We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only completely gluten-free restaurant on Maui”
Review of Maui Brick Oven

Maui Brick Oven
Ranked #35 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This restaurant is 100% Gluten Free! We serve pizza, pasta , salads, fish & chips and more. Open for dinner 6 days a week. No worries about cross contamination if you have gluten issues.Good food for everyone, even if you don't have to eat gluten free!
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The only completely gluten-free restaurant on Maui”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Maui Brick Oven is the only completely gluten free restaurant on Maui. Some other restaurants have a few gluten free choices, but here the entire menu is gluten free. The owners are a family that needs gluten free food, so they know how to carefully choose and prepare it. And the food is good, whether you need to avoid gluten or not.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    70
    27
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best gluten-free restaurant!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Looking for a great gluten-free meal? Everything at the Maui Brick Oven is tasty, beautiful, and wonderfully made! The staff are lovely and friendly people. Support this wonderful business!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iqaluit
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We don't have gluten issues, we just wanted a nice meal. We certainly got that. My wife had the mango chicken, I had a chicken parm. Both were delicious, and a nice break from some of the mediocre places we've tried so far on Maui. Plus, the family who run the place are great. Super friendly and the service is perfect. We'll probably have to go back to try the pizza later this week.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Transmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GLUTEN FREE FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This little place is where you need to go multiple times if you are celiac. My daughter felt that since most people in there were celiacs, there should be a restaurant group hug. The owner heard her say that and came and gave her a hug. This is personal people. Zero contamination bc there is nothing from the bad list in here - go ahead, share drinks, share napkins, share food - doesn't matter. All safe. And things you can't normally get, like onion rings, chicken fingers, deep fried cheese sticks.
Open from 4-9pm. They also do take out and their daughter will give you some pretty stellar tourist info in you ask. (be forwarded - she likes adventure!) Family owned and operated - and it shows.
BYOB. Any celiac or gluten intolerance - this is the place to be.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Havekidswilltravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Gluten Free”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having read all the reviews, you know by now that this restaurant is G.F. We had the Polynesian Passion pizza. O.M.G. Best G.F. pizza we have ever had. Even if you are not G.F. or celiac you will love their pizza crust.
My wife has celiac, and she was so excited that everything in the restaurant is G.F. and no cross contamination. My wife even came back another evening and had the fish & chips, she said that it was awesome as well.
Very nice friendly staff and run by a G.F. family. Try this place and you will Love it. Highly recommended. I believe it is in the plaza with a Long's drug store.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFamily2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maui Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing