We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apprehensive, but we enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Beach Vacation Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Maui Beach Vacation Club
Ranked #42 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Apprehensive, but we enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this place via a timeshare exchange and were very apprehensive after reading several of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. We ended up in a two-bedroom unit, D-201, which faces the pool and gardens, no ocean view. The unit was clean, with a big kitchen, dining area, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. I agree that some of the louvre widow levers are old and the metal work around the property is aging, but we did not have any problems and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You are in the tropics, but if you keep your screens closed, you can keep the flying bugs out. There are plenty of Maui lizards on the property, more like geckos or chameleons, but again, keep your screens closed and they stay out. We had a daily visit on our balcony of a large Praying Mantis, but he was cool and just liked to hang out. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and cooked several meals on the outdoor gas grills. The beach is right across the street, but it is rocky and not great for swimming, but there are several sandy beaches within a couple of miles of the property. The staff and housekeepers were all very friendly, especially Donna, Dawn and Nestor. There is a six floor building on the property and many of those units have ocean views. We would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for exchanging into Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy you found our accommodations clean and well equipped. We are glad our location was convenient and our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    59
    31
    7
    12
See reviews for
54
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is probably the worse place in Kihei to stay.. I can't believe they try to call it a five star as it gets only a one from me (and that's being generous)! You must have a car as a decent beach is a long way away, and there isn't anywhere to eat here either. The place is old and out dated, there isn't air conditioning and believe me the "breeze off the water" does nothing. It is impossible to get a decent night sleep. Leave the window open and the sound of traffic and people is so loud you can't sleep. It's old, it's ugly, it's run-down. Nothing has been updated, not the beds, not the linen's, not the bathrooms (are disgusting), the carpets have never been replaced. I could go on, and on, and on.. I couldn't lower my standards enough to find this place acceptable. I would be so upset if I purchase this place to stay at (even the increadibly low price I paid was far too much), and how can they not be ashamed of themselves for advertising this place as a "vacation club".. I would think the only ones calling it great are those attempting to sell their share.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackandJill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We regret we did not meet your expectations. In light of how hard we work to provide a quality experience to our vacation club owners and visitors, the absence in your review of even a single redeeming quality to recommend is truly disappointing. We appreciate your feedback and honest appraisal, and would add that we are scheduled to undergo a comprehensive room renovation. All our guest units will receive new dressers, nightstands, coffee tables, end tables, lamps, artwork and bedding. We are just waiting on the shipment. Tubs and showers in all units have already been updated. Although the majority of homes and resorts here do not have central air owing to the year-round temperate climate, we are sorry your sleep was affected by the lack of air conditioning and related noise issues. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We hope you will accept our apology for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kihei hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sooke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place initially is fine, however if you ever run into a problem, they will neglect dealing with it on a professional level and will not reimburse you your money or even address the situation in a professional manner. I would not support this Soliel Management Group at all. The problem was we were evicted without proper reason on the day before Christmas - two families of 4 displaced in Maui. No conversation was initiated in a professional manner, explaining the reasoning or even given the opportunity to find out the problem. This was after we paid for our place for two weeks and were not refunded our money even after the fact that they rebooked our units a day later. Very unprofessional management. BE Aware.

Be aware.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyGay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We regret the series of incidents that led to your displacement and wish there could have been an amenable solution. Your review omits the reasons you were evicted and suggests we arbitrarily ask people to leave without good reason. In your particular case, the reasons were well documented and are as follows: a) drinking alcoholic beverages in non-permitted glass containers at the pool after hours, b) repeatedly refusing our security officer’s order to vacate the closed pool area, and c) subsequently shoving our security officer, which resulted in a call to police and the arrest of one of your party. As an exchange guest, you were not utilizing the resort’s room inventory and are therefore not entitled to a refund from Soleil Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erie
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed a lot of places in Hawaii, and have exchanged our timeshare weeks for facilities all over the country. This property, is without a doubt, the worst one we have EVER seen. We had invited some friends to join us on this trip, and were so glad they had to cancel at the last minute, because I just cannot imagine how disappointed they would have been, and how embarrassed we would have been to have asked them to this place. We about had a heart attack when we checked in. This place is OLD, run-down, and in no way has anything that reminds one of a 'vacation club'. The kitchen cabinets are coming apart, and must be from the '70's. The bathrooms are incredibly small and have old style sliding doors that are off the tracks and wobbly. the fixtures are old and loose. There is some kind of yucky goo on one of the tubs; you would NEVER want to bathe in there! The window coverings are the tacky vertical blinds and cannot be opened, as the tracks are rusted and old. The carpet is a sick brown color and not very clean. The tile is mismatched and badly installed. The washing machine sounds like it is going to fall through the floor when it runs. The beds are saggy and uncomfortable. The linens are awful quality. The bath towels are so small they don't wrap around you completely and are thin and scratchy. Lamps, and other fixtures, as well as the furniture, are worn, stained, and just in generally bad condition. The pool is small and cold, and closes at 8pm, as does the hot tub, which is probably because the courtyard is so small that every single noise can be heard because THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING!! Seriously??? In Maui?? So you have to leave the windows open all the time, which might not be terrible, except that the property is right on top of a late night sushi restaurant, which has a generator that runs all the time, and also employees coming and going emptying trash at all hours. We also had the pleasure of listening to a heated argument between employees that went on for about an hour. Cars come and go all night, and you can hear every single thing. Even locals who have asked us where we are staying cringe when we say the name of this place. I cannot begin to understand the positive reviews on here, unless we got the one and only bad unit. Incredibly disappointing. This place should NOT be on the exchange program. I understand that you don't get as much in Maui as other places, but this is worse than any budget motel we have ever stayed in. Oh yes, there is no elevator, and you have to lug your suitcases up a narrow, dingy flight of steps. Stay away from here!!!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine that there could be a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyndees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your visit. We regret we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the condition of your room. All our guest units are scheduled to receive new dressers, nightstands, coffee tables, end tables, lamps, artwork and bedding. We are just waiting on the shipment. Tubs and showers were recently updated in all units. We are sorry the ones in your room did not reflect the improvement. The bathroom is scheduled to receive new tiling shortly. We also apologize for the condition of the carpet, which falls well below our housekeeping standards. Regarding the noise issue, your particular unit next to the restaurant is subject to all the activity going on there. We are sorry for the disturbance and would have gladly attempted to relocate you to a more favorable location. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and apologize once again for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed a couple of nights to break up a long flight from Australia. For those for whom the sea is everything, location is fine, with the beach just across the street. Staff were helpful and room well equipped. However, there's just one restaurant, and no shops, nearby. It being the Christmas break, we were unable to hire a rental car, even though we tried several weeks in advance, and so had a long walk into Kihei to get some food.
We had noisy neighbours, who seemed to think that everyone in the complex would want to hear their music system late in the evening and early in the morning. That's not the fault of the hotel staff, but noise is always a potential issue in this sort of place, in which a number of units with balconies are arranged around a central pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy our staff was helpful, and that your room was well equipped. We apologize for the noise-related issue you experienced. We are happy to address any issue we are made aware of during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Reading reviews before we booked this place was the reason why we gave this place a try. If you want to sleep on your vacation.....this is NOT the place! We checked in and got the unit right above the office. It was called the "Maui Suite". You walked up a flight of stairs....tough if you have a lot of suitcases. The unit had louver windows and ceiling fans. WITH NO AC!!!!! We were there when a front came in and air was not moving so, it was extremely hot and the ceiling fans were old and did not work to cool, just mixed the air up a bit! We had the windows open but you heard the busy road traffic and being on top of the office you heard every conversation. If there was a breeze, you had to open the vertical blinds because they rattled to much...... which means light in the morning and no privacy!! I noticed the unit next door was the resident managers home and THEY HAD AIR CONDITIONING!!!! We were so uncomfortable we went to a store and bought a large portable fan so we could drown out the noise and try to be cooler. Would I stay there again???? NO WAY!
If you want to go to the beach you had to pack up all your things and drive there. Which is not a big deal but, sometimes you want convenience. Foodland and Safeway was fairly close by so, we saved a lot by buying all of our food for breakfast and lunch and eating out at dinner. Groceries are reasonably priced.
The pool and hot tub at this place was ok. But, there was no bar or snack bar so, if you wanted to have an umbrella drink at the pool and a quick cheeseburger you are out of luck! We did not use the pool.
We came on Saturday and housekeeping only came to give you new towels on Tuesday! So, you had to do all of your housekeeping.....not good when you are on vacation! There was a washer and dryer so, I had to wash sheets and make up the beds. :(
Had a couple of roach/bug sitings plus a couple of lizards in the bathroom and kitchen guess they were on vacation too.
The unit had updated appliances. The furniture and bed was comfortable but the unit had a dated feeling.
We stayed a week too long. the second half of our vacation was at the Marriott timeshare outside of Lahaina. Wow! What a place! Next time we will wait on that list to stay there for the duration! No comparison except the location at the Kihei was centrally located to go on all of your excursions.

Room Tip: Get a unit that is farthest from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy you enjoyed our location and the pool area, but regret to learn where your experience fell short. We are committed to ensuring a pleasant and carefree vacation experience for all guests through quality accommodations and service. We would like to further discuss your particular concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomfield, ia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It was very accommodating and friendly. No air would be a problem if you were very used to it and you didn't do outside activities. I would definitely stay there again if I went back to Maui

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are glad your experience was accommodating and friendly. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maui Banyan Condos
Maui Banyan Condos
#21 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.1 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Vacation Club

Property: Maui Beach Vacation Club
Address: 515 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7585
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Vacation Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maui Beach Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Vacation Club Hotel Kihei
Maui Beach Vacation Club Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing