We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're only yards from the beach.”
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You're only yards from the beach.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We're staying here now in Hale Kai O Kihei, unit 209, arrived 5 days ago. We weren't quite sure what to expect as not many reviews & especially as each unit is individually owned. It is an older building, & is certainly not like the fancy resorts. Don't worry, the location, the views, the sunsets, & the price, more than make up for the lack of any fancy amenities. Our unit is a bit dated & gently worn but it's clean & comfortable.  We had a couple of concerns that were promptly taken care of by the owners.  It looks like there is  some new furniture, a couple of recliners & a dresser for the bedroom. The bed is comfortable, especially for my husband who has a bad back. The kitchen has all the equipment/supplies that you might need for cooking those meals when you want to stay in, there's even a BBQ for grilling.  We found a small cooler to take our picnic lunches in plus a couple of beach chairs & beach mats, so no need to buy those items.  There are ceiling fans in the livingroom & bedroom plus an aiconditioning unit in the front which so far we haven't turned on. The natural breeze with the sound of the ocean waves is more than adequate. Has good free wifi.  There is a small pool, as well, lots of lawn chaises for sunbathing on the lawn.  Location is great, walking distance to a grocery store (with decent prices). & a great starting point for most driving tours of the island. I have to repeat that you don't get any better place for views of a Maui sunset! We'll be back, & in the meantime intend to enjoy the rest of our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    35
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit #101 for a week this March. Wish we could of stayed longer! We were very impressed. It was equipped with everything we needed- fully stocked kitchen, towels, beach equipment, cooler etc. The location was very quiet and off the main road so hardly no traffic! The views from the lanai were amazing! Beach wasn't super great but good beaches a short drive away! The only complaint we would have was, the bed was very uncomfortable! I was looking forward to sleeping well (as I was away from our 2 young kids) and wasn't able to as the mattress was old and worn out! Could use a new one! We definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet, reasonable place. We are already saving up to come visit again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDThrelfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Hale Kai O Kihei and condo 101, which we manage. We are glad you enjoyed the oceanfront location and sunset views. I am glad the condo had everything you needed, and will be sure to pass on your comments about the mattress to the owners. We hope to see you again when you return!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I had a great time there in March 2012, and for a second time June 2012. I loved the beach and warm shallow water in the ocean. Walking distance to a store. In the condos we had everything we needed to cook or relax on the beach. Priceless ocean view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for your review of Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos we manage there, but maybe we will see you for a return visit in 2013! We agree that the ocean/sunset views are priceless.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Great location, off the main road (S. Kihei) so it's quiet and all units are oceanfront! Depends on the unit, but it looks like most are fairly basic, so don't expect a luxury resort (but how much time are you really gonna spend in the unit?).
Our unit was a 2 bedroom, was stocked with clean towels, portable beach chairs and umbrella. There is also lounge chairs in the back by the pool where you can further enjoy your oceanfront experience. I was debating maybe giving it a 3 stars because the apparent "wifi access" was a bit of an overstatement...pretty sure the router is located on the main floor by the laundry, so getting access from the 3rd floor unit was next to impossible (weak reception if sitting on the balcony, basically go sit by the pool if you need internet).

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd) is your best bet unless you don't like climbing stairs (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent the first week of Nov here in unit 207. Great condo with everything we needed---beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel gear and a full kitchen. The unit was updated and very, very nice. We had a great ocean view with and our balcony was the best place for a magnificent Maui sunset---we were treated to 7 of them! Great location with most major sights--Haleakala and the road to Hana---about 30-45 mins away. Great local beaches at the hotel, as well as a quick drive down the road. Grocery stores , shopping and restaurants were all very close by. The only drawback at all, and it's minor, is that all the other residents sit directly in front of the unit all afternoon and to watch sunset, so it's not always as private as I would have liked. Mahalo

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Hale Kai O Kihei. We manage condo # 207, along with about 15 other units at the property. We are glad you enjoyed the condo and will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed in #307 in August 2012 for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I was determined to stay right on the beach, rather than across the road from the busy beaches further south in Kihei. It was a perfect location, literally 2 minute walk to a good grocery store, and central location for traveling around the island. Our unit was clean and had everything we needed, including deck chairs and beach mats in the closet. Kihei itself (further south) was not our 'cup of tea', mostly bars and restaurants and beaches perhaps more suited to young families and teens. So we were pleased with the location. As for the remarks about the beach in front of the condo not being great, we thought it was beautiful and perfect for swimming, long stretches of beautiful sand, with no one on them, very quiet. (We live on the west coast so compared to our beaches covered in driftwood and seaweed, it was heaven to us.)
We had no interaction with the building manager, so cannot comment. The wifi worked best in the living room and on the lanai, but that was fine with us. I would recommend this unit. We are already saving up to return. Mahalo to Hale Kai O'Kehei.

Room Tip: I would definitely avoid the main floor. Everyone walks past to the beach or sits on the lawn in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pentys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Mahalo for your great review of Hale Kai O Kihei. Although we do not manage the exact condo you stayed in, we are glad you enjoyed the property, the fun beach in front, and the nearby stores such as Times Market. We are glad to hear you are already planning your return trip!

Happy travels,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stay here several times a year. We have mentioned several times to the Rental company that the propery manager is rude, non-ALOHA spirit, and frankly, we have rarely seen him "manage" anything except for making guests feel not welcome.

This trip is no different. We are staying in unit 101, and the entire property is advertised as having "free wi-fi". Well, there is, if you want to take your computer or mobile device out on the lanai or out into the lawn. Within the unit there is NO wi-fi signal at all. We called the condo rental company (CRH Maui) and we were told it is a property management issue, they gave us the managers number. We reported the issue to the manager who stated that it was "not my problem" and that "im NOT climbing up a tree to fix it..." He went on to state that there are antennas at both ends of the property that "point into the middle" of the property!! Geeee, do you think that may be a problem for the units on the ends??? When I told him that I work in IT, he said "I don't need Bill Gates..."

Don't get me wrong, we love this property and have been here many times, just not sure if we will continue to come here if the same manager is in place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your repeat visits to Hale Kai O’Kihei. I am glad you enjoy the property! We are not aware of any other complaints about the onsite building manager, but will pass on your comments to the association president, who he works for.

We will also work with the association to see if they can improve the quality of the WiFi signal by adding more wireless routers.

Mahalo for bringing this to our attention.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#25 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
2.2 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing