We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room right on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphins Point Maui
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed five nights in the Ginger Suite in early November and were very pleased with it. It was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, kitchenware, and a dishwasher. The bathroom appeared to have been recently remodeled and looked like something from a fancy hotel. There were plenty of linens along with beach chairs, an umbrella, and boogie boards. A washer and dryer were available on site. If you are going to the grocery store, ask Jackie and Larry for the code to get the club discount.

The property is small – just three units on the ground floor – the owners live upstairs and are very nice. It’s just a few steps from the property to the sand of Kamaole I Beach Park. If you tire of the beach, the shady patio has plenty of comfortable lounge chairs and our room had a nice selection of paperback books.

Note that the Ginger Suite’s only view of the ocean is from one window. It also has a private lanai and the lanai has a better view of the water. The only negative is that the Ginger Suite is in the back of the property, so it is closer to S. Kihei Road, which is noisy at times. To deal with the noise at night we closed the windows and just turned on the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2Alaska09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

All previous reviewers have scored this beachfront condo excellent, and so do we. We stayed here four days in November 2011; a 60-something couple and our 30 year old daughter. We've never been to Hawaii before and we certainly lucked out with this choice. Perfect location - mid-beach Kihei, literally right on the beach - no kidding - just walk right through the bushes and you're there, no streets to cross, no go down the street and turn, like everyone else across the street in the many condos/hotels, apartments, have to do. This 3-unit condo has many free extras: laundry - washer/dryer for everyone's use, tons of beach gear (chairs, beach towels, etc.), and snorkeling equipment to fit all sizes. It's a classic 'old Hawaii' experience - secluded beach, quiet, off the street, a perfect spot to walk to shops & restaurants, and to just chill out and escape from everyone.

Owners Jackie & Larry are terrific - helpful when you need then, always able to recommend a restaurant or place to go, but also able to stay out of the way and let you enjoy their place. Common areas - patio with tables and chez lounge chairs, gas grill, outdoor shower, grassy backyard are conducive to meeting/chatting with your fellow guests in the other two units.

A little slice of paradise that we're sorry we have to leave!

Room Tip: Web site gives very good descriptions/photos of their three rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I just got back from a weeks stay at Dolphins Point. We were there from Oct. 6-13 celebrating our 30th anniversary and the place and setting was the perfect place to do it. If you are looking for a place right on the beach, then search no more. Dolphins point is right on Kama'ole Beach I which is a beautiful uncrowded beach. We rented the Hibiscus suite which is a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom with a fully equipped kitchen. The owners, Jackie and Larry, supply everything you would need for the perfect stay( beach towels, beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, snorkel gear) so all you would need to bring is your bathing suit and sunscreen. All you have to do is walk out the front door and you are on the beach! The bedroom window faces the beach so every night the sound of the waves lulls you to sleep. The unit has been updated and was nicely appointed. Everything seemed fresh and clean. The towels weren't those flimsy hotel kind. The bedsheets were comfortable as well as the bed. Dolphins point is conveniently located too. You can walk to several restaurants(Maui Tacos, Cafe OLei, Pizza Hut, Shaved Ice stand, Cinnamon Bun Fair) It's also walking distance to an ABC Store that sells grocery items, gas and souvenirs. It's also close to Pi'ilani Highway. The owners live on site so if there is anything that you need they are right there. They are the nicest people too. They want you to have the best Maui experience and believe me they make sure you do!! We really enjoyed meeting them and talking with them about the island. Once you stay here you won't want to EVER stay anywhere else. It was definitely living in paradise for a week. Thank you Jackie and Larry for making our stay so so special! I can't wait to return and once again experience paradise in Maui.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hockeymama50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My family and I come here every year. It is a wonderful relaxing soulful experience. The owners are amazing people that make our visit extra special. I seam about this place until I'm back and my dream comes true.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staceymaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My fiance (husband now :)) and I stayed here April 14-21. We chose to get married on Maui. This was the best decision of our lives! We wanted something directly on the beach and this place was the perfect location! It was literally steps away but the best part was how uncrowded the beach was - it was unbelievable! The weather was a beautiful 85 every day - a much needed change from SD winters! This property supplies you with everything you will need to have a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. To top it off the owners - Jackie and Larry - were absolutely wonderful. They were there if you needed them but weren't nosy at all. We ended up having a few great conversations with them. My husband and I cannot wait to return to celebrate many wedding anniversaries... We have no need to look anywhere else as we have found a paradise within paradise. Thank you so much Larry & Jackie for opening your home to us! Steve & Tara

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travel4Tranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

After spending 10 days at Dolphin's Point, we are restored, relaxed and ready to face the world again — although we're already wishing for a longer stay next time. Every night we were soothed to sleep by the sound of the breaking waves and every morning, we welcomed the day with a walk on the beach or a dip in the ocean after coffee on our private lanai. Hibiscus is the one-bedroom unit, and it was perfect for the two of us with a full kitchen and dining area, a comfortably furnished living room (with a TV and video player), and a bedroom that can be open to the living room or closed of with sliding screens if you need more privacy. The walk-in shower has custom tile-work that felt fresh and included a lovely turtle inlay, plus plenty of towels for both bath and beach. The kitchen had all of the cooking tools we needed, and unlike other places we have stayed, the communal barbecue was propane, not electric. Just bring your bathing suit and sunscreen, the owners have provided beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, and other items for beach and water fun. The patio area offers off-beach relaxation in or out of the sun on comfortable lounge chairs, or eat dinner outdoors at the picnic table. We also looked at the other two units: a two-bedroom and a studio. Both would be great options as well. Each has a kitchen, nice bathroom and plenty of room, and they are set back with the bedrooms slightly farther from the beach — a good option if the sounds of crashing waves and birds are likely to keep you awake. If you need room for a larger group, reserve more than one unit and everyone will have private space as well as sharing the joys of beach living. As owners of two small businesses, good Internet access is important, even when we're on vacation. The wireless here was fast, easy and reliable. One of the most unique things about this location is that the owners live on-site. The rental units are all ground floor and their home is upstairs, so you know they are invested in keeping it up, are available for questions, and they are extremely warm and friendly. We have stayed elsewhere in the past, but Dolphin's Point will now be our top choice for Kihei.

Room Tip: Depends on your needs. Ask owner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WriteasRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We thought that a place right on the beach for our first Maui experience would be special treat for us...and Dolphins Point turned out to be THE perfect spot. The location, quality, comfort, amenities, etc. make for an extremely amazing stay. It was so wonderful to just grab a towel, chair and umbrella and just walk out on to 'our' beach to boogie board, go for a morning walk with our coffee cups in hand, grab the gear provided and walk down the beach a bit to snorkel or give the paddle board a try. Our first Maui experience will be followed by many more and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else now that we've experienced Dolphins Point. Thanks to the owners and hosts Jackie and Larry for making our time so fun-tastic !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Point Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Point Maui

Address: 2274 S Kihei Rd, Kihei/Wailea, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £147 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphins Point Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins Point Maui is a privately owned, oceanfront, gated property with three beautifully furnished and fully equipped suites. A truly unique Hawaiian vacation experience. Located on the white sands of Kamaole I Beach in Kihei/Wailea on the sunny side of Maui. Step back in time to the romance of the islands. No hustle and bustle, no high-rise condos, no crossing the street - its just you, the ocean and the sunsets! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphins Point Maui Hotel Kihei
Dolphins Point Maui Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing