We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location & Extra beach time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphins Point Maui
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stay at Dolphins Point every year we come to Maui now. We have stayed at condos in Kihei in years past before getting in at Dolphins Point. The direct beachfront is the absolute best, I figure my wife and I save 1-2 hours a day of not having to "pack up the rental car to drive to the Beach". The owners are excellent people and are always making sure your stay is awesome. The property has all the beach supplies you need to enjoy an excellent day on the beach. Dolphins Point is perfectly located between Kam 1 and Charley Young beaches, so it is never crowded in front of the property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Been coming to Maui once or twice a year for over 20 years and have finally found the best location by far. All our needs were met: on the beach, comfortable and extremely clean accomodations with all your beach related supplies (boogie boards, lounge chairs and towels) provided.

Whether you want to be near some of the best beaches or be in walking distance of eateries and grocery stores, Dolphin Point is the best and you couldn't ask for better hosts/owners (personable and welcoming).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My wife and I were fortunate that a last minute cancellation got us into the Hibiscus Suite at Dolphins Point for 5 nights at the end of January. I would echo the other reviewers in their enthusiasm for how perfect Dolphins Point is for your stay in Maui. From a spotless first impression that included all the cooking, living and beach items you might need to the spectacular view out across Maalaea Bay at sunset we were captivated by Maui's charm and beauty.

Jackie and Larry live on site and keep the grounds impeccable and are a wonderful resource for information. We used the on site BBQ (Weber) to cook a great seafood dinner and gave the blender a daily work out as well. On our last morning Dolphins Point lived up to its name with two dolphins jumping right out front - not to mention the whales and turtles.

We don't typically return to the same place for our vacation, but we have booked back in to Dolphins Point for next year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiwingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We hopped around the island, stayed on the north side (Huelo Point and Hana) for 6 nights, and then came over to Dolphin's Point for relaxation and "doing nothing".
We are so pleased with our selection! Not being people who like high rise hotels or condos, we found our ideal spot with Dolphin's Point, staying 5 nights at the Hibiscus Suite: our bedroom window was practically right at the beach.
Stepping out of our unit, it took us about 50 feet to be in the ocean - no getting out of elevators, crossing the street, having a view of a parking lot, all these things you could easily find with other accommodations . I don't think you'll find any other place on the Kihei side to provide you with that kind of beach front luxury as Dolphin's Point does!
My feeling is that the Hibiscus Suite is "the best" of the three suites offered: ceilings are rather low, so there is some darkness in the rooms, more towards the back, but not worth getting aggrieved about.
The Ginger is the furthest back from the ocean, just has a tiny sitting area in front of their unit, then comes Plumeria, with a large sitting area, then Hibiscus with medium sized sitting area. Being the last in the row of three gives you the most privacy, about people walking by to get to their unit. We were perfectly happy with our pick!
Well equipped kitchen, though it would be super great to have real stone ware instead of corning ware dishes, and a few more mixing bowls, skillets, just little things, really - but everything you need is definitely there.
The bed is more on the soft side, but still, it worked very well for us.
Plenty of towels, and all the beach equipment you can only think of, is there to take out for the day.
The overall vibe was VERY friendly and relaxing , 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've been coming to Hawaii since 1970; Kiehi for MANY years! The first stay at Dolphin Point was when my son finished 8th grade, 2001; his 1st Hawaii trip & couldn't have been better. Great area to learn surfing; safe for a novice! It was different owners then (wonderful people). I've watched the transition of Dolphin Point, since Jackie & Larry have taken over; it only gets BETTER. I love being at their "home", more than any other accomodation.....and always will. There is no hotel that will ever provide more than what you will experience at Dolphin Point. When I come to Kiehi (almost yearly), it's the ONLY time that I feel like I've truly been on vacation.....beach outside your door; peaceful environment; perfect hosts. It's always hard to leave! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We just returned from Dolphins Point. Our visit was outstanding! This was our 50th Anniversary and we rented all the units for our family of 10. I can not say enough about the service we received from both Jackie and Larry. They are wonderful people and went out of their way to make our stay an extremely memorable experience. All units were well appointed and very clean. This is an ideal location, you simply "walkout" to the beach. We have stayed on Maui on several occassions and always stay in the Kihei area. In fact, the last time we were there, we stayed just up the street. Our stay with Jackie & Larry was better and in the long run cheaper!! We will be back to Maui in the near future. There is no question that we will stay at Dolphin Point! Mahalo Jackie & Larry-- Ron

Room Tip: Book early!! Don't worry about renting a thing-- they have all the "toys" you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. It was well located with the beach just steps away. All of the beach equipment you could ever want was provided. Jackie and Larry, the landlords, could not have been better.
Whether it was about the history of the island, where to go or what to see, they couldn't have been more helpful. Our family had all 3 suites and with a great outdoor area, we had plenty of room to eat together and to gather.
We will definitely stay there again the next time we go to Maui.

Room Tip: These units can easily handle more than the minimum aamount of people. Two units have hide-a-beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Point Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Point Maui

Address: 2274 S Kihei Rd, Kihei/Wailea, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £147 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphins Point Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins Point Maui is a privately owned, oceanfront, gated property with three beautifully furnished and fully equipped suites. A truly unique Hawaiian vacation experience. Located on the white sands of Kamaole I Beach in Kihei/Wailea on the sunny side of Maui. Step back in time to the romance of the islands. No hustle and bustle, no high-rise condos, no crossing the street - its just you, the ocean and the sunsets! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphins Point Maui Hotel Kihei
Dolphins Point Maui Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing