We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Da Kitchen

Da Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Tried this out last weekend. Food tasted good, though not amazing. Having eaten at real hole-in-the-wall Hawaiian plate lunch places, this was satisfying. The prices weren't outrageous, the staff was friendly, and the restaurant was clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    473
    178
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value yummy Hawaiian food”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went here on our first day in Kihei as we were looking for a quick lunch. The value was amazing, and the meals were huge. The Kahula pork was awesome the first time, but the second time (we went back there for dinner on our last night) it wasn't as good. But all in all the food was yummy and the meal size was huge. You'd be able to easily share one of the plate meals, making it a very cheap meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Island gem”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

In a strip mall. If you do not know where it was you could miss it. Excellent island food. Ate there for lunch n dinner. Did not like the fact there was no bathroom in. The restaurant . We had to go out the building and up stairs

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewer, Maine, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real Hawaii experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This is a rather small restaurant, not much seating...but was ok. The fish tasted great. And the three meat combo, you could get at least three meal's out of it, moist and tons of flavor.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Went to the express in Kihei, I believe there is a bigger one near the airport. The express is really designed for take out, though you can in theory eat inside, but there isn't much to the space. The food is good overall. They serve traditional Hawaian favorites, like teriyaki chicken, Katsu chicken, etc. The one complaint with the food is that the shredded pork is waaaay too salty, needs to be changed. Otherwise, I quite enjoyed it. Big portions, though not huge. The entrees are about 13 dollars. I would definitely recommend for a simple meal at home. Friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing