We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Dive”
Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
Ranked #14 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local Dive”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Might have to wait in line for a minute, but the food is delicious and you definitely won't leave hungry!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flemingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    699
    186
    75
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The line of people waiting to order their breakfasts gives an indication of how good the food is. In addition to regular menus, the walls also have the menu inscribed on them so you can make you meal decisions as you wait inline to order. After ordering and paying you find an outside table (all tables are covered, outside). Waiters will call out your name and bring your food. I had eggs, bacon, home fries, and a biscuit which was very good. The pancakes with bananas, Macadamia nuts, and whipped cream were excellent and the burrito and rice were also very good. The service was quick and again no pressure to finish and leave your table. There were no restrooms on the premise but they shared facilities with a small shopping area across a parking lot. We enjoyed ourselves and would eat breakfast there again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simple. Local. Good.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I loved it. I had corned beef hash and my wife had some French toast. Decently and reasonably priced. I truly enjoyed it. Very Maui-like atmosphere. Hospitable and friendly staff. Definitely a lot better than the rest of "local" restaurants I've been to. Will come back!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food and local atmosphere! ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious food and huge portions! My husband and I could have shared one plate. They only take cash, so be prepared. We were able to sit and talk with the locals which was fun and informative!

Helpful?
Thank SAumage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cheerful and Delicious!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The service at Caffe Kihei is excellent, from the friendly smile and welcome of the employee (owner?) taking your order, to the server ducking the birds to bring you your delicious meal. We ate here twice on our trip.

There is a line if you come much after 8 a.m., but the food is worth it. The portions are HUGE. So big that the second time we split one order of the pancakes and still couldn't finish it. The cashier (no credit cards here!), cheerfully handed us an extra plate when we asked to share, btw. No extra charge, no eye rolling.

After ordering you find a seat, or they find one for you, and they bring out the food. There are maple and coconut syrup on the tables, as well as hot sauces and the usual condiments. They also carry POG for your morning juice, as well as fresh squeezed orange juice and lots of coffee beverages.

The only negative are the very aggressive birds, but you can't fault the restaurant. There are several signs asking patrons not to feed the birds, but we saw a few ignoring them. They try to quickly clean the tables and they can't help it if the word is out about how delicious their food is.

This will be a Maui tradition for us from now on. Great service, amazing food - aloha!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing