We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short notice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great short notice stay!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in unit 14 and had a lovely time. The owner and his rental management company were amazing in helping us book a short notice stay in Maui. The owner went above and beyond with his own time to make sure we knew places to visit and how to get around. There's also a lovely little cafe called Dina's Sandwitches with lots of locals and yummy drinks. Just a short walk up the beach to Sugar Beach Resort. Major plus, this place sits right on an uncrowded beach! Amazing sunrises and sunsets! Lovely ocean views and swims. Everything you could possibly need. Be aware, it did get a little warm in the unit during the day and it was very warm inside when we arrived, but they do have air conditioning, plus you should be out exploring anyway! Would definitely stay here again. We hope to be back for a winter stay to see the whales! Many thanks to the owner!

Room Tip: Stay in unit 14 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    24
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília - Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This little hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Maui. We arrived on a 4th of July, the local managers welcomed us as members of the family, with warm hugs, chocolates and exceeding all the expectations to make us feel at home. They even invited us to their own holiday BBQ, Paula and Ron you're the best! :-)

The hotel accommodations are cozy, clean and very well maintained. We definitely felt it was our own apartment in Maui. They also have a Bbq area by the beach, a pool, great laundry facility that has a small library with books to borrow (great idea!)

The hotel location is also convenient, with easy access to the highway that takes you to all Maui 's attractions, an walking distance ABC store and a good size parking lot.

We'll definitely stay here again in our next trip to Maui, highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Small and exceptionally well maintained and clean clean clean! We stayed here on recommendation of friends in July 2006, however we ended up leaving for the Kihei Sands because we really wanted a 2 bedroom unit. The pool, although small, is sheltered from the trade winds and gets plenty of sun. Chatted with owners and everyone was very friendly - lots of Canadians (although more at the Sands). The price cannot be beat though, and Safeway is just up the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, KS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Lived our stay and will stay again! Perfect! Quiet, cozy, well equipped! Safe, well maintained! Zero issues and close to everything! Friendly neighbors. What more could you want? Gas grills are located right on the beach. Why eat out when you can eat on the ocean?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adsweedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Wonderful, friendly place, right on Sugar Beach. This unit is clean, comfortable, well furnished and feels like home away from home, only better because the pool is right outside the door and the ocean is only feet away. It's a short drive into Kihei for shopping, or you can walk down the beach to the farmers' market, right next to an ABC store for all kinds of sundries. Most of the time we cooked at "home" but it's only 30 minutes by car to Lahaina for a lovely beachtown experience (and good restaurants), and only about a 15-minute drive to the Shops at Wailea, an elegant shopping center across from a golf course. We will keep coming back to Kihei Kai and unit #7 as often as we can. Not to be missed -- the evening ritual of gathering with like-minded guests on the lawn adjoining the beach to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed in unit 21 of this complex. Calling it a partial ocean view is quite an exaggeration. If you stand on one corner of the lanai and peer around the corner of the building in front of you, you can see a bit of ocean through the trees. This unit is quite dated looking, and lacks the amenities such as a dishwasher and in-unit washer and drier that we have come to expect in condo rentals. The window air conditioners in the living area and bedroom struggle a bit to keep out the heat. Having said all that, we did enjoy our stay in this condo very much. The lanai is the real highlight of the unit, with a table and chairs and a comfortable reading nook. It is surrounded by trees and feels quite private, even though it is overlooked by neighbouring condos. Birds and butterflies visit the flowering trees that surround the lanai. The unit is a few steps from the beach. The beach is the real highlight of this complex. The water is usually calm, so you can swim or snorkel at the reef in front of a neighbouring condo development. The beach is never crowded and the temperature of the water was perfect. Kihei Kai's location is good; in a quiet area but close enough to easily drive to restaurants, stores and activities. The staff in this complex are friendly and very helpful. It was a very relaxing week.

Room Tip: We found unit 21 to be a bit dated, but generally very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at Kihei Kai over the Xmas holidays in 2012. There was a group of us and we were spread out over 5 condo units on the ground floor. The size of the whole complex is great, doesn't feel so overcrowded and busy. The only thing was that the road to the store was very narrow with no street light at night, and the road was very busy. Nothing to do with the condo unit, I noticed it was that way all the way to town..... The bar b que area was great, our 5 year old really enjoyed the pool, and the beach front was just right for him to swim in. Everyone seemed to be very familiar with staying there and were very nice. We had Xmas potluck supper together with the other residents in the condo units which was really nice. This place was affordable for us, and away from the hustle and bustle of crowds. Five minutes down the beach from the Kihei Canoe club where we paddled every day. Our units were nice, and having a kitchen unit to have breakfast, and put munchies in was great. Yep, we would recommend this place to people who want a quiet, affordable, and clean place close to main hiways to Lahaina and airport and Kihei. Certainly not the fanciest looking place, but clean and tidy, and office people are very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahineCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
598 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos

Property: Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Address: 61 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Kai Condominiums are on Sugar Beach. Enjoy comfortable and completely furnished one bedroom condos that can accommodate up to four people. Oceanfront, Ocean View, Partial Ocean View and Garden views Condos. The resort is a nonsmoking facility with designated smoking areas. All condos have fully equipped electric kitchens (complete with microwave and full size appliances), air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, highspeed cable internet and phone. On site laundry facilities and parking are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing