We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We were struggling with writing a good review because we want to keep this place for ourselves;), but here we go. The house is situated in older, well established “Maui Meadows” –oases in the dry area of the island, 5-10 min to the nearest beach, Safeway or other shopping, etc. The area is very quiet (no wild parties here!), not touristy, excellent for early morning walks (you’ll be waken up by birds songs on sunrise), where you’ll be greeted by friendly neighbours walking their dogs. The accommodations are not new and shiny but very clean and surprisingly roomy – there is plenty of storage, a space with the living room like area with comfy sectional and a TV. If the shutters are open, you can live practically outside in the garden but protected by screening. There are NO bugs there (We’ve met couple renting $250 a night cottage at Hana full of bugs). We didn’t need air-conditioning and at night it was even a little cool. The kitchen is separate and compact. It is stocked with all you might need and little extra. The little extra also includes coolers, beach towels, bags, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and plastic containers to pack your lunches/snacks. In addition to freshly backed muffins/breads and fruits for the breakfast, we were invited to pick fresh avocado, star fruit and plenty of macadamia nuts every morning. Michael the smart and sweet cat patrols the garden at night. If you like cats, he’ll keep you company and guard your refrigerator for a small fee ;)(some treats are appreciated). The garden is work in progress, as it usually is. We had our privacy but Susan – our hostess was always available. We loved the place and hope to comeback one day and maybe with our family or friends (there is additional studio – same as our – available for rent).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

We want to thank Susan again for making our honeymoon in Maui exceptional. Everything we needed was provided, including delicious homemade breakfast every morning! Such a perfect location in South Maui, just a couple of minutes from anything. The property was beautiful and we loved Big Kitty. He was a nice comfort while being away from our cats. This has to be the best lodging deal in Maui. We will be back as soon as we can. Mahalo Susan, we wish you the best! Until we meet again, ALOHA!
-Patrick & Jessica Ely
Dallas, TX

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasElys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I recently returned from two and a half weeks in Hawaii and had the pleasure of staying at the Hale Huanani B and B for four nights. The B and B is located in a quiet, upscale residential area on a hill in Kihei, approximately a half hour from the airport Maui airport. We were very delighted to discover that our "room" consisted of a spacious bedroom/ living room area attached to a well stocked kitchenette. Susan, the owner is very knowledgeable about the area and was able to steer us towards good snorkeling sites, hikes and local shopping. There was lots of beach gear available to borrow - towels, cooler bags, beach chairs so we were able to enjoy the near-by shore areas. The kitchen was stocked with fruit juice and coffee. Every morning, Susan set up our breakfast on the lanai which overlooked her lovely garden area. We were very comfortable at Hale Huanani and sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I stumbled across Hale Huanani in a rush to book at trip to Maui in less than a week. I couldn't have found a better place to spend six nights on the Island. The studio was super clean, private and so comfortable, it was if we were home...if our home were in Hawaii (one could only wish :). The kitchenette was stocked full of all the gadgets and appliances necessary to cook our dinners during our stay. Which was nice because we were able to save money on food to see and do more things on the island. The breakfasts were amazing. Susan made fresh baked breads & muffins every morning with fresh fruit. Some right out of the garden. Susan had great recommendations for tours and places to see and even had a nice collection of DVDs to watch when we were ready to unwind in the room.
Hale Huanani is highly recommended to anyone & everyone who is considering staying there. The location is great. Centrally located on the island so sightseeing during the day or at sunrise is within reach anywhere on the island.
Happy travels!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anywherebut91710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

As a family of four, we actually visited here in 2003,7 years ago. I hope it has not changed because you could hardly improve on this paradise! We stayed in the garden house and our grown kids in the rooms under the house. The owner was extremely nice and keeps the incredible grounds up to a perfect level of natural beauty. The morning sounds of tropical birds in the garden woke me up on the first day.It had just rained and I never heard a sound so natural and magical than these birds in the garden.There are papaya,mango, palm trees,banana trees, lime and kiwifruit and starfruit trees. There is an old lava flow and a small bridge that crossed over it to the south part of the garden. The view from the balcony is spectacular! The owner, Susan ,brings fresh papaya and mango, coffee and warm fruit muffins in the morning . There is a washer and dryer and use of beach equipment is free. It is all so nice...it was so mind-boggling....I would like to go back there in a split second.....but I can still dream about it. In the morning..the view up to Haleakala, the volcano is spectacular.Go here if you love beauty and peace and quiet... but be prepared to be amazed!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here in March of 07 and we loved every minute of it. It was priced very well, had lots of towels, and the breakfast was great everyday. Some B&B's say that breakfast is at a certain time and if you can't make it you miss breakfast. At this place they had a container of fruit all sliced up and fresh for you and a container of hot fresh baked bread of some sort everyday. You could eat it when you got up or when you got back to your room if you had an early activity. They had lots of books in the room that you could use (some review books as well like frommers) and a DVD library that you could use. We would sometimes bring some food back to our room and watch a movie (I know we are in Hawaii but still). The only bad thing about the property I could say is one day when we were walking around we noticed a lot of spiderwebs on some of the paths. It wasn't a big deal it wasn't in the room or anything but that would be the only fault that I would say.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adams1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Huanani (Studio) for a week for our honeymoon. We read the recommendations on here, and it sounded like a great place to stay. When we got to Maui, we quickly learned how wonderful a place it was.

Susan and her husband were AWESOME hosts!!! We arrived late (due to our plane flight), but they were more than accomodating. They stayed up for us and gave a us a quick tour of the place.

The B&B is located in a residential area of Kihei, away from the noise. The beach was just a short drive away. We loved staying in Kihei because it was in the middle of the island and made the trip to Hana and Haleakala decent trips (as compared to if you stayed in Lahaina).

We also greatly appreciated the fact that Susan had coolers, and beach blankets, and noodle floats that were free to use anytime we wanted. Plus having a refrigerator in your room made the trip to Walmart worth it since you could store all the groceries.

I can't say enough wonderful thigns about Susan and the Hale Huanani. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

Address: 808 Kupulau Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9231
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: £100 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in a very quiet, safe, residential neighborhood in south Maui where average rainfall is 12-1/2 inches per year. We are only a 5-minute drive to the closest beach (Keawakapu Beach) and a 5-minute drive to the most beautiful outdoor world-class shopping mall on Maui (The Shops at Wailea). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Huanani Hotel Kihei
Hale Huanani b&b
Hale Huanani Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing