We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

S & Q's Shave Ice and Coffee
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the shaved ice on top of vanilla ice cream. My only complaint is they close at 6pm. A small portion is huge, and for $4 it is great value for what you get. A must do while visiting Kihei.

Helpful?
Thank VancouverJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    52
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good, overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This is slightly nicer than a food stand. It's essentially a covered stand, serving drinks, shaved ice, smoothies, milkshakes etc. Everything we tried was good. Interesting flavors for the shaved ice, very sweet though, but I liked it. They had particularly good milkshakes, would recommend the chocolate with Kona coffee beans and another with Macadamia nuts and coconut. If you are looking for a sweet snack and are nearby, I would give it a try. I'm giving four stars because they are overpriced. Seven dollars for the large milkshake, 5.50 for the large shaved ice. A bit much for what it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Favorite spot for shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good vaue, our kids love to come here several times during our annual Spring break trip- its tradition. Get the icecream on the bottom!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NWwineseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is just a small stand but worth the stop. My husband and I both got the shaved ice with vanilla ice cream on the bottom, sharks blood flavoring on the ice which is strawberry and coconut and haupia on top which is coconut cream. It is so delicious! They have so many flavors to choose from but this has become our favorite. The shaved ice is so fine just like it should. Some places the blade isn't sharp enough and the ice is more like a snow cone. Avoid these places. This is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skatergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Local Business.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the only privately owned coffee stand I know of in Kihei. Over the years I've watched this place grow offering more & more each season. The staff is very friendly and the offerings are very good. It' a nice place to meet and talk with other travlers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S & Q's Shave Ice and Coffee also viewed

 

Been to S & Q's Shave Ice and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing