We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Thai food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Thai Bistro

Maui Thai Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Maui Thai Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic yet contemporary Thai Dining in a clean, relaxed environment.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The flavors are amazing. I had pan seared Ahi Ahi with macadamia nuts in Masaman curry. Restaurant appears very clean and well lit. Easy to get a table. A little pricey. Service was a little slow, but nice staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCCCCCCCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    174
    52
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent classic thai food. The restaurant was hard to find, at the end of a shopping lane. However, it was worth the effort. Qe visited it twice, and tried many dishes. We particularly liked the beef salad, the coconut lemon soup, with fresh kaffir lime leaves and galanga, and the choices of curries. There is no need for doggy bags, as you will finish your plate. BOB., check for two $70.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank longtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului-Maui
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great New Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a great lunch today. Good ethnic food is scarce on Maui, but the Maui Thai Bistro is the exception. We had beef satay with peanut sauce, pad thai with shrimp, coconut milk soup with chicken and thai ice tea. All was excellant. The meal for two was a little pricy for lunch at $50, but the friendly wait staff made up for it with their attentiveness. We live locally, so we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very, very good Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Maui Thai Bistro opened at the beginning of October & took over the old Thai place. The reviews before October do not reflect this amazing new restaurant.
My SO & I would drive from Lahaina to Hana just for this chef's wonderfully flavorful cuisine. So glad it's closer to us now.
Staff is friendly & attentive. Ambiance is clean, comfortable & uncluttered. Food is very, very good! Spring & summer rolls are yummy with great dipping sauces. My SO loved the Drunken Noodle dishes. My favorite dishes are the Tom Kha soup with chicken & the Panang Curry with mahi mahi! Flavors are bright & tasty.
I would recommend this new place to anyone who loves Thai food! We have already been twice in three weeks!
Will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Mauigirl638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Incredible food, good prices, friendly staff and would definitely revisit before leaving Maui.....and that's in 5 days lol. We started off with shitake spring rolls and the samosas and I had the drunken noodles with shrimp and my wife had the pad Thai with chicken, everything was to die for. So if you're in Maui an craving Thai then this resto is the way to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank G_star09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maui Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing