We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As It Was”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waiohuli Beach Hale
Ranked #29 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Over the past few years we have stayed there a few times. Each time has been a little less desireable. We stayed in Unit #221(upstairs, somewhat near the pool). There was a large group from Colorado(numerous units)staying at the location, and they acted like they owned the place(loud and obnoxious). The area is also less desireable. Saint Theresa"s Catholic Church is directly east of the units and parking areas(separated by some shrubbery). Daily at approximatelt 5:00-5:30 P.M. the church has a free meal for the homeless/vagrants, etc.)They are all around the location, and start arriving into the area in the midle/late afternoon. They must come from everywhere on the island, and many of them are at the very least filthy. They also hang around the "life" market(used to be the "star"market, directly north of the church. So be aware, if you are walking in the area in the late afternoon and early evening. Probably a very good idea to keep your rental cars locked. Anyhow, the area is just not what it used to be, and it's a shame.

Room Tip: Must be better units that #221
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank MYSTERH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed in 223. Redone with amazing kitchen.Beautiful view of sunset since it's on the second floor. As nice of view as u will find.

If you have kids please don't stay here,no matter how well behaved your kids are you will feel unwelcome. Rules for kids are enforced strictly and rudely, but for owners and older people they are non existant.

I do think they want it to be a 55 plus condo but can't do it .

As mentioned earlier by other guests, some condos are remodelled,and some are in dire need. Do your research.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mauicanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This review is really late however I still wanted to write one. My husband and I stayed at the Waiohuli Beach Hale for our wedding at the end of November. We had approx 20 of our friends and family staying there with us. Now the location of the condo is wonderful. Right on the beach, within walking distance to grocery store, shops and resturants. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset. The grounds were very clean and there was always someone looking to improve the looks of the grounds. Our condo itself was very nice. Very clean and up to date. All of our guests loved their condos as well. Great value at only $99.00 a night. Please be aware that you can not really swim at the beach......and there is a ton of seaweed that comes up on the beach that just sits there in the sun and stinks. So when you go for a walk down the beach beware of tons of gross seaweed. But that is just a little thing. There are tons of beautiful beaches just up the road from the condos.
Now the really bad thing was that this place was very, very quiet and most of the condo owners are older and do not like young ppl having a good time. And the grounds keeper/manager was a really big jerk to all of our guests. Always after them to be sure they were not breaking the "pool rules". And the sum of the pool rules is that you can sit around the pool and maybe step inside for a swim. You can not have anything at the pool side. No drinks....nothing. However, I must note that once all our guests were gone and it was just my husband and I the condo owners would always "break the rules". And the manager never said a word. We were not a loud crazy group of young teenagers.....a small group of adults ages 30-55. And we are very careful not to bother anyone. However just talking or having a raido on seemed to bother the owners of the condos. I really can not see how a family with children could stay here. Anyways, great value for you money if you are ok with tons of rules and not talking or laughing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weLuvtotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed in Unit 101A. The owner of this unit is great. He stopped by to see if everything was okay. There was a welcome basket for us when we got there. Everything we needed was there. We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkerbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We got a great price on our rental so I wasn't sure what to expect, pulling into the complex I was a little nervous. It doesn't look like much from the parking lot but once we stepped inside we were happy with our choice. The condo was super clean and the grounds are very well taken care of. For the price I wasn't expecting the common areas to be so nice. The pool was great and the garden area is beautiful. You can tell they really want to keep the grounds in the best shape possible. For the price it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MomWhoLovesTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I have stayed at the Waiohuli many times and in various different condos. Some are nicely appointed and some are in need of upgrades that the owners could only be called cheap in not providing (I'm thinking specifically of a couch on the ground floor of the North building. You know who you are.)
I love the location of this complex.
Firstly, it is on the ocean so a nice leisurly ocean stroll is just outside. Also, there is a nice shopping complex next door that is complete with just about everything you'll need. There is even a McDonald's just up the road on the way out of town towards Lahaina that is handy for the early morning breakfast stop on your way to your snorkelling trip in Lahaina.
Also to mention is that Kihei rent a car is within walking distance. They will either rent you a car from their home base in Kihei or they will pick you up at the airport with advance notice at no extra charge. Kihei car rentals also offers a few "ugly duckling" cars for rent at a reduced price for those of you who don't want to troll around Maui looking like a tourist. I try to keep my $ local and rent from Kihei rent a car. They're nice people, check out their website.
As for the "feel" of the Waiohuli, the grounds are immaculately kept and the pool is always clean. The complex is quiet with many of the occupants being people who live in their condos. The laundry room is always handy and you'll find books free books there to read there as well.
Condo units that stand out in my memory that I have stayed in are # 205 which is on the second floor at the end of the North building and is a nice, quiet place to stay. But the best at Waiohuli is # 227. It directly faces the beach at the end of the South building, is very nicely appointed, and is quiet. 227 is worth the extra money in my opinion. If you don't want to splurge, go for # 205.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisyfl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Condo was right on the beach. Grounds were beautiful and conveniently located. 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit was very spacious and the kitchen had all the necessities. Decor was outdated, but the unit was clean. Overall this was a great value and nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MerWineland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,192 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#2 of 60 in Kihei
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
977 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 60 in Kihei
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiohuli Beach Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiohuli Beach Hale

Address: 2463 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7285
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Waiohuli Beach Hale Hotel Kihei
Waiohuli Beach Hale Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing