We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 10 December 2008

The only downside to staying here is the scare of having to pay with check and not taking credit card. We stayed in the Wailea room and it was great! The bedding was very tastful and not cheesy. The balcony was the size of a small room. The fridge was packed with food. The bathroom was beautiful with seperate toliet and seperate shower areas. A good note is that they provide a clothes washer and dryer AND laundry soap. We picked up the tinyest box of Tide for $7.00! Plus they provide dozens of books and magazines on Maui. I saw the owners several times just in passing so they are there and live in half of the B&B. Plus the foliage is beautiful! One additional downside is that across the road behind the pool was a field of brown grass and trees, not very attractive but if I ever made it back to Maui I would stay here again. Close to the beach,shopping and resturants.

  • Liked — Having a stocked mini kitchen with dishes and silverware
  • Disliked — Parking lot, although there was enought spaces the parking spaces were hard to get out of.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank almaelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    41
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
237
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester,Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We just got back from our vacation in Maui. We were fortunate enough to stay at the Pineapple Inn which turned out to be heaven. The day we checked in we met one of the owners Mark who showed us to our room. The Inn has four rooms in the most beautiful setting in Kihei. The room was more than just a bedroom; it had a kitchenette, a full bath with a good size tiled shower enclosure, with a separate area for the toilet. We were quite pleased when we had our own deck with table and chairs with complete privacy. The rooms were all sparkling clean and the fridge stocked with goodies for a morning breakfast, along with plenty of snacks. The grounds had botanical gardens everywhere with a good size swimming pool and hot tub. The best part was being so close to the attractions in Maui. We were able to snorkel three miles up the road at Makena Landing and a few miles further the reserve which had the best underwater life we ever saw. The Inn offered lots of extras, beach chairs and towels, even a cooler for a picnic if needed. There were even travel and event guides for you to plan your day trips right there at the Inn, an added benefit. This is a gem of a place to experience. We travel quite a bit and the Pineapple Inn is now on the top of our list. Mark and Steve will be seeing us again for sure!!
Paulette & Dave
Massachusetts

  • Liked — How close to beaches and clean establishment
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pawetndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My group of 10 adults stayed at the Pineapple Inn for 6 nights in September. We occupied the cottage and 3 of the guest rooms. We were blown away by the beauty of this lovely place. It is like living in a botanical garden of Eden. We used all of the facilities including the hot tub, pool, and Bar B Q. We used the kitchen in the cottage to prepare 5 dinners on site. The cottage has very nice furnishings with a large screen TV. The A/C was excellent in all the rooms and cottage. The guest rooms were beautifully decorated. The lanais had breathtaking views of the ocean and mountains.

The owners were away when we stayed there, but Phoebe, the gardener and caretaker, was a doll and we enjoyed talking with her. She made sure we had everything we needed.

We did notice some of the road noise, but no one was bothered by it. We felt we had discovered a special place in Maui to make our home for the week. We'd all stay here again in a minute if we could.

  • Liked — The beauty of the property
  • Disliked — The road noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Lanai room and - overall - had a great time in the Pineapple Inn!

First the pros:
gorgeous, new & clean house in a residential area
plenty of (on property) parking space
a nicely decorated, clean room
clean and functional kitchenette, with coffee maker and toaster
spacious, clean shower
clean, white towels
AC and fan
wonderful private lanai with garden view and great outside furniture
beautiful, clean & large salt water pool
spectacular landscaped garden
good working (free) highspeed internet access

Unfortunately there were some cons too:
the inn keepers were on vacation and left the place to a friend, Phoebe - who did a great job, but wasn't available that much
the bed was (too) small and really uncomfortable (aching backs in the morning!)
the AC blew directly on the bed; during the nights we had to turn it off because it got too cold. Therefore, we could only use the fan above the bed, leaving the room too warm to sleep comfortable
the rooms are noisy/thin-walled; we could very well hear the other guests talking and such in their rooms
the owners wouldn't accept payment through CC; we had to make the payments by bank from The Netherlands in two installments, which was really inconvenient AND with extra transfer costs for us (twice!)

What bothered us most though, was the (lack of) breakfast. Okay, the fridge was stocked for the first breakfast when we arrived (2 muffins, 2 donuts, 4 sodas, orange juice, a little butter, a small package of Philadelphia, 2 small yogurts, 1 apple, 1 orange) and there was a basket with chocolates and potato chips - past the best before date by the way!), but don't expect a Bed & Breakfast! The fridge didn't get restocked, so we had to go to the supermarket and buy our own breakfast the 2nd and 3rd morning.

There is a busy highway directly behind the house, but the traffic didn't bother us very much.

Despite the cons, we had a great stay at the Pineapple Inn and would definitely return or recommend the place to family and friends.

  • Liked — The pool and garden!
  • Disliked — The bed and the fact that we had to take care of our own breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lemi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We just returned home from our fabulous 11 day vacation on Maui and our four night stay at the Pineapple Inn. What a gem!!! The Inn and grounds are so beautiful and relaxing. The owners have put a lot of love and beautiful touches into the lovely property and rooms. Check in was easy. The refrigerator was stocked with breakfast goodies and drinks, the relaxing music was playing out in the garden by the pool and the hot tub was ready! We felt like we had the pool and spa all to ourselves. We really appreciated having the washer/dryer, beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, ice chests and boogie boards available for use! The Inn is conveniently located for everything. Great beaches and dining nearby. (We loved the Five Palms Restaurant/views and the Prince Court Brunch!) The only negative is the road noise from the highway below the Inn but that's just life. We will definitely return to the Pineapple Inn!

  • Liked — Lovely grounds and pool, well stocked refrig, beautiful room, great value, relaxing atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Road noise from highway
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stayed at Pineapple Inn, the Lanai room, for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable, with nicely stocked fridge and goodie basket. We loved sitting on the lanai outside our room, having breakfast, or a glass of wine after a day of touring. It felt very private.
The swimming pool is wonderful, and the gardens of the property are beautiful.
We made use of the available beach chairs and cooler, we just picked up sandwiches and other lunch things from the supermarket so we could have a full day at the beach. We borrowed the Hana CD and had an enjoyable and informative trip to Hana.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Maui!

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Pineapple Inn for three nights in May 2008. We had the Makena room which has a fabulous view of the sea and the mountains. The directions sent by the Owners were good enough to get us to our room without the need of asking directions as there is no reception area and the key is in door. We did meet up with the Owner later that day, we had a good welcome. The room and the garden is faultless, a very high standard. The pool and the hot-tub were really nice after a hard day on the beach. I have two minor negatives, firstly the Owners would not accept visa and I had to send a traveler’s cheque by post from the UK in two installments, a bit inconvenient. The second problem was the noise from the road; there is a noisy road in a deep cutting at the bottom of the garden. Two things help, in the afternoon there is piped Hawaiian music in the garden which helps and also the double glazing is very good, once the windows are closed you cannot hear any traffic. Apart from this I think the place is great.

  • Liked — The garden flowers and the pool area
  • Disliked — The noise from the road
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing