We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all-around experience for early lunch”
Review of Cafe a la Plage

Cafe a la Plage
Ranked #51 of 179 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic all-around experience for early lunch”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We dropped by for lunch yesterday. Wow, everything was just fantastic! We ordered panini's. The goat cheese, roasted red pepper, tomato was dynamite! The leek soup was de-lish. Everything was served on ceramic plate & bowls with stainless flatware. (I appreciate their efforts to not trash Maui with high-impact foam clamshell 'plate lunch' containers.) Proprietors were working with their staff and were very attentive. They brought water for our pooches. They serve FRESH SQUEEZED OJ. I can't name another place in Kihei that offers fresh juice. They serve their offerings with a choice of salad or chips. Salad is fresh and lovely perfectly dressed with a dijon vinaigrette. They are located across from Kam I beach park, and have indoor and outdoor seating. What a great spot! Why haven't they been on my regular list?? They'll be making the weekly list from now on!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good panini & cafe au lait”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Owned & operated by a native of France (Brittany), it's quaint & good. We had breakfast paninis & cafe au lait, all of which were freshly prepared. In the heart of Kihei, it's convenient & good. We would eat there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tx10sGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm breakfast done the way I like it!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Breakfast bagels with eggs and all the fixings. We loved the Baby Beach and Big Beach bagels! Great spot to stop in while you wait to for the paddle board rental shop next door to open up. Great coffee too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I shared the special. She had the chicken veggie soup and I had the turkey, brie, pesto and tomato panini with a light side salad. The flavours were subtle but intentional. The coffee was perfect. I could have sat there all afternoon! Highly recommended. And for what you get, affordable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Owners who care”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a great place - and we are sorry we didn't discover it until the end of our trip. The two owners actually work behind the counter making sandwiches, greeting customers and saying hello to all of the locals who frequent this establishment. Their Panini sandwiches are fantastic. If you want a great breakfast and/or lunch for a good price, and a friendly atmosphere - don't miss this place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRIPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe a la Plage also viewed

 

Been to Cafe a la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing