We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Beach Vacation Club
Ranked #33 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well we just got back from our week vacation at the Maui Beach Vacation Club.
Although the living room set is dated and a little uncomfortable, and the fact that there is no TV in the bedroom was a little bit of a drag. The pool is nice, and there are plenty of BBQ grills. The staff was very friendly. There is a beach right across the street, although not the best swimming beach. The best beach Kamaole 1 2 and 3 are about 3 miles down the road.
Would rather stay near the Kamaole Beach area but the price we paid for it was worth this visit

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy you enjoyed our pool and barbeque areas. We appreciate your compliments about our staff, along with the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from our vacation at the Maui Beach Vacation Club and I cannot say enough about how great everything was. Our unit had a perfect view of the ocean - as far as not having A/C the breeze from the water kept the unit cool - the only noise we had was the swaying of the palm trees and the crashing of the waves to lull us to sleep at night. We had a one bedroom unit for the three of us and there was plenty of room with the sofa bed. The staff was terrific and seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. This vacation we were not able to spend a lot of time at the timeshare as we were on many excursion exploring the island and neighboring islands BUT next time we plan to just relax around the pool, hot tub, walk the beaches and BBQ at the pool. Thank you again to everyone at the Maui Beach Vacation Club who made our first, but not last trip, to Maui very special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dhaase1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for sharing this feedback regarding your recent stay at Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are thrilled you cannot say enough about how great your experience was. We are delighted your unit had the perfect ocean view, and that the breeze kept you cool. We are glad you found our accommodations spacious and our staff terrific. We look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was a little unsure of what this timeshare would hold based off the reviews. Let me begin with the positives: Quiet, warm pool... Plenty of gas grills to cook on.... easy to find parking. The negatives: NO A/C which in turn means the windows need to be open 24/7... which also makes it impossible to sleep a full night due to all the noise from the Japanese restaurant, cars driving by etc... twin beds in the second bedroom... old and uncomfortable furniture... no TV in the bedrooms.
Overall, it was fine for us to stay in for a week due solely to the fact that we were off doing our own things. We didn't ever stay in the condo for the day. We lucked out with the weather, though. I can't imagine being stuck there for a whole rainy day!! Also, it is very far from any type of restaurant or decent beach. I would rather stay in Wailea which is what I will do next time. It's much more central to all of the great things Maui has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for staying at Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy you enjoyed our pool area and grilling facility. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional accommodations and are sorry that was not your particular experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked this place via a timeshare exchange and were very apprehensive after reading several of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. We ended up in a two-bedroom unit, D-201, which faces the pool and gardens, no ocean view. The unit was clean, with a big kitchen, dining area, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. I agree that some of the louvre widow levers are old and the metal work around the property is aging, but we did not have any problems and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You are in the tropics, but if you keep your screens closed, you can keep the flying bugs out. There are plenty of Maui lizards on the property, more like geckos or chameleons, but again, keep your screens closed and they stay out. We had a daily visit on our balcony of a large Praying Mantis, but he was cool and just liked to hang out. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and cooked several meals on the outdoor gas grills. The beach is right across the street, but it is rocky and not great for swimming, but there are several sandy beaches within a couple of miles of the property. The staff and housekeepers were all very friendly, especially Donna, Dawn and Nestor. There is a six floor building on the property and many of those units have ocean views. We would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for exchanging into Maui Beach Vacation Club. We are happy you found our accommodations clean and well equipped. We are glad our location was convenient and our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is probably the worse place in Kihei to stay.. I can't believe they try to call it a five star as it gets only a one from me (and that's being generous)! You must have a car as a decent beach is a long way away, and there isn't anywhere to eat here either. The place is old and out dated, there isn't air conditioning and believe me the "breeze off the water" does nothing. It is impossible to get a decent night sleep. Leave the window open and the sound of traffic and people is so loud you can't sleep. It's old, it's ugly, it's run-down. Nothing has been updated, not the beds, not the linen's, not the bathrooms (are disgusting), the carpets have never been replaced. I could go on, and on, and on.. I couldn't lower my standards enough to find this place acceptable. I would be so upset if I purchase this place to stay at (even the increadibly low price I paid was far too much), and how can they not be ashamed of themselves for advertising this place as a "vacation club".. I would think the only ones calling it great are those attempting to sell their share.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackandJill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We regret we did not meet your expectations. In light of how hard we work to provide a quality experience to our vacation club owners and visitors, the absence in your review of even a single redeeming quality to recommend is truly disappointing. We appreciate your feedback and honest appraisal, and would add that we are scheduled to undergo a comprehensive room renovation. All our guest units will receive new dressers, nightstands, coffee tables, end tables, lamps, artwork and bedding. We are just waiting on the shipment. Tubs and showers in all units have already been updated. Although the majority of homes and resorts here do not have central air owing to the year-round temperate climate, we are sorry your sleep was affected by the lack of air conditioning and related noise issues. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We hope you will accept our apology for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place initially is fine, however if you ever run into a problem, they will neglect dealing with it on a professional level and will not reimburse you your money or even address the situation in a professional manner. I would not support this Soliel Management Group at all. The problem was we were evicted without proper reason on the day before Christmas - two families of 4 displaced in Maui. No conversation was initiated in a professional manner, explaining the reasoning or even given the opportunity to find out the problem. This was after we paid for our place for two weeks and were not refunded our money even after the fact that they rebooked our units a day later. Very unprofessional management. BE Aware.

Be aware.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyGay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We regret the series of incidents that led to your displacement and wish there could have been an amenable solution. Your review omits the reasons you were evicted and suggests we arbitrarily ask people to leave without good reason. In your particular case, the reasons were well documented and are as follows: a) drinking alcoholic beverages in non-permitted glass containers at the pool after hours, b) repeatedly refusing our security officer’s order to vacate the closed pool area, and c) subsequently shoving our security officer, which resulted in a call to police and the arrest of one of your party. As an exchange guest, you were not utilizing the resort’s room inventory and are therefore not entitled to a refund from Soleil Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed a lot of places in Hawaii, and have exchanged our timeshare weeks for facilities all over the country. This property, is without a doubt, the worst one we have EVER seen. We had invited some friends to join us on this trip, and were so glad they had to cancel at the last minute, because I just cannot imagine how disappointed they would have been, and how embarrassed we would have been to have asked them to this place. We about had a heart attack when we checked in. This place is OLD, run-down, and in no way has anything that reminds one of a 'vacation club'. The kitchen cabinets are coming apart, and must be from the '70's. The bathrooms are incredibly small and have old style sliding doors that are off the tracks and wobbly. the fixtures are old and loose. There is some kind of yucky goo on one of the tubs; you would NEVER want to bathe in there! The window coverings are the tacky vertical blinds and cannot be opened, as the tracks are rusted and old. The carpet is a sick brown color and not very clean. The tile is mismatched and badly installed. The washing machine sounds like it is going to fall through the floor when it runs. The beds are saggy and uncomfortable. The linens are awful quality. The bath towels are so small they don't wrap around you completely and are thin and scratchy. Lamps, and other fixtures, as well as the furniture, are worn, stained, and just in generally bad condition. The pool is small and cold, and closes at 8pm, as does the hot tub, which is probably because the courtyard is so small that every single noise can be heard because THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING!! Seriously??? In Maui?? So you have to leave the windows open all the time, which might not be terrible, except that the property is right on top of a late night sushi restaurant, which has a generator that runs all the time, and also employees coming and going emptying trash at all hours. We also had the pleasure of listening to a heated argument between employees that went on for about an hour. Cars come and go all night, and you can hear every single thing. Even locals who have asked us where we are staying cringe when we say the name of this place. I cannot begin to understand the positive reviews on here, unless we got the one and only bad unit. Incredibly disappointing. This place should NOT be on the exchange program. I understand that you don't get as much in Maui as other places, but this is worse than any budget motel we have ever stayed in. Oh yes, there is no elevator, and you have to lug your suitcases up a narrow, dingy flight of steps. Stay away from here!!!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine that there could be a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyndees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your visit. We regret we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the condition of your room. All our guest units are scheduled to receive new dressers, nightstands, coffee tables, end tables, lamps, artwork and bedding. We are just waiting on the shipment. Tubs and showers were recently updated in all units. We are sorry the ones in your room did not reflect the improvement. The bathroom is scheduled to receive new tiling shortly. We also apologize for the condition of the carpet, which falls well below our housekeeping standards. Regarding the noise issue, your particular unit next to the restaurant is subject to all the activity going on there. We are sorry for the disturbance and would have gladly attempted to relocate you to a more favorable location. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and apologize once again for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.9 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
4.1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
967 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.1 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#18 of 60 in Kihei
173 reviews
19.9 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#14 of 43 in Lahaina
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Vacation Club

Address: 515 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7585
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £189 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Vacation Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maui Beach Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Vacation Club Hotel Kihei
Maui Beach Vacation Club Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing