We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour has $5 margaritas”
Review of Amigos de Maui

Amigos de Maui
Ranked #89 of 179 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Macomb, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Happy Hour has $5 margaritas”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a coupon for a buy one get one free entree from the tourist magazine. We came about 5ish on a Saturday night and they do Happy Hour on Saturdays too. $5 margaritas and they are not cheaply made. In fact, they really were delicious and had good stuff in there!! They serve breakfast all day and the food was good. Everyone was nice. They even had a lady come by offering to sell leis (her leis are cheaper than others who sell or even at the stores). We sat out on the patio, but not much of a view at Amigos is in a strip mall, but we could see the sun setting, so that was nice. We would return; in fact as we drove to another town, we saw another one and would have gone there but we ran out of time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarainjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    34
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great Mexican food”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We are picky about good Mexican food because we live in the AZ. We were delighted with the menu selection. Our friends raved about the Colorado chili dish. The taquitos were tasty and the condiments fresh. Service was quite good for the dinner hour and wanted carry out. We will frequent this restaurant again be f ore leaving Maui.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chapko1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow Service but good food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Six of us went there for dinner and it took over 2hrs to finish our meal! I think it would be better if they had 1 more waiter helping out. We had enchiladas, burritos, and tacos and everyone enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zetajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Restaurant just like most you'd find on the mainland and the menu was likewise. There's usually a discount coupon in one of the numerous magazines you find on the island. Had a nice little meal. Prices are reasonable (more so with the discount). Had full dinners and drinks for under $30 for 2. Again, typical of a mainland restaurant of this type.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The new Kihei store is nice inside but the food is bla. Salsa without any real flavor. They do give you comp chips but I would rather pay and get better quality on the plate. The Carnitas we had was a bold pink, dry and shredded to the max. The Al pastor was ok but I look for some real character in the dish and it's hard to find here. Fernandos and Fiesta Time(the best)are better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coconutdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amigos de Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing