We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Aloha! My husband & I stayed in the beautifully decorated cottage. The cottage had everything we could possibly need to have a stellar vacation, & that we did! Lots of fun in the sun equipment for the beach, & yet we could stay "home" in comfort & enjoy all the amenities. (we even bar-b-qued!) We thoroughly enjoyed the warm muffins or breads, served with a huge variety of fruits (many of which we'd never tried before) provided for us every morning on delightful dishes by Susan! Our breakfast magically appeared out on the lanai. This little piece of paradise, with apple-bananas grown on site, is a place we plan on returning to! We highly recommend this peaceful getaway!
Mahalo for everything!
Tom & Barb
PS Chuck had all kinds of helpful hints on what to visit & where to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Barb_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazy72, Manager at Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Ke aloha nō! I'm so glad you stayed with us and thank you for this incredibly nice review. Ho‘ohihi ka mana‘o i ka nani o Maui! E hele hou mai nō. Kāu kauā ha‘aha‘a, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

While this is a bit more of a home stay than a true B&B, the friendly owners of this house have really thought about everything to make your stay perfect. To start with, this residential house sits high above the Kihei part of Maui. It is convenient to just about every part of this side of the island, but you will definitely need a car to get to/from town or the beach (both about 5-15 minutes away). The guest rooms are located in the lower level of the house and each have a separate entrance from the driveway/parking area. My one and only issue with this setup is that you will occasionally hear the owners as they walk around upstairs, especially early in the morning. Beyond that, this place really is a perfect place to stay on Maui. Consider some of these benefits: fresh fruit from their own garden, warm homemade banana/macadamia nut bread (delicious!), self-serve fresh picked bananas available any time (see photo), fresh macadamia nuts (see photo: if you can crack them, you can eat them), free DVD library (see photo), free body boards/beach towels/beach mats (see photo), free snorkel gear, free use of laundry/dryer/clothes line and a great memo board with all kinds of good local information (see photo). The rooms also include a small kitchen with all kinds of kitchen appliances and utensil to self-cater just about anything. Breakfast is included and served on the garden patio, which is a wonderful place to enjoy your meal. The rooms are nicely decorated with a Hawaiian motif and, again, have just about everything you need. The beds and bedding are very nice and comfortable. The bathroom was average size, but was still clean and well laid out. Overall, this is like staying at a really small all-inclusive resort and is just a great place to stay for any length of time when visiting Maui. The owners are great, the rooms are great and it was a great overall experience.

Pros: everything

Cons: not near the beach

Note: be careful, the hot water out of the tap is scaldingly hot!

Note: if you do not like cats, be sure to keep your bedroom door closed. Otherwise, the very sweet and friendly house cat (Mike) will walk in and make himself at home on the chairs or on the bed. I think he will even sleep with you if you let him!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazy72, Manager at Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Ke aloha nō! We are both happy that you enjoyed staying on Maui at our modest B&B. Thank you for this very nice review. Nani ka maika'i! Mi‘i noho‘i ‘o Maui! Me ka pono, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Located in a quiet neighborhood in Kihei, Maui, Hale Huanani (House of Beautiful Fruit) is as close as you can come to the perfect B&B. Susan and Chuck Hardy are your quintessential host. Chuck maintains a beautiful half acre garden which supplies much of the fruit served at breakfast. Susan, if not running the B&B could be a professional baker. Her muffins and breads are to die for. We stayed in the guest cottage because I like to cook. It has a well appointed kitchen, comfortable living room, bed room, and patio to sit out on and enjoy meals or just veg. Centrally located to the beaches of Kihei, Weilea, and Mekena it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_W_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a wonderful place! Clean. Convenient. Extremely hospitable and warm. Great food. Susan and Chuck strike an excellent balance between being helpful and respecting your privacy. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stated in the cottage and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wife2SMIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in the cottage over Christmas 2013. The B&B is conveniently located in Kihei – it’s only a 5 minute drive to restaurants, shopping and the board walk in Wailea. The hosts provided helpful information on beaches in the area. The little “extras” are very nice- snorkel equipment, coolers, body boards, so you won't need to pack any of these things for yourself.

Unfortunately, I felt this accommodation truly fell short of excellence. Keep in mind that there is not daily room service, something which I've come to expect from a B&B is that I should not have to change my own towel or take out own trash. I was told that there would be a washer dryer for the cottage; however the washing machine was broken upon arrival. While this isn't the end of the world, it’s an inconvenience when you pack planning on it.

The water tank primarily heats on solar, but it wasn’t working properly. During our stay, the temperature of the water didn’t exceed 78 degrees on most mornings, so be prepared for a cold awakening. Possibly well-meaning, the hosts suggested that I shower in the utility room in the main house. Sorry, but for $170/night, I expect a shower in the room.

If you have cat allergies, you should be aware that the cat will lie on all of the outdoor furniture and is constantly hanging around the cottage. The breakfast includes homemade pastries and fresh fruit however it is very light... a couple pieces of fruit and a croissant does not hold me over till lunch.

If you plan on preparing meals in the cottage, be aware that you can really only count on salt and pepper. We requested to check-out 90 minutes late – unfortunately, the hosts were unable to accommodate with no compromise. The carpet in the bedroom was constantly wet in the doorway to the bathroom, which I can only assume is from an unresolved leak. In addition, I thought it was very unusual that the hosts completely avoided us for the last three days of our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 12 days in the Niu studio and it was just GREAT.

Hale Huanani is located just a short drive from bustling shops and restaurants of Kihei in a quiet neighborhood.

Our studio was well equipped with all you need and even more (we didn´t use the TV or DVD-Player) - even toothbrushes were provided.

What we didn´t expect and what really blew our mind was the beach gear and the real good quality of masks, fins and snorkels etc. Even beach-chairs and mats as well as cool boxes are provided. All this stuff you don´t take with you if you´re travelling halfway around the world.

Breakfast was served right outside the studion on the patio every morning (fresh fruits and delicious home-made pastries).

You can get daily updates on what´s going on and what to do from the information board and we really enjoyed the mac-nut-cracker on the book-shelf :-) - yeah, the book shelf. There´s a variety of literature about the island(s) and a bit of everything.

We really liked the hospitality of our hosts - always ready to give you a hint if you need one but always respecting your privacy.

Would I come back? Yes, for sure!
Would I recommend it? Yes, for sure!

Mahalo for sharing your piece of paradise with us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pea-nui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazy72, Manager at Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Aloha aku iā ‘oe! We very much appreciate your wonderful review. E ‘olu‘olu ‘oe e hele mai hana hou! Me ka ‘oia‘i‘o, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Mai'a Studio at Hale Huanani for 3 nights of our 9 night trip to Maui and wished we'd been able to stay here throughout.



Our experience was without fault and thus thoroughly deserves a 5 star rating across the board.

 Given we were staying during the peak holiday season it was also great value.

Our immaculate room was beautifully furnished and contained a queen bed, a large corner sofa, a well equipped kitchenette and a neat bathroom with a great shower. Wifi, cable TV (not that we turned it on) and a DVD player. 



The freebies that came with the room however really made it stand out - Susan and Chuck really have thought of everything
- beach gear: boogie boards; snorkels, masks and fins; beach mats and chairs, cool boxes etc.

- plenty of towels (room and beach)

- a gallon of juice and some snacks to get you started, not to mention the fresh bananas and a huge bowl of mac nuts! 

- audio tour CD for the road to Hana, "Maui Revealed" guide book (highly recommended)

- the regularly updated "whats on" information board

- washer and dryer facilities

Our studio was on the ground floor at the end of the house and farthest from the quiet residential road, and felt very private and secluded. The gardens here are a joy and well worth a tour, and the birdlife makes for a great spectacle and a fantastic dawn chorus.



The breakfast was laid out on one of our two patio tables each morning and consisted of fresh fruits (usually from the garden) and some delicious baked goods (often home made).



But best of all was our hosts’ hospitality and advice on where to visit and where to eat. 



An absolute gem - and a massive two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james-smith-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazy72, Manager at Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

‘Ano ‘ai 'oukou! Thank you for this very generous review. That you enjoyed yourselves enough to take the time to write this means a lot to us. Ō uhaele mai hana hou? Hā‘awi ‘oe i ke aloha, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
0.1 mi away
Jasmine House Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

Address: 808 Kupulau Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9231
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: £111 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in a very quiet, safe, residential neighborhood in south Maui where average rainfall is 12-1/2 inches per year. We are only a 5-minute drive to the closest beach (Keawakapu Beach) and a 5-minute drive to the most beautiful outdoor world-class shopping mall on Maui (The Shops at Wailea). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Huanani Hotel Kihei
Hale Huanani b&b
Hale Huanani Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing