We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach for Kids!”
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Snohomish, Wa.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beach for Kids!”
Reviewed 30 April 2006

Loved HKOK,was beyond our expectations. Convenient location and quiet beach. Enjoyed the sparkling waters and Marvelous Sunsets. Can't think of a nicer place in Kihei! Lots of beachcombing and fun in the surf! Will return again...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hwlygrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    35
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

We go to Maui once or twice a year and always stay at HKOK. We've been in many different units and agree with the previous poster----no two units are alike in decor or features. This time we stayed in Unit #313, rented through the HKOK Homeowners Rental Agency. We've had some units in which we never lacked for anything and then others (like this one) which was no more than sparsely stocked and in need of some updating. This didnt matter to us because the beauty of HKOK is that you are less than 50 yards (an estimate) from the ocean. Each lanai has a full oceanview, not a garden view, not a mountain view, not a street view....each lanai has a full ocean view. Did I also mention that you can see the ocean from almost every spot in the condo, except the bathroom? For everything it lacks, it has one huge plus---you are on the beach in Maui. Sure the beach isnt the greatest but it is just fine for walking or running. We like that HKOK is small, only 59 units and within walking distance of grocery stores, post office, restaurants, a Catholic Church and other shopping. We also like that it is maybe less than 10 miles from the airport. As for the air conditioning not making it to the bedroom...we have never been in a unit which did not have a fan or 2 for your use. Besides, it's generally cooler at night and a fan (plus the ceiling fan) did a terrific job at keeping things comfortable. HKOK may not be the fanciest or the ritziest, but it makes us feel right at home.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank moongem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

I've stayed at the Hale Kai O'Kihei three times in April '05, '04, and '03. It is economical but basic. The furnishishing to the units have varied from beautiful to college dorm. The air conditioner would be of little help in the bed room if it got really hot. One unit came with very well equipped kitchen; another did not have enough pots to make spagetti. The beach in front of the condo is too rocky for swimming, and the pool is too small for exercise.

However, the units were clean and bug free. I liked that it was a short walk to a market (after having a large glass of wine) for the critical dinner item that had been forgotten. The sunset views were spectacular. The permanent residents were friendly even though they knew we were tourists. I could find parking each night for the large van I was using to haul windsurfing gear. There was a hose down at ground level for washing off wet suits. The gas bar-b-ques made for fine steaks.

I'd go back again, but I ask lots of questions about specific units.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank WindsurferLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2004

Just got back from another stay at the Hale Kai o"kihei. Like I reported previously, the complex is not fancy but fits our needs. This time we were in a unit that was a little bit more updated then the previous unit we stayed in. Adequate air-conditioning seems to be a systemic in all of the units here. Just one airconditioner on the patio and not powerful enough to cool all the way to the back rooms. We stayed in a ground floor unit which had its advantages and dis-advantages. No schleping up the stairs with grocery bags and luggage. But there was very little privacy on the ground floor units. Several families were there and they and the kids were constantly walking back and forth in front of our unit.

Other then that, the place offers a good value. Can't beat the views. I would not pay more than $80-$90 a night in low season for the place however.

Helpful?
6 Thank wtravweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2004

This property has a great location right on the beach in Kihei, which we like. Close to Makenna beach and several nice golf courses. Each unit has a spectacular view. However, that is where the kudos end. The room we stayed in was quite dated and needed some work. The a/c was not powerful enough to cool the unit effectively. The bedroms are in the back, furthest from the a/c unit and it was very difficult to sleep at night. Although the bedroom did have a ceiling fan, it was noisy and it seemed it was ready to fall on top of us in our sleep.

Would I stay ther again- yes. but only because fancy accomodations are not important to us. We spend most of our time away from our room anyway and use it only for sleeping and having a drink on the deck watching the sun set. But I would not pay anymore then $80-$90 per night in low season for the place

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2004

My mom and I have been going over and staying at Hale' Kai O' Kihei for the pass 12 years. Love It! The Sunsets are to die for! I love the friendly seasonal people that come back every year. Truly, my Island home, every year. Mahalo

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2004

LOVED this place. Very comfortable, but I am an island girl! It was as if I was living on the island, which I would do in a heartbeat. Some units are more modern than others, our daughter was in one that was "original", I preferred that one to the one they traded for! Our unit had some "issues" but so does our home, so was very comfortable. Can not beat the view and the beach is fanatastic for our daily morning walks down the beach and up to Starbucks and back. Right behind Star Market and close to anything else you could need while you are there.
The management was very friendly and we felt right at home. Will go back again summer 2004.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#27 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
2.2 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing