We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value on Maui”
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #34 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great value on Maui”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We booked this condo through ebay for a 7 night stay. The front of the building isn't much to look at, but the back opens to the beach. It's a great central location in Kihei. We stayed in unit 119, a one bedroom on the ground floor on the opposite end from the pool. It was newly redecorated and fully stocked with amenities.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    35
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

Came to Maui for a soccer invitational event.
Stayed in 2 different condos.
Both have oceanfront views.
First condo at 3rd floor...was in bad shape...air conditioner limited to living room (bedroom was hot). Ceiling fan in bedroom was insufficient and making too much noise.
After many complaints about first condo, I moved to a downstairs..recently remodeled. This one was beautifully
decorated. The only problem was the ocean front view was
not as spectacular as the 1st condo.
Location was great....close to a church, grocery, beach, and shopping. No elevator, so if heavy luggage...get assistance.
Coin operated washer and dryer useful for those sweaty uniforms. Beach on property is rocky and full of seaweeds.
Go south for better swimming and surfing.
Wouldn't pay over $100 a day for this place.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
3 Thank alex_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

If you are looking for a place less traveled, laid-back and quiet with great ocean views- at a great value- this is it. Spectacular views, great whale watching, good swimming beach, We were in a bottom two-bedroom unit, #106. The pool was out front the door, but since it is seldom used noise was not a problem. The unit was very clean, well stocked kitchen dishes and pans, and had nice linens. The furniture was outdated but comfortable, except for the beds. Both bedrooms in this unit back up to the parking lot, but isn't much of a problem because of the quiet neighborhood. This is not a five-star hotel, but if you want to get away from the rest of the tourist hassle- you can't beat this place.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank CA-Carmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2007

The sound of the surf was splendid. The sunsets superb. The HKOK lived up to its reviews: plain but in a great location! I loved the proximity to the ocean, enjoyed walking the beach, and appreciated the good shopping within walking distance. The kitchen and supplies were really good, the furnishings worn but clean. It is a 15-minute drive to great swimming and/or snorkeling beaches. Overall, I was very happy with the price and value of #318. I would recommend it to those who put being close to the surf ahead of granite counter tops.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank eepeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Wa.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2006

Loved HKOK,was beyond our expectations. Convenient location and quiet beach. Enjoyed the sparkling waters and Marvelous Sunsets. Can't think of a nicer place in Kihei! Lots of beachcombing and fun in the surf! Will return again...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hwlygrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

We go to Maui once or twice a year and always stay at HKOK. We've been in many different units and agree with the previous poster----no two units are alike in decor or features. This time we stayed in Unit #313, rented through the HKOK Homeowners Rental Agency. We've had some units in which we never lacked for anything and then others (like this one) which was no more than sparsely stocked and in need of some updating. This didnt matter to us because the beauty of HKOK is that you are less than 50 yards (an estimate) from the ocean. Each lanai has a full oceanview, not a garden view, not a mountain view, not a street view....each lanai has a full ocean view. Did I also mention that you can see the ocean from almost every spot in the condo, except the bathroom? For everything it lacks, it has one huge plus---you are on the beach in Maui. Sure the beach isnt the greatest but it is just fine for walking or running. We like that HKOK is small, only 59 units and within walking distance of grocery stores, post office, restaurants, a Catholic Church and other shopping. We also like that it is maybe less than 10 miles from the airport. As for the air conditioning not making it to the bedroom...we have never been in a unit which did not have a fan or 2 for your use. Besides, it's generally cooler at night and a fan (plus the ceiling fan) did a terrific job at keeping things comfortable. HKOK may not be the fanciest or the ritziest, but it makes us feel right at home.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank moongem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

I've stayed at the Hale Kai O'Kihei three times in April '05, '04, and '03. It is economical but basic. The furnishishing to the units have varied from beautiful to college dorm. The air conditioner would be of little help in the bed room if it got really hot. One unit came with very well equipped kitchen; another did not have enough pots to make spagetti. The beach in front of the condo is too rocky for swimming, and the pool is too small for exercise.

However, the units were clean and bug free. I liked that it was a short walk to a market (after having a large glass of wine) for the critical dinner item that had been forgotten. The sunset views were spectacular. The permanent residents were friendly even though they knew we were tourists. I could find parking each night for the large van I was using to haul windsurfing gear. There was a hose down at ground level for washing off wet suits. The gas bar-b-ques made for fine steaks.

I'd go back again, but I ask lots of questions about specific units.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank WindsurferLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#28 of 62 in Kihei
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
523 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing