We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, discourteous and Weird. Don't stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tutu (Two) Mermaids on Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, discourteous and Weird. Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed at this B&B and at first were very impressed with the owner's hospitality and the fruit basket and bread left at your doorstep every morning. After getting a reasonable night's sleep our first night as a married couple, we left early to tour Maui. When we got back that evening, the owners had left us a nasty note telling us to make our beds and clean our room before leaving for the day. The owners proceeded to 'check in' on us a few times a day and even walked into our rooms unannounced on a few occasions. Our stay was marred by their weird and discourteous behavior and their lack of respect for guests personal space. My wife and I were married in Maui and spent our honeymoon night and two additional nights at the two mermaids. When we left the hotel, we left quietly without making a fuss. Half way across the US, we got a call from 'two mermaids' - they wanted to know why we didn't fill out their guest book with complimentary remarks about our stay...and even ventured to say that we were the only people who had not done so.

I honestly think this is the worst, most discourteous place I have ever stayed in my life. We could not wait to leave this corny, tacky and distasteful b&b behind.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kewcheystories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Two Mermaids is a great place to stay. We stayed in the 1st floor room. The basket of breakfast treats every morning was great. I loved the pool. It was awesome just sitting out there and soaking up the warmth. The B and B is located close to the Kihei beaches. It's about a minute by car to the closest beach. So you Could walk it if you wanted but you'd be walking back up hill. Regardless, the location is great. We loved every minute there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Owner is a very gracious host. Serves great fruit basket with bread each morning.

She also assisted with activity info and registration.

We stayed in small, private room by pool. It had a pull-down bed but more than adequate space. There was a small kitchenette and a small, stocked refrigerator. Decor is informal with a feminine touch. Other rooms are bigger.

Guests are asked to help with cleaning dishes and to remove shoes at door (common in Hawaii).

Shower but no tub which was OK with us.

Property is in secluded residential area. One can walk to a nice beach but going by car may be better.

There is a small swimming pool on site for cooling off.

Full payment requested in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innocent_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Not too hard to find and only a few minutes' drive to the beach. Two Mermaids was very cosy - it felt just like home - and the hostesses (Juddee and Miranda) have thought of everything! It was very quiet and relaxing, and the daily fruit basket Juddee prepared for breakfast was fantastic. A very welcome change to staying at a big hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randj2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband and I have just come back from our trip in Maui. We spent 7 nights at the Two Mermaids Bed and Breakfast. We love it there. It is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed. We love birds' sound in the morning, love fresh fruit and goodies for breakfast, love sitting by the pool watching birds and small house lizards in the garden. (I am always afraid of all kinds of lizards myself, but they looked harmless, and it was fun watching them actually.) Juddee was very good host and she was so kind. She even prepared togo breakfast box for us to take to the road trip to Hana. There were juice, bagels, muffins, granola cereal, yogurt in the fridge. We saved a lot of money because of her great breakfast. The only thing I don't like is there is no kitchen sink , we had to use washroom sink to clean our dishes. But it was too tiny thing and we were so happy we picked this bed and breakfast in this trip. It was really home away from home. We felt relax and felt like stay at home there. We hope we can go back and stay with them again. Oh! Juddee is very thoughtful. She prepared everything you need there. I forgot to take Aloe Vera gel with me and got a little bit sunburn. I opened a washroom closet and there were aloevera gel, sunscreen, hair gel, bug spray etc. She also has beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach toys, flashlight, Hana Road Cds, Maui guide books and even guitar! It was my first time in Hawaii but it won't be my last time there for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surangkhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

It is a super sweet bed and breakfast, THE SWEETEST OWNERS, and seriously, they make you the BOMB breakfast.

The rooms are bright and tropical feeling. We've now stayed twice, once in the bottom, smaller apt, and once up top in the bigger. Had a fabulous stay both times - but having stayed up top, where you have a lovely sundeck, private jacuzzi, and a tad more space.

In both rooms you get the fabulous breakfasts with beautiful (and tasty ) fruit displays and an array of home baked muffins, banana breads etc (they'll give you the recipes if you ask); the warm hospitality; access to the cute pool, and the barbecue.

Its wonderful to know I'm supporting local business as opposed to corporate mega chains, its a great locale to access the restaurants and such on S Kihei Rd, and close to the BEST BEACH IN THE NORTHERN HEMISHPHERE, Big Beach.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LonelyPlanetFaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

First of all, Juddee is the friendliest host with a special sense for detail, whose tips and recommendations were always helpful and true. Second, she makes probably the best muffins and brownies on Maui. We stayed in the suite for 6 nights and had a nice lanai with BBQ and hot tub, which we especially enjoyed after a long hike. Breakfast came in form of a basket with a big plate of fresh fruits together with some self-made sweets, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam and juice were in our fridge. Even if you had to make breakfast for yourself and do the dishes by yourself, we liked this form of breakfast, as we could decide on our own, when (maybe after a refreshing swim in the wonderful pool) and where we would like to have it. As there was also a cooler provided, we sometimes took breakfast with us on the beach. By the way, so were beach towels, sun chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards. We felt at home immediately and would very much like to return sometime.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TirolerWeltenbummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutu (Two) Mermaids on Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutu (Two) Mermaids on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tutu (Two) Mermaids on Maui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2840 Umalu Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8504 (Formerly Two Mermaids On The Sunnyside Of Maui B & B)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality with the Spirit of Aloha! Licensed B&B with Maui County. A romantic Maui getaway or family vacation, off street parking, private entrances, one bedroom ohana with private lanai and hot tub or studio sweet next to the pool. Hardwood floors, Flat screen HD Direct TV w/premium channels, library and guitars in each suite. Fresh fruit basket brought to your doorstep every morning. Beach towels, chairs and coolers provided at no charge. Just a 10 minute walk to the beach, free Wi-Fi and much much more! Private and super clean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Mermaids On The Sunnyside Of Maui Bed And Breakfast
2 Mermaids On The Sunnyside Of Maui b & b
Two Mermaids On The Sunnyside Of Maui Hotel Kihei
Tutu (Two) Mermaids On Maui Bed And Breakfast Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing