We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphins Point Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional place!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in the jr. suite "Ginger Room". It was spacious and very well appointed. The linens, beach towels, and bath towels were all very plush and comfortable. We had everything we needed available for our use such as boogie boards, cooler, beach chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, beach towels, etc. The free on-site washer and dryer came in very handy. The owner was very cordial, friendly, but not over bearing. She gave us great suggestions for restaurants, sites, and where we could find reasonably-priced, fresh flower leis in the area. The view from our lanai was awesome and the sunsets were unbelievable! We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill63131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Dolphins Point is the only way to paradise. Fabulous beach, sunny days, quiet evenings and no crowds. After visiting all the islands my family would not stay anywhere else. 2014 will be our 9th consecutive year. Plus the owners are wonderful people and we have all becomes friends! So much to do and see within walking distance that a car is not necessary. There are many fine restaurants and shopping nearby, plus great beaches for snorkeling. During the whale season you need not go anywhere but a few steps to see them frolicking everywhere. So far I have 8 photo albums full of wonderful memories of Dolphins Point and will soon have 9!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This place is magical. Close to everything. Beautiful view every night of the sunset. The whales (during season) are always in view! We have been here every year for the last 8 years and wouldn't think of booking anywhere else. Friendly owners, nicely decorated and right on the water. Within walking distance of restaurants, grocery, snorkel gear, ice cream, coffee and bars. Best on the island for the price!! Book and enjoy!!!! Mahalo....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel amanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been vacationing every year at Dolphins Point Maui for 8 years and we're going again this year! We've stayed all over the island in years past and will never stay anywhere else again! We are a family of 9 and we stay in the Plumeria and the Hibiscus suites. They have been remodeled recently and are just beautiful and spotless! The location is perfect...if it wasn't for needing a ride from the airport, you wouldn't even need a rental car. The hosts, Larry and Jackie, will be your forever friends, too. I highly recommend Dolphins Point!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillkadoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Kaanapali and Hana are beautiful destination points but once you have been to Dolphin's Point in Maui you will become addicted. The views from the property are breathtaking but the amenities that I enjoyed in my two bedroom condo rivaled the Hyatt Regency. I quickly began to feel like I lived on the beach. I found a beautiful and remote cove just a few minutes from the property that was full of giant sea turtles. The water was only a short distance from my door because the property sits right on the beach. I was able to snorkel and swim without the crowds of people you find at the commercial properties. The owners live upstairs and really treat you more like friends than guests. My next trip to the islands will definitely be spent at Dolphin's Point.

Room Tip: all three rooms are great. The fitness center I reviewed is really the great exercise opportunities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We pinched ourselves every day, to make sure it wasn't all a dream! Our group of 7 (6 adults, 1 kid) stayed here in Aug 2011 (sorry, I'm a bit slow in posting reviews - and am posting the earliest date that the TripAdvisor site is allowing), occupying all three units. We ALL absolutely loved Dolphin's Point. It is TRULY just a few steps over a sand berm to the beach - imagine not having to pack up & haul all your beach stuff, lunch, & drinks to the beach! (And no need to hunt for a >public< rest room!)

The units were all in excellent condition and we took advantage of the huge BBQ/picnic area, complete with multiple picnic tables and lots of lounge chairs. The beach is gorgeous, perfect for boogie boarding (boards provided, of course), and is not crowded, since the parking lots for public access are all some distance away. We have not stopped talking about what a fabulous time we had - so much so, that we've made a reservation to return in 2014.

The gated parking area put our minds to ease - no worries about our cars, and the property provides much privacy. The location is excellent, and more "central" than the Napili area, where we often stay...Easier to get to the Maui Swap Meet(!), Costco, and so many of Maui's great sights.

Jackie, the owner, is fabulous to work with...very responsive, flexible, and accommodating. We can't wait to return in 2014!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-S-TravelersFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We loved being right on this lovely Maui beach. Even though it's right off the highway, it's quiet, secluded and gated--very well located. The owner is very accommodating. It's a charming, comfortable place. You feel like a 'kamaaina' (local). Make a reservation in advance, there are only three rooms!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlotta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Point Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Point Maui

Property: Dolphins Point Maui
Address: 2274 S Kihei Rd, Kihei/Wailea, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphins Point Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins Point Maui is a privately owned, oceanfront, gated property with three beautifully furnished and fully equipped suites. A truly unique Hawaiian vacation experience. Located on the white sands of Kamaole I Beach in Kihei/Wailea on the sunny side of Maui. Step back in time to the romance of the islands. No hustle and bustle, no high-rise condos, no crossing the street - its just you, the ocean and the sunsets! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphins Point Maui Hotel Kihei
Dolphins Point Maui Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing