We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you wake up early, i.e. the time difference is a bummer”
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Don't get me wrong, the accomodations and grounds are truly wonderful but if the time change will be a problem for you, ie waking up at 5 am - it's pretty intimate and you could wake up other guests if you're not careful. That really is the only downside to this inn. We stayed at a large resort after their 5 night minimum and would have preferred the anonimity. We got "called" by one of the owners on moving a chair on the balcony at 6am, apparently we weren't quite enough. That wouldn't have been an issue at a large resort. For that reason alone, we won't go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank comogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in the Molokini Room on our honeymoon and adored it. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The landscaping is phenomenal and almost like art itself. We spent quite a bit of time on the property watching the birds at the feeder, looking for geckos and sitting on the deck while the palms swayed. Didn't know there was a koi pond for 3 days because there are so many things to look at. The room was comfortable, clean, contemporary and well decorated. The fridge held breakfast & snacks for the duration which was a huge plus and money saver. We stuck soda in the fridge so it would be ready any time we chose to venture out.

Steve & Mark, the owners were friendly and knowledgeable. My computer was acting up and I couldn't connect to the internet (we eloped and wanted to send ceremony pictures out to friends & family at home,) within minutes Steve had an ethernet cable for me. They also have a shed full of daytrip & beach gear: Boogie Boards, coolers, chairs, and sand castle molds.

If we ever return to Maui we'll absolutely stay there again. Overall this place is a great value, convenient to beaches, stores & food and most importantly feels like home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Spent 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Convenient to most all of the things to do and.or see on Maui. Get a glass of wine and watch the sunset from the hot tub. Lovely salt water swimming pool. Exquisite landscaping.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amason6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This is incredibly beautiful and affordable! The smells of ginger and the beauty of both the garden and the saltwater pool still linger with me....months later! One day we were in Maui we simply stayed in our room at the pool and garden because it was just SO beautiful!!!!! If you can book a room here- you have to! It is the best bed and breakfast I have ever been to!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonartteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed in the cottage at Pineapple Inn for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon. We were away for 4 weeks and stayed in 6 different accommodations and this was by far our favourite - beating the more expensive ones hands down. A great romantic hideaway.

No detail was forgotten - the kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly want and the rooms were spotlessly clean. It was all the extra touches that made this special, the guide books in the room, the board games, the fab wecome basket on arrival.

And reading the guest book puts a huge smile on your face, its full of great tips and makes you realise how many other people have truly enjoyed their time at pineapple in.

I would thoroughly recommend (if only it wasn't half way round the world or I would definitely be back for a return visit!) - but book early to make sure you aren't disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

The Pineapple Inn is truly a hidden gem in Maui. We stayed the last 2 weeks in January and loved our time there. It's all been said in previous reviews, but Mark and Steve make you feel welcome as soon as you pull into the driveway.

The extra touches were appreciated... fully stocked fridge with breakfast items, welcome basket, beach chairs, mats and towels, boogie boards and coolers. The grounds are spectacular surrounding the Inn. Although we were not the only guests there, we always seemed to have the pool, hot tub, and barbeque area to ourselves.

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and we plan to return in the future, we absolutely will be staying at the Pineapple Inn for our next visit.

Aloha and Mahalo,
Jim & Melinda

ps) We miss little Indy.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahalia_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We spent two weeks in Maui for our Honeymoon and spent five nights at the Pineapple Inn. Although I would say the two other places we stayed at provided a better experience, the Pineapple Inn was great for the reason we booked it: a cheaper option near the beaches.

The rooms were very clean and provided all the basic necessities. The Inn is actually a house that has been redesigned to be more like a hotel. You have your own entrance to your room through a common hallway. It has a very comforting feel and the owners are extremely nice and helpful.

The nicest part of the property is the pool and hot tub, which is made of slate and is salinated instead of chlorinated. Because there are only four rooms, you almost always have the pool to yourself.

The best reason to book the Pineapple Inn is to have easy driving access to the beautiful beaches in Wailea. Its only about a 5-10 minute drive to several nice beaches, many of which you can have completely to yourself. Hint: Its fun to check out the beaches at the major resorts to grab a nice meal or just people watch, but there are several beaches extremely close by that are entirely empty.

Really, we had no complaints but you should know what you are getting. Although the grounds are nice, there really is no view and you can hear the busy street traffic. This didn't bother us but I know picky people will probably complain.

Book this hotel if you don't want to pay the ridiculous rates for the large resorts but still want to be at the beaches within minutes of waking up. You may not be blown away but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UVaSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing