We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“CHAOS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Hui Kai Condominium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Ranked #28 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle,WA.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CHAOS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This place is filled with kids running around. The noise problem is tremendous as to the closed in position of the condos. All the bedrooms are open to the hallway, thus you hear babies crying and kids yelling at all hours. Parking your car..good luck if you can find a parking stall.. You have to park your car off property across the street in an unprotected spot..

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JunBugSeattle_WA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at this condo in Kihei after spending a few years staying in Kanapali. This unit was clean and fairly well equipped (unit 211) but had a few things that would have made it nicer. The second bedroom was to be a king size bed but was in fact a large daybed that was not very comfortable. It took us a day or so to figure out how to stop the coffee pot from overflowing all over the counter. You have to push the pot up against a wall to have enough pressure to trigger the drain. Furniture was comfortable. The real selling feature was the wrap around lanai that faced directly toward the ocean and went around to both bedrooms. The sunsets from here were spectacular.

The biggest annoyance were the actual condo rules. The pool was open from 9:00am to dusk and you weren't allowed any pool toys for the kids, no splashing, no games, etc. we found that quite restrictive. The laundry closed at 8:30 pm and didn't open till 8:30am. This meant you had to do laundry in the daytime and in our case we had to hang around the condo all day to get a machine and we felt we lost a day of our holiday. The trash dumping chute was also locked up during the same hours. I came up from the beach and left 2 slightly sandy footprints outside our door and the next morning I had a citation hanging on my door reminding me of the rule about keeping the sand on the beach. There were some lounge chairs on the grassy area at the front that overlooked the ocean. They would have been nie to sit in from time to time but the "regulars" came out as early as 6:30am and put towels across the chairs to save them until they were ready to come and sit in mid morning. That reminded me of a resort in Mexico we stayed at once.

The parking lot is also small, best suited for small cars.

All in all, it was an ok experience but the place would be better suited for older folks.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in unit 201 and could not ask for a better place to celebrate a 60th birthday. The condo was "fully equipped" with all the amenities for indoors and a bonus with the amenities for the beach. You need only to bring yourself and a swim suit. The condo has been beautifully updated and is very clean. We had a garden view, but were just steps from the beach. We enjoyed our walks on the beach in the morning and sitting on the patio in the evening for the most spectacular sunsets. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We highly recommend this condo and cannot wait to return. Mahalo to the owners for sharing their beautiful home and mahalo to Martha for managing their property with such care and ease.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Unit 305 is excellent (we were glad to have AC). Great view (side facing) from lanai with a beautiful sunset every night! Beach location is perfect! Grounds of HHK are lovely! I highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank mauiohana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were very happy in unit 312.......a front facing beach condo with a huge lanai overlooking the ocean. The condo was clean and spacious and the kitchen was well stocked. The grounds of the Hale Hui Kai are beautiful and well kept. The ocean breeze in the afternoons on the patio in front of the pool are amazing. Pool was not heated but was always sparkling clean. The bed is a king with an extra firm mattress...we would have preferred one a little softer, but it depends what you like. The condo does not have A/C......August was hot so we would have liked air, but the condos with air are lots more $$, so we choose to stay more nights and pay less. Fans in condo helped,but some afternoons were still uncomfortable. Showers could use an update,but are more than sufficient for your needs. All in all....we were very happy and would stay here again.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank longing4maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in unit 309 and loved it. It has a nice view and is so close to the water. The new resorts will never get you this close. Cindy and John were easy to work with and took great care of us. I gave the property a 5 because of the excellent value and location, it is important to note that the building is older and the condo layout a little odd, with toilet in the master bedroom.

We love this place and will return and rent 309 again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kailuamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our family spent 8 days in HHK to celebrate our 80yr.old in-laws bday. I decided on this location based on the ratings of the beach. It really is the best beach in Maui and least crowded, and just beautiful at all times.

HHK is a step-back in time on the outside. Built in the 70's it has an 'old' Hawaiian feel but thankfully both units 110 and 108 were tastefully updated a few years ago. We stayed in 110 with 2 adults and 2 children (ages 8 & 10). In the 108 unit, we had 4 adults. It is just as the pictures say it is and I actually think unit 108 looks better in-person than on the web-site. Gardening is kept up daily and the grounds are very clean.

In 110 you can see, and hear the ocean from inside in the kitchen and eating area. Our favorite times were just sitting and eating breakfast to the sound of the ocean. We didn't have AC in our unit, but it wasn't necessary even when temps said it was 90deg. Ceiling fans worked just fine.

Both condos had plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and toys. Both condos were very clean and filled with everything you need to make breakfast, lunch or dinner. Unit 110 did not have a cooler, so you might want to bring your own soft-side cooler or purchase on while there.

Unit 110 is literally steps away from the beach as advertised. For our family with younger kids, it was PERFECT staying right on the beach and we had 80yr. old grandma traveling with us, and there is no way she would have traveled across a busy street every day to sit at the beach with us. This location was PERFECT and you can't get any closer to the beach than this for the price!!!

Pool is NOT heated, but we were there for the beach and the ocean, and that is where we spent all of our time. Building quiet times are 10pm - 8am, and it is quiet. The windows are all levour blinds, so you can hear any & everything. We didn't hear anything. Our bedrooms were towards the middle of the building and kept cool and quiet all day (and dark) which was wonderful for sleeping in. Washer/Dryers are available on each floor towards the back of the building (front is the oceanside, back is streetside) and it's $1.25/wash and $1.00/dry - quarters only. Books available in the laundry rooms if you need reading material. Two very nice and fancy restaurants avail. just to the north of the HHK. There is also a little deli/store in the Mana Kai which is the 2nd bldg to the north of the HHk.

HHK is located right inbetween Wailea and Kihei; it is a wonderful location. Easy to get to and parking is perfect. About a 40min drive to Lahaina and a little further to Kaanapali. The atrium area for seating in the HHK is WONDERFUL in the morning to watch the ppl on the beach, and a great gathering place in the evening to watch the sunsets.

I would highly recommend unit 110 is you can afford to splurge a little, it was worth every penny and we thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay!!

Room Tip: Do not email or leave phone messages; just call!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lila2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#9 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#21 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polo Beach Club
Polo Beach Club
#7 of 8 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hui Kai Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hui Kai Condominium

Property: Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Address: 2994 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hui Kai Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Hotel Kihei
Hale Hui Kai Condominium Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing