We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tacos - Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horhitos Taqueria

Horhitos Taqueria
Ranked #41 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
190 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great Tacos - Great Value”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a local hangout that has great food and service. it is a food truck that is parked right across from the park. Small shaded area to sit with about 8 tables that set four each. Best time of the day is to go for lunch. Fast and friendly service. Not an expensive place for families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    49
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food Truck”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Like everyone else we had great tacos for between $2 and $4 depedning on the type. The set-up is more of a food cart (not mobile, has seating connected to it) than a food truck and if you don't go in a peak lunch time you should be able to get 2-4 seats. Otherwise, it is right accross from a park where you could enjoy the meal. This probably was the best value we ever found in Maui.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You'll never be the same!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I checked the reviews before we visited Kihei, and couldn't believe that a taco truck could be one of the best places to eat on Maui. I'm here to tell you, it is true! haha. Sadly, we didn't make time to try Horhitos until we were down to 3 days left in our trip. Well, we ended up eating there for 3 meals in a row after that! haha. My husband LOVED the shrimp tacos, and would buy 5 at a time. I got a few chicken tacos at $2 each and they were great. But the best for me was the chicken wrap, which came with a huge side of Caesar salad. The cheapest meal we had on Maui, and also the most delicious! Do NOT miss it! It's a little hard to spot, but it's right beside the 76 sign for the gas station. They do have some outdoor seating (obviously none indoors), but we always got ours to go and took them back to our condo. It was exactly 1 mile from the Kihei Kai Nani complex.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great fish tacos”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

was very tasty, and very reasonable, tried the fish and shrimp tacos, both great, better than we had at a couple of more expensive places.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sharAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best tacos - Horhitos!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best tacos I have ever eaten.

Everything is so fresh and made to order!

We've eaten here 6 out of our 7 days in Kehei. I would highly recommend the Maui special which includes mango salsa but if you're not a fan of seafood. You can get chicken, pork, and steak tacos as well - order a side of mango salsa for $1, you will not be disapointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ambermclaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horhitos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Horhitos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing