We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, clean, and overall a great place to be in Maui!”
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cozy, clean, and overall a great place to be in Maui!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I travelled to Maui at the beginning of august with my boyfriend and friends, and while my friends had all booked in hotels, we were skeptical about booking in a b&b. It turned out to be the best idea!! Our friends who had paid the same amount, if not more, ended up spending most of their time with us at our inn. We had a great cozy room with a little kitchenette, ceramic showers, large balcony with direct access to the pool and a gift basket upon arrival! Everything was clean, seemed to be well maintained. We had take out for supper suggested by the flyers left in the hallway counter, and there was more that enough room for us and our friends to dine in the garden area then take a swim in the pool afterwards. Definitely felt like home, but in paradise!! The only thing was that it's not close enough to the beach. Although you can see the ocean from the garden, you still need to drive down 5 mins to get to a beach area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCL_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    41
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
238
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. Had to plan to spend the first part of our trip in a hotel then relocated to the Pineapple Inn. Mark & Steve were in contact with us very quickly whenever we needed them to be and left us to our privacy whenever we did not need them, they even helped us to reserve a hotel until they had an opening. The B&B and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The location is convenient to everywhere but you do have to drive, but unless you just want to check into one hotel and lay on one beach, you're gonna have to drive on Maui. As far as the actual B&B experience, we have stayed in some extremely nice hotels and never stayed in a B&B, after this trip I never want to stay in a hotel again. I just wish I could stay at the Pineapple Inn wherever I go because unfortunately I think alot of B&B's will have a hard time comparing to the first class accomodations of the Pineapple Inn. The entire experience was enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July for the first 3 days of our honeymoon! From the moment we arrived we knew were in a little slice of heaven!!! After 2 flights and a total of 14 hours of traveling we were so relieved to find some snacks waiting for us! I'm pretty sure my husband ate all the hawaiin chocolates in a second! The room was beautiful and super clean! The bathroom had a very large shower with nice tiles and everything was immaculate. The photos you see online of the gardens and the pool do not do this place justice. It is truly 100 times better in person. The pool is saltwater and they have a hot tub nestled in the trees that makes the whole place so private. We felt like it was our own backyard and rarely saw anyone else!!! The bed was really comfortable and Phoebe our host of the week made sure we had lots of muffins, yogurts for our breakfasts! The coffee was delicious and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning watching the sun rise. They have ample beach accessories and we took advantage of borrowing the bogey boards and beach umbrellas. If you are looking for a private beautiful place to stay this isit!!! We loved sitting by the pool enjoying a drink after a day at the beach. They have an outdoor kitchen and BBQ where you can make your own meals!!! We loved it so much we have decided to return again in April!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suejay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed in the cottage and were delighted with everything - the grounds are beautiful, the place was spotless and the owners were attentive and generous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwischen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were so amazed at the attention to detail at this charming Inn. The rooms were spotless, cozy, and well decorated. We stayed in the Makena Rm upstairs and loved the privacy of the lanai where we had bkfast each morning ( thanks to a well stocked fridge) and watched the sunset every evening. You will not find landscaping more lush and well taken care of. Its like your own private botanical garden. The salt water pool area is a tropical oasis that makes leaving for sight seeing extremely difficult. Mark was very helpful with local info and even provided us with a cd guide for our Road to Hana trip. He and Steve have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable and unforgettable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Pineapple Inn was one of our favourite stays on Maui - Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious, the fridge was very well stocked for breakfast and the owner Mark could not have been more helpful to us - even offering us extra food for our bbq one evening! The pool and gardens are lovely, so much so that we didn't even go to the beach but stayed by the pool all day - it was so tranquil that you didn't need to go anywhere else! And we topped the day off by watching the sunset from the hot tub!
If you want a more personal, quiet stay than the big condos and resorts in Kehei, then this is the place for you!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I would highly recommend this B&B! Beautiful landscaping, Clean, quiet rooms, convenient location (close to beach, shopping, restaurants). This unconventional B&B (where they stocked the fridge with breakfast foods & you could eat at your leisure) worked perfect for us since we like to get up early & go snorkeling, hiking, or exploring! Mark & Steve were great - giving us good advise on restaurants & snorkeling spots. The pool & hot tub were clean and always perfect temp. Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Makena room has awesome view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Yoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.5 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing