge has a nice boardwalk to get exercise and learn many hints about Maui. There are many info stations along the way to tell you about the flora and fauna of the area. You can make it a short or long walk, it is up to you. And the price is right. It is free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mgnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    78
    31
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Although my partner and I are not big birdwatchers, we do enjoy learning about local wildlife. At first we went to the boardwalk, but there was not much to see other than a couple of Hawaiian stilts. We did enjoy walking back to the parking lot via the beach. Next we drove to the Visitors Centre just a short drive away. A volunteer at the center gave a short, informative talk (learned some interesting facts), then we drove out to the ponds. The paths between the ponds were quite muddy, unfortunately, but we did see many stilts, coots and other birds. Note: wear good walking shoes to see this portion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take bug spray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

There are two parts to this - the boardwalk along the shore, and the office and ponds on the other side of the big pond. If you're a birder, you'll see lots of birds. For the ponds near the info center -you'll need bug spray. Trust me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Guidosmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Important Ecosystem and some Education”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Boardwalk along Kealia Pond with narrative displays about wildlife and importance to Maui and other islands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not the first thing to do in Maui”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The place is nice, and we actually saw a lot of birds but when we've been there actually there was no one to ask information. You'll have to walk to the pond to see the birds from the information centre. We've been in Maui three times, and we went there the last day of uore third time on the isle, so actually this is not the first thing to do that I'll reccomand to do.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing