We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great meal at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaka Sandwich & Pizza

Shaka Sandwich & Pizza
Ranked #93 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great meal at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After several days of eating out we were craving pizza and subs! Shaka Pizza sounded good so we decided to go for dinner. We ate on the patio - not fancy but convenient. The pizza was done in a reasonable time and it was delicious. Several days later we were having a friend for dinner and I suggested we take out pizza from Shaka. Again the pizza was great and we also added a cheesesteak to the order which we shared. Food was good - service was good! I definitely would recommend this pizza place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksrakowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    87
    43
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below par pizza with rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We went there thinking of trying local pizza instead of nearby Pizza hut and the native lady at the counter asked us what we want but suddenly phone rang and she started taking order on the phone forgetting completely about us and it literally took 4 mins before she was finished. After she was finished she did not even show any shred of courtesy to say sorry to keep us waiting or anything. After we ordered ,again it took another 5 mins and people who ordered after us received their order before us. So I went to the counter to see what happened to our order and she rudely pointed towards the slices that there lies your order not even looking up again no courtesy whatsoever. I was hoping the great taste will compensate for the rude behavior but it was just ok very bland and you need to put a lot of seasoning to make pizza somewhat flavorful. I would go to Pizza Hut and avoid rude service and disappointing taste

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank penndesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Laid Back Kihei Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice while in Kihei working on our condos. The pizzas are very good, and they have 3-4 of them by the slice which is nice if you are in a hurry or by yourself or everyone wants something different. Lots of locals and less tourists which I think of as a good thing in the Maui food scene.

The streetside patio is nice and kid friendly.

All in all, you won't be disappointed here. Not a 'destination' restaurant, but a great choice for some pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank btiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware City, Delaware
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Decent NY-style pizza, not great, not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Crust, cheese, and toppings were good, but the sauce was bland. We had a choose-your-topping pizza (garlic, jalapeno, and pineapple--a good combination). Good seating on the patio. We have true NY pizza frequently and this fell short of the hype, and would only go again if we were in the area and really wanted pizza. We have never found great NY pizza in Hawaii.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dakine Hawaiian Grinds!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This pizza shack on the strip serves up some really fine pizza!! Service is great, outside seating is a bonus, and the pizzas are enormous!! Subs and other food served here all are very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaka Sandwich & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shaka Sandwich & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing