We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful price, place and location!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful price, place and location!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Staying at HKOK right now and lovin it!! We're staying in Unit 307, yes some of the stuff in here is outdated, but extremely clean and well taken care of. For the price and location you can't beat it. Read a lot of other reviews and all I have to say is, are you staying in your unit 24-7? Because when I'm on vacation I sleep in my unit and thats it! I could be spending thousands of more dollars for my overpriced hotel room and food. The units do have airconditioners but who needs them when you have the island tradewinds blowing through your unit. This is all part of the Aloha experience. Enjoy.

Room Tip: AA Oceanfront Rentals, something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lfinsterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We've stayed at this property before, different unit. Excellent property, location etc. This unit is not in the best condition - very (out)dated fixtures, hasn't been updated ever that we could tell. Not well stocked with linens either. If there were a price adjustment, it's acceptable. But knowing that the other 1 bedrooms are the same price and are in much better condition makes this less attractive. We like the bottom floor (tsunami and all!), there is quite a bit of foot traffic, this unit in particular with the BBQ being moved to the end of the building.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed there for 8 days early March, 2011. Second time staying there. Originally reserved Unit #201 but moved shortly before arrival to #108 due to "claimed" noise from new building next door. Would not stay on ground floor again. We looked out onto a line-up of pool reclining chairs that were often full of people so instead of see the ocean, as claimed, we saw the back of peoples heads. Also, too many folks walking by right in front of our unit. Talked to couple staying in #201 and they said they heard no noise same as others staying in complex. Very convenient (walkable) to grocery store and assorted shops. Bed was against parking lot wall and residential street but we heard no noise at night. We will return there again if we can stay on 2nd or preferably the 3rd floor. No elevator but good exercise if using the stairs. Coin operated laundry. Resident manager/caretaker. Lots of long term renters coming back for years. Unit #108 could use some minor remodeling.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlohaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed in #211 and had no problems with the unit, except the sheets were too well-worn. However, I gave feedback about this and perhaps the owners will do the right thing. I wanted ocean front and that's what we got. Really close, great sunsets. The clientele of this small building is mostly retirees, so it is quiet and we liked that. The beach is a walk over a lawn and is walkable for quite a ways. The location for travel to all other parts of the island is great! A grocery store is within walking distance. The one bad thing is that the water is not a good swimming experience - it is a cloudy brownish color at all times. Forget snorkelling. Oh well, go to all the great beaches on Maui and come back in the evening to enjoy your Pina colada and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We had unit 216 and enjoyed the condo very much. It was really comfortable and well stocked. The view from the lanai is wonderful and we enjoyed listening to the the sound of the ocean every night. The location was convenient, with a ton of restaurants and shops in walking distance. The beach was fine for a nice walk and a quick swim but all the amazing beaches are south. If you stay here, you really have to have a car to be able to get to these beaches. That said, it was nice to play all day among the crowds and then go back to our nice quiet condo for some down time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starfishsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This somewhat dated property quickly overcomes its shortcomings with its spectacular views and closeness to the water. We stayed in unit 106, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath. This property is the best value I have found in Hawaii after many, many trips. Likely to stay again...hopefully, real soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers65804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

If you are looking for a "home base" that is central to everywhere in Maui, then this is the place to stay. It is less than half-hour from the airport or Lahania. The biggest beach on Maui is 10 minutes south in Makena (with free parking). Groceries, drug stores and restaurants are all within walking distance or 5 min drive. Golf is also less than 5 minutes away.

Our unit was on the third floor and was clean and comfortable. In the mornings, we sat on our lanai and watched the whales, while sipping on our coffee. Did I mention the directly straight in front of you oceanfront view. And since you are facing west, you can enjoy the sunset from your lanai as well. If you look to the south-west you can even see Molikini. This location is a block away from the busy South Kihei road, so traffic is similar to a residental neighbourhood. There is free wireless internet, so you stay in touch with your family. And you can pack less because there are on-site (coin) laundry facilities. Don't forget to bring your binoculars!

If you want a spa, onsite restaurants, valet parking, concierge service, go to a mega-resort. But if you want the real Hawaii, you can start by staying here. Go ahead and check, you will pay 3-4 times a night for a oceanfront view at those mega-resorts.

Shhhh! Don't tell everyone you know about this place or when you want to come back, you will find your unit is booked up. Also, the folks at AA Oceanfront are great to deal with. They even let me print my boarding pass at their office.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drechl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#24 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#23 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luana Kai Resort
Luana Kai Resort
#22 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing